Ha ha ha ha ha ha!!! Let's all laugh at the padosis :)

5 hours ago, Shaz1 said:

Pakistan will beat India if it goes to the Semi’s. India is in need of losing one game. The only team in the world that can beat India is Pakistan. Cornered Tigers Pakistan are unbeatable. 

what is this "need" you speak of? your neediness? One could easily say that Aus was in "need" of losing 1 game in 2003 or 2007 WC. that didn't happen. cricket is a simple game: nearly all the times, the better team wins. if Ind doesn't play well in KOs, they lose... and if they play to their potential, they will comfortably. doesn't matter a great deal on who the opposition is.

Edited by Vijy
6 hours ago, Shaz1 said:

Pakistan will beat India if it goes to the Semi’s. India is in need of losing one game. The only team in the world that can beat India is Pakistan. Cornered Tigers Pakistan are unbeatable. 

First reach to semi's.

Anyway, even if we play you in semis and finals, it will be fun to see the 25 Crore Pakistanis crying after the loss. 2 over Sofa set will be torn apart to pieces. 

5 hours ago, Shaz1 said:

India has been playing perfect cricket. How long can they play perfect for?

nowhere near 'perfect'.  Gill has barely fired this WC - Rohit has been out cheap twice, and thrown away starts few times already.  Both of our openers have habit of putting up daddy hundreds and neither has done so far.  KL Rahul has yet to play a big innings after the 1st Australia match.  And SKY?  can anybody honestly say he's had a quality innings in the WC by his standards yet? 

If anything, Indian batting has been executing at around 70-80% of its capabilities.  But our bowling has been so good that we haven't needed to do more than that.  

On the bowling side, Boom has gotten 1 or less wicket in most games.  Siraj has had a terrible WC, and Kuldeep already has had his "one bad game".  Jaddu may run into a well-set Lefty and have a bad game with the ball.  

The cold, blunt slap-to-the-face reality for India-haters is that apart from its W/L record this WC, India has NOT played perfect cricket, and is yet to really hit 'peak'.  But guess what - they're good enough to assess the situation and manage risk, that they haven't yet needed to get anywhere close to 'perfect' in order to brutalize teams. 

So yeah, be afraid.  Be very afraid.

14 minutes ago, sandeep said:

If anything, Indian batting has been executing at around 70-80% of its capabilities.  

You really think so ?  I hope Rohit and Kohli have not exhausted their quota of runs for the world cup.

In every game, either one of Rohit or Kohli, have batted for a good part of the innings and carried us through.

What are the odds that in a knockout game, both may not click and we have to rely on other batters to chase a decent 270-300 target ?

You think KL + Gill + SKY + Iyer have shown the collective clutch ability to carry us through without the 2 big guns - ROhit and Kohli ( who are afterall human ) ?

38 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

You really think so ?  I hope Rohit and Kohli have not exhausted their quota of runs for the world cup.

In every game, either one of Rohit or Kohli, have batted for a good part of the innings and carried us through.

What are the odds that in a knockout game, both may not click and we have to rely on other batters to chase a decent 270-300 target ?

You think KL + Gill + SKY + Iyer have shown the collective clutch ability to carry us through without the 2 big guns - ROhit and Kohli ( who are afterall human ) ?

Nothing can be guaranteed in  sports. People mix up probabilities in their brains thinking about law of averages and crap like that - past performance has NOTHING to do the probabilities on the next game, apart from impact on confidence etc.  Its about the performance on the day.  

But yes, to answer your question, I think if both Virat and Rohit get out in single digits, I think we have enough batting skill and mental strength in the team to fight and win.  

Ideally, I would have wanted 1 more extra batter in this team - 5 bowlers leaves that one chink in the game for me.  This Indian team can get better from here, by finding a top order batter who can give 4-5 overs of bowling regularly.  Its no secret that I'm a big believer in Washington Sundar's abilities.  I'm hoping that 2 years from now he's a top order fixture for IND across formats.  If we have Sundar, Pandya, and Jadeja/Axar in the team - we will dominate the 20s like Australia of the 2000s.  And I do not say this lightly. 

6 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Nothing can be guaranteed in  sports. People mix up probabilities in their brains thinking about law of averages and crap like that - past performance has NOTHING to do the probabilities on the next game, apart from impact on confidence etc.  Its about the performance on the day.  

Agree... but there is a world of difference between the confidence a batsman carries from being in form when facing ball 1 or being tentative. Even opposition bowlers are jittery when bowling to a batsmen who exudes an aura like Rohit Sharma

5 minutes ago, diga said:

Agree... but there is a world of difference between the confidence a batsman carries from being in form when facing ball 1 or being tentative. Even opposition bowlers are jittery when bowling to a batsmen who exudes an aura like Rohit Sharma

of course. I'm talking about silliness where some fans fall into the trap of thinking - batsman xyz has scored 3 good innings so now he's "due" a failure.  Just because you see a pattern in a sequence doesn't mean future sequence will follow it.  Pattern is the consequence and byproduct depends on other variables that cause it, doesn't create it just by itself.  

