Riyan Parag

tweaker

9 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

Bhai he is #4 in every format in domestic cricket, even IPL. Isme earn kya karna, its his natural position

Pant is batting there, how can you put Parag over Pant. 

All the players selected other than openers are top order players. Parag for now should be number5/6. If he does well he will be number 4.Other than openers normally all other positions are earned.

Pujara started at number 5 in his debut Test.Retirements and his batting got him to number 3.Dravid Started at number 6 too.

Edited by putrevus
13 minutes ago, putrevus said:

All the players selected other than openers are top order players. Parag for now should be number5/6. If he does well he will be number 4.Other than openers normally all other positions are earned.

Pujara started at number 5 in his debut Test.Retirements and his batting got him to number 3.Dravid Started at number 6 too.

Team management prefers Rahul over Pant.By assessing the pitch the Gambhir and co should have played Parag in middle order,as he could have bowled full quotas of his bowling on this pitch.

Parag has scored 100s at no 4,5 positions in domestic odi tournament.

This team management has habit of destabilising young players by playing them in different positions and eventually throwing them out for tried and failed players.

21 minutes ago, putrevus said:

This logic is senseless tbh. Its ok for test cricket where the batters role for the top order are pretty necessary to handle the new ball, in ODIs it definitely should be what suits the player best. 

I mean why did Kohli/Gill/Iyer start batting in the top 3 right away? Only reason Parag is being played at 7 is because he can bowl and they are set in their process of playing an AR at 6/7

12 minutes ago, tweaker said:

Team management prefers Rahul over Pant.By assessing the pitch the Gambhir and co should have played Parag in middle order,as he could have bowled full quotas of his bowling on this pitch.

Parag has scored 100s at no 4,5 positions in domestic odi tournament.

This team management has habit of destabilising young players by playing them in different positions and eventually throwing them out for tried and failed players.

This TM just started, it is their first tour.How are they doing anything to anyone.

IMO it is not important where players batted in domestic cricket. Number 4 is the most important position in odis .Parag should bat 5/6 to ease him into international cricket.

Parag is the find of this series IMO.

Edited by putrevus
3 hours ago, Vickydev said:

Bhai he is #4 in every format in domestic cricket, even IPL. Isme earn kya karna, its his natural position

Atmost ,most of them know him from IPL

Many of them have no clue what's his position in list A and FC

And then they pretend cricket experts here

Parag is a must for CT. I will pick him ahead of Washington.

Batting become monstrous and he will share the 5th bowler duty with Pandya. Solves so many of our problem.

My top 8 for first match of CT.

Rohit

Gill ( preferably Jaiswal)

Kohli
Iyer

Pant

Parag

Pandya
Axar

3 hours ago, Vickydev said:

This logic is senseless tbh. Its ok for test cricket where the batters role for the top order are pretty necessary to handle the new ball, in ODIs it definitely should be what suits the player best. 

I mean why did Kohli/Gill/Iyer start batting in the top 3 right away? Only reason Parag is being played at 7 is because he can bowl and they are set in their process of playing an AR at 6/7

Kohli started as an opener in 2008. He batted at number 4 in 2011 after proving himself over guys like Raina then he became number 3 in 2012.

You want young guys to have less pressure.

Sachin started in middle order, Rohit started in middle order.

Iyer was brought in to fill the hole at number 4 .

Edited by putrevus
7 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Kohli started as an opener in 2008. He batted at number 4 in 2011 after proving himself over guys like Raina then he became number 3 in 2012.

Sachin started in middle order, Rohit started in middle order.

Iyer was brought in to fill the hole at number 4 .

Iyer as you said yourself didnt start lower than 4th..Gill started at the top..Kohli started as opener, he was already playing lots of games at 3 before 2011 WC and then confirmed to 3 when Dhoni decided they need only 2 openers..Still batting in top 4 and 6/7 is entirely different

Rohit was a failure in middle order, didnt work, so moved him to top order to fit him. That is total opposite of what you are saying. He didnt earn his spot in top3 through performances. Otoh you want Parag to do well lower down and then move him up... 

What a waste of an argument

I didnt follow cricket in the 90s so cant comment on Sachin..  Examples from 3 decades back are being cited. Fml

Play new players in their proper positions to extract the best of them... 

7 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

Iyer as you said yourself didnt start lower than 4th..Gill started at the top..Kohli started as opener, he was already playing lots of games at 3 before 2011 WC and then confirmed to 3 when Dhoni decided they need only 2 openers..Still batting in top 4 and 6/7 is entirely different

Rohit was a failure in middle order, didnt work, so moved him to top order to fit him. That is total opposite of what you are saying. He didnt earn his spot in top3 through performances. Otoh you want Parag to do well lower down and then move him up... 

What a waste of an argument

I didnt follow cricket in the 90s so cant comment on Sachin..  Examples from 3 decades back are being cited. Fml

Play new players in their proper positions to extract the best of them... 

Iyer made his debut at number 3 in 2017 and soon was out of the team in 2019 and world cup .

If you had read my earlier posts,"Other than openers normally all other positions are earned."

It is not just in India , it happens everywhere, Ponting started at number 6 in odis, Sangakara at number 5

My point about Rohit is new players take a while to find their spots.He batted in all positions in middle order, there was no set spot for him when he started either , same with Sachin