( ICF'ers INVITED ) Attn Mods...Whose post is this ? what rules apply to Mod edits ?

Guest HariSampath

NOW you begin to get it...I completely agree that mofos, arserape etc are all offensive...( although I used only 2 times)...but that apart,almost half of matchthreads have these terms and almost all regular matchthread junkies use such/similar terms. why is it that it is always just MY "offensive words" are pointed out by rajeev or Mods or admins....and especially when they are all in response. This is the 3rd time it is happening and I do use them deliberatley sometimes because ONLY THEN the mods see the original offensive usage. Ticz is perhaps one of the biggest users of such terms on ICF...and his threads have a plethora of BCs and MCs ALL the time...I had NEVER seen Rajeev eidt out anything or post "prominent" comments...but the moment I post anything supposedly "offensive" then comes all the action. It is precisely this I wanted to bring to everyone's attention. Only when I post such things, the process of "editing" begins and THEN only others' comments are also edited...( but of course I am warned , and not others)
Mr. Hari Sampath, there is no conspiracy against you and if you kindly open your eyes, you will see I see have taken care of many such posts ( predator included ) ; I'd like to mention that while others get the point, you in turn open a new thread asking for explanation. I have modded in much hostile environment than this and I play it fair, so if you think there is a plan to just pick your posts then I am afraid you are mistaken

Guest HariSampath
^Ok fine' date=' so can we move forward to Chennai's thrashing tomorrow now?:-D[/quote'] You mean Chennai's thrashing of Punjab 11 for the 3rd time....welcome to the party....and yet again a slugfest is on...especially after CSK wins, because all CSK haterz..and Punjabiz fans will be out in strength , swinging left and right, with able assistance from the DD fans....and CSK fans will be rubbing it in bigtime...and we need all possible mods/admins here tonite :-D

Guest HariSampath
Can't believe that Hari Sampat is on the wrong side of the 40's . Act your age ' date='Macha ![/quote'] If I act 40, I wouldnt be able to hold a conversation with anyone here machchi....I have to "act" 20 and as a juvenile here.....when in Rome.....:-D

NOW you begin to get it...I completely agree that mofos, arserape etc are all offensive...( although I used only 2 times)...but that apart,almost half of matchthreads have these terms and almost all regular matchthread junkies use such/similar terms. why is it that it is always just MY "offensive words" are pointed out by rajeev or Mods or admins
That your posts are singled out is not true at all - offensive language gets edited for everyone. As Ravi pointed out above, we've also edited offensive language posted by mods and admins. Personally speaking even some of my threads and posts have been binned, but it's all for the good of the site. And when that has happened I have not even questioned the other mods who have edited/deleted my posts even in private. Match threads, sometimes become difficult to regulate because of the excessive volume of posts in a short span if there are only 1-2 mods following them, but among other threads offensive language gets edited regularly.
and especially when they are all in response. This is the 3rd time it is happening and I do use them deliberatley sometimes because ONLY THEN the mods see the original offensive usage.
In response? I don't remember 'tics writing a post about Chennai getting ar$efacked and gangraped or calling Chennai motherfackers. I might have missed it and if you bring it up I'll happily edit it out. "tics and a lot of posters in match threads do use OTT words when someone drops a catch, hits a six etc. but as I said match threads are at times difficult to regulate and are also given a bit more leverage due to the emotions riding during a match.
Ticz is perhaps one of the biggest users of such terms on ICF...and his threads have a plethora of BCs and MCs ALL the time...I had NEVER seen Rajeev eidt out anything or post "prominent" comments...but the moment I post anything supposedly "offensive" then comes all the action. It is precisely this I wanted to bring to everyone's attention. Only when I post such things, the process of "editing" begins and THEN only others' comments are also edited...( but of course I am warned , and not others)
Yaar half the time he uses those words to praise someone - things like Sehwag what a ba$tard hitter etc. Having said that we have edited his posts also.

Guest HariSampath
Mr. Hari Sampath, there is no conspiracy against you and if you kindly open your eyes, you will see I see have taken care of many such posts ( predator included ) ; I'd like to mention that while others get the point, you in turn open a new thread asking for explanation. I have modded in much hostile environment than this and I play it fair, so if you think there is a plan to just pick your posts then I am afraid you are mistaken
Oh no, I dont think tghere is any conspiracy against me...but I do think you have tunnel vision when it comes to ignoring certain posts from certain posters, till you are forced to take note...but you are far more ready to "pick" same offences by certain other posters...btw, we have had this discussion before...and I wasnt wrong even then..