@sandeep

Fair enough, long story short- you are basically saying you think there is nothing such as law of averages, or that there is nothing scientific about it. 

Probabilistic theory agrees with your thought process but thats not how a cricket fan's mind works.

A cricket mind's fan is impacted by 2015 and 2019 - we totally dominated the group stages then too, only to have our 'bad day' on the 'big day'.

So who is to say 2023 is going to be any different ?  What if we face the 'bad luck' of a freakish performance from an opposition batsman on the big day, lose 2 quicks and its an encore of 2017 Champions trophy finals or 2019 World Cup semi-finals ?

History gives anxiety. 

Edited by rangeelaraja
1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said:

The games of semi final & final is what eventually make you heroes.

Semi final & finals are pressure games and it can happen that Rohit or Kohli might succumb to pressure and get out early..and that's where the time for KL, Gill, SKY, Iyer is to shine.

Shreyas is almost 29 while KL is 31 & SKY is 32....if they miss to perform now..in the next 4 years there are chances they might not be even in the ODI WC squad., specially Shreyas & Rahul are damn lucky because Pant might have been playing this WC in one of their place...this & given the next gen batters are waiting eagerly to break in, these guys has the time to stamp their authority now.

We lost Sachin & Sehwag in 2011 final early and that's where Gambhir, Yuvraj, MS and to an extend Kohli took over..now Gill in 2023 is roughly of same age as was Kohli in 2011. A performance in the WC big event will elevate him from a potential performer to next superstar. Who wouldn't want that.

My personal opinion, if we will cross semifinal hurdle, we will win the WC. Semi's is our achilles heel from quite sometime and it has caused a bit of nervousness amongst fans. Rohit & Kohli just have to contribute till Semi's, in finals I think we will cruise through....

7 hours ago, Shaz1 said:

This guy gets it. If this guy played for India he’d be there best player. Looks to have a great mind for cricket.

All I read here is fear. You know the green storm is coming. You know the Cornered Tigers are sharpening there claws to strike at the right moment to win your heart. Don’t worry you will see when we reach the semi’s. 

Sure buddy we’ll be there. Tell Kohli to get his 100 before he faces us to break Sachin’s record. 

India has been playing perfect cricket. How long can they play perfect for? Not for very long I can tell you that. India is in a need of losing a game. They will lose one to the country that made not one but two Ws. Our third W will be born when we get the victory against India in the semi’s.

Until they win the WC? Oz did it 2003, 2007; WI did it 1975; 1979. It can happen

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

nowhere near 'perfect'.  Gill has barely fired this WC - Rohit has been out cheap twice, and thrown away starts few times already.  Both of our openers have habit of putting up daddy hundreds and neither has done so far.  KL Rahul has yet to play a big innings after the 1st Australia match.  And SKY?  can anybody honestly say he's had a quality innings in the WC by his standards yet? 

If anything, Indian batting has been executing at around 70-80% of its capabilities.  But our bowling has been so good that we haven't needed to do more than that.  

On the bowling side, Boom has gotten 1 or less wicket in most games.  Siraj has had a terrible WC, and Kuldeep already has had his "one bad game".  Jaddu may run into a well-set Lefty and have a bad game with the ball.  

The cold, blunt slap-to-the-face reality for India-haters is that apart from its W/L record this WC, India has NOT played perfect cricket, and is yet to really hit 'peak'.  But guess what - they're good enough to assess the situation and manage risk, that they haven't yet needed to get anywhere close to 'perfect' in order to brutalize teams. 

So yeah, be afraid.  Be very afraid.

our batting has been subpar, and even siraj has not fired enough. if these elements click, we can butcher any team in this WC. note the emphasis on the word "if"

2 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

My personal opinion, if we will cross semifinal hurdle, we will win the WC. Semi's is our achilles heel from quite sometime and it has caused a bit of nervousness amongst fans. Rohit & Kohli just have to contribute till Semi's, in finals I think we will cruise through....

I think so too. 

The venue for final is Ahmedabad, Narendra Modi Stadium. I am not kidding, but something in my heart tells me India can't lose a world cup final in a venue that is named after a PM with such an aura and rise. The man is an out an out winner and India cannot lose a big match there.

My hunch is that if we get past the semi-final hurdle, we will face Australia in the finals. 

Unless SA bats first in against Aus in the semis - I see them losing to Aussies.

Aus is a monster in clutch matches though.

36 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

I think so too. 

The venue for final is Ahmedabad, Narendra Modi Stadium. I am not kidding, but something in my heart tells me India can't lose a world cup final in a venue that is named after a PM with such an aura and rise. The man is an out an out winner and India cannot lose a big match there.

My hunch is that if we get past the semi-final hurdle, we will face Australia in the finals. 

Unless SA bats first in against Aus in the semis - I see them losing to Aussies.

Aus is a monster in clutch matches though.

The support of 1 lakh 30k crowd for India will be a moral booster. One can't ignore the amount of encouragement players will have on the finals.

Ofcourse, I am in total realization that cricket is a game of skill. But sometimes the support can give the much needed mental strength which can help the team swim through the nervous times. Even the strongest opposition teams like Australia will feel the pressure there, that the whole world is against them.