deathmonger Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 16 minutes ago, Sharjah-Harjah said: It was very, very sub-continental conditions. Dew or not, if you are gonna lose in your own den with 130k fans rooting for you, at least don’t blame “conditions” FFS when everything was scripted to favor YOU! Australia was the alien there. india MUST hire foreign coaches because locals are too emotional to see things logically. What you are saying makes absolutely no sense. You are just trolling instead of making a logical conclusion. "Very very subcontinental conditions" only existed in the afternoon. Once dew sets in, it is all negated. Same thing happened in 2021 WorldT20 which you must be familiar with. Paksitan had been playing cricket in UAE for more than a decade. The entire stadium was on their side. Australia was the alien. Yet Wade and Stoinis, two players who had never done anything of that sort before or since, won the match for them. Sharjah-Harjah 1 Link to comment
Singh bling Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 4 hours ago, deathmonger said: Australian benefit is from before they even enter the system. Look at the height and physiques of the Australian players. That is purely due to 2-3 generations living in prosperity. Plus they have access to all gyms/sporting equipment growing up. Prosperity argument is BS for a sport like cricket where players can sustain themselves even playing local leagues. Lets assume 5% population is prosperous then it means 7.5 crore over Australia's 2.5 crore. Also in Volleyball and Basketball state level teams have enough 6-6 -7 feet players. It's just india condition don't give any added advantage to them that's why we see very few of them in cricket Link to comment
deathmonger Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 Just now, Singh bling said: Prosperity argument is BS for a sport like cricket where players can sustain themselves even playing local leagues. Lets assume 5% population is prosperous then it means 7.5 crore over Australia's 2.5 crore. Also in Volleyball and Basketball state level teams have enough 6-6 -7 feet players. It's just india condition don't give any added advantage to them that's why we see very few of them in cricket Sustenance etc happens when you become a player not before. Even if we take those figures, none of that 7.5 crore or 5% are going to take up sport. They are all going to go into white collar professions. Sports is mostly played by people from blue collar backgrounds - the elite hardly play sports (except children of famous sportspeople). Australia is so rich that even the people in the middle of the country income wise have facilities etc available to them. In India that simply isn't possible. Look at the stories of Hardik Pandya, Siraj etc. No Australian has to go through that. Imagine how many Indians simply stopped playing cricket because they couldn't persevere with it. As far as height is concerned, yes India has tall people and I'm pretty sure more than the population of Australia. Issue is one of probability. How many of those are even interested in cricket? If they are, how many are even good? Thing is because the average Australian has a better physique maxed out due to general prosperity the chances of a good potential cricketer being of better physique than an Indian is more. Link to comment
Singh bling Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 9 minutes ago, deathmonger said: Sustenance etc happens when you become a player not before. Even if we take those figures, none of that 7.5 crore or 5% are going to take up sport. They are all going to go into white collar professions. Sports is mostly played by people from blue collar backgrounds - the elite hardly play sports (except children of famous sportspeople). Australia is so rich that even the people in the middle of the country income wise have facilities etc available to them. In India that simply isn't possible. Look at the stories of Hardik Pandya, Siraj etc. No Australian has to go through that. Imagine how many Indians simply stopped playing cricket because they couldn't persevere with it. As far as height is concerned, yes India has tall people and I'm pretty sure more than the population of Australia. Issue is one of probability. How many of those are even interested in cricket? If they are, how many are even good? Thing is because the average Australian has a better physique maxed out due to general prosperity the chances of a good potential cricketer being of better physique than an Indian is more. You are assuming as if all 2.5 crore Australians play cricket. The number of sports Australia had and interest in cricket they had i assume that not more than 40-50 lakh play cricket. India on the other hand is one sport nation. We also has enough khandani paise waale which are living in villages. Many of them don't do white collar jobs What height advantage Jyotiraditya or captain Amrinder singh has over local population. They rich from generations and living much better than most Aussies. Link to comment
deathmonger Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 13 minutes ago, Singh bling said: You are assuming as if all 2.5 crore Australians play cricket. The number of sports Australia had and interest in cricket they had i assume that not more than 40-50 lakh play cricket. India on the other hand is one sport nation. We also has enough khandani paise waale which are living in villages. Many of them don't do white collar jobs What height advantage Jyotiraditya or captain Amrinder singh has over local population. They rich from generations and living much better than most Aussies. Might be one sport nation but most people can't pick up that sport due to money/culture. None of those khandaani paise waale will go into cricket but will go into business. Amarinder and Jyotiraditya you are taking anecdotal examples. I'm pretty sure that richer people in India are on an average taller than most poorer people. The anecdotal evidence I can give is most people in my white collar social circles, gym etc tend to be way taller on average than delivery guys, plumbers etc. Thing is richer countries have taller people and as countries become rich, height increases. This is backed up by data. so since the average height is higher, the average height of a cricket player will also be higher as it is a subset of the general population. I'm pretty sure there are a lot of rich tall people in India. None of them are going to go into cricket. Link to comment
Singh bling Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 1 hour ago, deathmonger said: None of those khandaani paise waale will go into cricket but will go into business. It is just an assumption some good number of players come from well to do families 1 hour ago, deathmonger said: Amarinder and Jyotiraditya you are taking anecdotal examples. I'm pretty sure that richer people in India are on an average taller than most poorer people. The anecdotal evidence I can give is most people in my white collar social circles, gym etc tend to be way taller on average than delivery guys, plumbers etc. This is just an assumption. The people in India that do menial jobs comes from specific regions like Bihar bengal etc . You will not expect a tall jat of Haryana Punjab doing that job. No doubt where extreme poverty is their there is scope of improvement in height as height is extremely short 1 hour ago, deathmonger said: Thing is richer countries have taller people and as countries become rich, height increases. This is backed up by data. so since the average height is higher, the average height of a cricket player will also be higher as it is a subset of the general population. Again this is just an assumption https://www.wionews.com/india-news/decrease-in-average-height-of-adults-in-india-alarming-study-416630 National family survey study actually tell average height is declining Look at Gujarat one of wealthiest state of india but very high malnutrition. Unlike other nations India is predominantly vegetarian and other nations eat very large quantity of meat plus milk. Milk in india was always available and there is no chance indians will eat meat like rest of world. No doubt people will improve height where there was starvation but it is region specific . Historians already wrote that Maharaja Ranjit Singh army was tallest at that time. So many regions ,caste in india have very good height . Chance of improving it further is impossible Link to comment
raki05 Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 10 hours ago, EnterTheVoid said: Golden opportunity to avenge the 2003 WC final defeat. Everything was going in India's favour. In form batsman, bowlers were breathing fire, crowd support. How could you win 10 on the trot and lose the most important match of them all. First BCCI *ed up with pitch and then , Gill and Iyer choked like their predecessors and eventually Kela reminded with his inning that kuttey ki dum kitni bhi sidhi karo wo tedhi hi rehati hai. Finall Draavid sir insite of sky regular failure in odis dint have guts to take chance with Tilka or Some other mo batter. EnterTheVoid 1 Link to comment
Vilander Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 SHOULD HAVE PLAYED THE FINAL AT HOME Class Vs Link to comment