coffee_rules Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 Even a long term investor like me I took a blood bath yesterday with Tech stocks. Fcuk Nvidia. My broker advised not to take any short term actions. Let it slide and it will get back. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Even a long term investor like me I took a blood bath yesterday with Tech stocks. Fcuk Nvidia. My broker advised not to take any short term actions. Let it slide and it will get back. NVDA already gave so much, was due for correction. You should keep booking profits. Now let it rise back. coffee_rules 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 5 hours ago, velu said: welfare schemes will screw the mkts might do something salaried Modi or BJP will do Nothing for the government’s cash cow - salaried MC (middle class Bhai!) India should ideally take the IT free slab to 12 lakhs p.a because of inflation and PPP. Better to get into binnes or farming rather than get salaries. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mishra Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 3 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Even a long term investor like me I took a blood bath yesterday with Tech stocks. Fcuk Nvidia. My broker advised not to take any short term actions. Let it slide and it will get back. Yes, its possibly true. Give it couple of weeks. Chips is not same as AI programs. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LordPrabhzy Posted January 29 Share Posted January 29 whats up with the Indian stock market-- all my investments in the Indian portfolio have tanked in the last 6 months but the S&P 500 worldwide is up 8/9% on average. Is it worth persistent with further investments in the hope it will pick up in the 5-10 year period for now? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mishra Posted January 29 Share Posted January 29 1 hour ago, LordPrabhzy said: whats up with the Indian stock market-- all my investments in the Indian portfolio have tanked in the last 6 months but the S&P 500 worldwide is up 8/9% on average. Is it worth persistent with further investments in the hope it will pick up in the 5-10 year period for now? Direct result of Biden eff up and Trump trade war with world. However once Modi ji visits Trump in Feb, things will calm down as I am hopeful that Trump will say India is aligned to his US policy. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted January 31 Share Posted January 31 Screwed myself . Now I love FD and CDs Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted February 2 Share Posted February 2 On 1/28/2025 at 9:06 AM, coffee_rules said: Modi or BJP will do Nothing for the government’s cash cow - salaried MC (middle class Bhai!) India should ideally take the IT free slab to 12 lakhs p.a because of inflation and PPP. Better to get into binnes or farming rather than get salaries. Proof the Nirmala chitti reads ICF. I posted this on last Tue. to me. You can all thank me by transferring your tax saved in 25-26 to my bank account. Mentoin not ji !! randomGuy 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted February 2 Share Posted February 2 On 1/31/2025 at 1:02 AM, jigjig said: Screwed myself . Now I love FD and CDs Mid cap MFs are best and works better than CD/FD diga 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Posted February 3 Share Posted February 3 On 1/31/2025 at 11:32 AM, jigjig said: Screwed myself . Now I love FD and CDs please elaborate as I might be going that way Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted February 3 Share Posted February 3 16 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Mid cap MFs are best and works better than CD/FD India markets or US? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted February 3 Share Posted February 3 5 hours ago, Lord said: please elaborate as I might be going that way Ended up on the wrong side while trying to time the market. Ever since moved to CD / FD. Plus it's a risky world order. Less exposure to market is safer in my opinion. Lord 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teengunalagaan Posted February 3 Share Posted February 3 On 7/26/2023 at 7:53 PM, Lord said: Any source to read more in detail? How is the 'The Intelligent Investor' for beginners if you read it? No, books like this are famous but not aimed at novices, you will get bored in the first chapter itself. Try to learn the basics before you can read books like Intelligent Investor, One Up on Wall Street. Zerodha Varsity is a good place to start https://zerodha.com/varsity/video-modules/ If you have be successful at investing, you need to devote time. Lord 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted February 3 Share Posted February 3 2 hours ago, jigjig said: India markets or US? Both markets.. but I hold it for long term. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teengunalagaan Posted February 3 Share Posted February 3 (edited) 2 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Both markets.. but I hold it for long term. We are in the middle of a Tariff war, amazing that Trump imposed 25% tariffs on Canada and Mexico but only 10% on China. This is going to be a long and painful period for the economy, tariffs are going to affect everything from GDP to Jobs But what is quite odd is why did Trump announce tariffs from Tuesday, why not from Monday itself ? Two theories I can think of, one is, he is hoping a judge will step in and block it and he can claim he did what he said and imposed tariffs but it's a judge who blocked it and this gets postponed, second theory he might have had a fund go short on Friday, create volatility and buy back on Monday, he makes a lot of money. This is going to be an interesting day. Edited February 3 by Teengunalagaan Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bharathh Posted February 3 Share Posted February 3 7 minutes ago, Teengunalagaan said: We are in the middle of a Tariff war, amazing that Trump imposed 25% tariffs on Canada and Mexico but only 10% on China. This is going to be a long and painful period for the economy, tariffs are going to affect everything from GDP to Jobs But what is quite odd is why did Trump announce tariffs from Tuesday, why not from Monday itself ? Two theories I can think of, one is, he is hoping a judge will step in and block it and he can claim he did what he said and imposed tariffs but it's a judge who blocked it and this gets postponed, second theory he might have had a fund go short on Friday, create volatility and buy back on Monday, he makes a lot of money. This is going to be an interesting day. How can a judge stop a decision on trade? It has nothing to do with the constitution Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teengunalagaan Posted February 3 Share Posted February 3 1 hour ago, bharathh said: How can a judge stop a decision on trade? It has nothing to do with the constitution I think they can, didn't a judge few days ago block funding freeze, also he invoked IEEPA which I read can be challenged in court. Anyways US, Mexico have paused the tariff for a month. I think he is using this as a tool to get countries to agree to his terms or atleast appear as such to his followers. I can understand if he is going against 1 or 2 countries, but to put tariffs against multiple countries which is where he seems to heading could be disastrous for US economy, it will be US consumers who will suffer, and I don't think he is that stupid. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jf1gp_1 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 On 1/29/2025 at 9:48 PM, LordPrabhzy said: whats up with the Indian stock market-- all my investments in the Indian portfolio have tanked in the last 6 months but the S&P 500 worldwide is up 8/9% on average. Is it worth persistent with further investments in the hope it will pick up in the 5-10 year period for now? If you have money, its time to push more considering your investment period. Infact if you have the appetite make few risky bets. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...