Mother of all CoVid vaccine rants - authored by Backtocricaddict

BacktoCricaddict

For 4 years, from the original strain that escaped from a market or a lab or a bat-forest to alpha to delta to omicron to every other freakkin letter in the greek alphabet to BA.1.86 to JN.1 to every other english alphabet soup variant, I dodged the damned virus. I teach for a living. Colleges are germ-incubators made up of young, socially active humans. I teach in one. Interacted with them for 4 years. I also traveled quite a bit. Within the US. To India and back. Twice. I protected myself and my family with my constant nagging about masking and vaccines. I bought cargo pants so I could carry extra masks and sanitizers in case my family needed them. We lived our lives, had great times while still dodging the damned virus.

Most importantly I took 7 mRNA shots. Yes, 7.  I am old-ish. My MIL is old (not ish). She lives with us. I have to protect her too. So, I took them. She took them too, as did my missus and kids. Some of them made us feverish for a day or so. And you know what - it kept the virus at bay.  For 4 years. I was a freakkin monster, but we dodged the virus.

And this winter? I dropped my guard. And let my family drop their guard, too. Although we masked on our flight, we stayed went out with relatives to restaurants unmasked because it was awkward etc. etc.  And you know the rest.

Serial infection. First me. Almost no symptoms. But took Paxlovid just in case. Then my wife. Mild symptoms. Paxlovid. My kids. Mild symptoms. MIL mild symptoms (thankfully). Paxlovid. All good so far? 

Until this past Tuesday.  I had a freakkin rebound. It hit me at work like a ton of bricks. In one afternoon I went from no symptoms and a negative test to being miserable and a positive test. Couldn't work all week.