I had to act diplomatically the last time, to let it go. I really don't want to explain my tunnel vision as the other end will see what they want to see anyways so no point I' see there is a need to have the last word, so kindly go ahead but let me be really clear that I really don't pick on your posts, infact I'll let Shwetbah handle that from now on

Guest HariSampath

^ shwethabh.....just do a search of those terms and see how often "arserape"..."fack" etc occur, and not just on match threads...I mean in all threads...ICF is definitely a forum where there is plenty of cussing, and profanity...ALL the members are party to this, and if free speech is what ICF wants, profanity is what you get...so I just said have same rules across the board, and apply it equally across the board...or just leave it alone....as Ravi said he wouldnt want his kid to see this forum....this is of course NO place for kids whose parents are sensitive to the language they are exposed to...but then neither is this world a place for ANY kid to be exposed to, and the internet is centric to this.

Guest HariSampath
I had to act diplomatically the last time, to let it go. I really don't want to explain my tunnel vision as the other end will see what they want to see anyways so no point I' see there is a need to have the last word, so kindly go ahead but let me be really clear that I really don't pick on your posts, infact I'll let Shwetbah handle that from now on
I did not say you are conspiring against me...I do not say you "pick" my posts...but I do say that you tend to ignore certain posters more than others, and the same vision is not extended to other posters...you may or may not agree, but this has been a fact that has been seen, it may not be deliberate, I never said so...but has the same effect.

^ "fack" has been given a bit of a free license, but stuff like ar$erape, motherfackers etc. gets edited regularly. You might be able to show me a few occasions where some of these words are still dangling around but let me assure you there are many more occasions when they have been edited including posts of admins and mods. If they are still around it's by chance and not design.

^ shwethabh.....just do a search of those terms and see how often "arserape"..."fack" etc occur' date=' and not just on match threads...I mean in all threads...ICF is definitely a forum where there is plenty of cussing, and profanity...ALL the members are party to this, and if free speech is what ICF wants, profanity is what you get...so I just said have same rules across the board, and apply it equally across the board...or just leave it alone....as Ravi said he wouldnt want his kid to see this forum....this is of course NO place for kids whose parents are sensitive to the language they are exposed to...but then neither is this world a place for ANY kid to be exposed to, and the internet is centric to this.[/quote'] It's up to each individual to take up the responsibility to ensure this is a sports website and not a porn site. Going by your logic you should be talking to young kids in the language you write as well. I'm sure you don't practice that or do you? How different is it to write in a decent language? Just that for some it's fashionable to use the slur either because they can't hold a conversation within civilized limits or just want to show off the ability to cuss. I have seen this trend aplenty among teens. Oh BTW free speech does not mean using expletives to express one's thoughts. It can be done better without it. It's rubbish to even suggest free speech means using bad language at a drop of a hat. Why do you think we have filters for expletives in the first place? To censor bad language. People find ways to sneak in bad language bypassing the filters in their own inimitable ways. As for I'm concerned this is a sports website where people of all age group participate and we want to keep it clean. There will be no compromise made about this whether you like it or not.

Guest HariSampath

Ravi...you have failed to get my point. I said that ICF has plenty of profanity...and almost all are responsible..and it IS a fact that free speech gives plenty of license to do so. Free opinion and free speech are two different things and ICf has it mixed up, IMO. One is opinion of an individual and the latter is bad language. But then like I said the world itself is such a place where profanity is extremely common nowadays, and MOST of all the internet. I certainly dont use profanity with kids...but I also swear when talking to friends, no denying the fact...perhaps you never do ( or do you)...yes this is a sports website, and if the intent is serious to keep profanity completely out, it can be done without resorting to filters. If I have the authority, I can do it in 7 days. On another note, take a look at my posts and conversations with many others on various forums in this site...you would hardly find a single expletive in course of serious discussions or deeper topics. If the founding fathers had been serious enough to cut out profanity irrespective of filters and spellchecks, it could have been achieved rather easily. All it takes is intent: and a prominent message at the very begining page of the site. Then , it has to be enforced across the board without fear of losing members etc. It has to be a policy decision with a clear vision of what we want and how to go about it, and operable. Without this, ICF will get nowhere in addressing this issue ...editing/deleting etc is just addressing the symptoms and not the disease. But in my 8 months or so in ICF...I had not seen serious intent in this regard. You cannot expect self discipline and self regulation on an MB where everyone is an anonymous entity, you have to frame rules, clarify the spirit of the rules, apply them earnestly IRRESPECTIVE of who it is or how many members it costs you. One small suggestion....I know that many members would think that a cricket site cannot do away with cussing completely, and they could be right too...so why hasnt ICF come up with emoticons for a "general cussing vocabulary"....it is possible without appearing too offensive in words...just one of the many things that can be done , there are plenty more, but it depends on how serious we get in addressing this.

This must be a sad day for Finey; dethroned from "Drama Queen" crown by Hari:giggle::giggle::giggle:
YES! I am watching the dethroning dumbfounded :angry_smile: Alrite peoples, this drama over - all go home. Close the thread. If there is drama, it shall feature me and only me as heroine :P