singhvivek141 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 14 minutes ago, express bowling said: Umran's 150 k+ bowling in IPL 2022 " motivated " Shami to bowl slower and improve his line and length. Shami bhai is a veteran, has achieved enlightenment. harshit and Mayank are at same age. Plus being from same state they will be on good talking terms hopefully. Harshit naturally is an aggressive fellow, not shying away with fight. Mayank is quiet one. Mosher, express bowling and tweaker 3 Link to comment
rkt.india Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 1 hour ago, Suhaan said: He's on verge of becoming mavi 2.0 He can't even if he wants to. He will still be fast if he bowls his 80%, just not express. Any team will still take a bowler hitting 145 so regularly. Link to comment
Mosher Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 3 hours ago, express bowling said: Mayank ...... " Sticking to the basics, Mayank also talked about his approach when he bowls. “My pace is always in the back of my mind, but throughout my IPL journey, I’ve learned that consistency is key in this format, especially at the international level. Line and length are crucial, and being consistent with them helps — even the batsman starts to respect you. So, recently, I’ve been focusing more on being consistent with my line and length,” Does this mean that he is not looking to bowl extra fast any more ?? He can do both. Bowl fast and be accurate which he showed in IPL. Don't know who is feeding him this nonsense express bowling 1 Link to comment
MK55 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 Remember what Maxwell said in his interview after Mayank's spell? There are lots of bowlers who hit the 145-150 mark and not many that touch such high speeds (mid 155). That is what caused him problems. This 145-150 Mayank won't be a big deal to negotiate on batting friendly LOI (which are almost all lately) pitches. How could the guys around him not understand this basic fact. And why da F is he so obsessed with line and length. It's obviously important but he never really had that issue in the first place. I understand him gradually building match fitness but that does not seem to be the only thing going on here. Otherwise he wouldn't have bowled so many slow deliveries or talked so much about 'line and length' stuff. I wonder what Brett Lee / Akhtar would have said in their initial years in their interviews. He should have that mindset. express bowling, Need4Speed and Mosher 3 Link to comment
MK55 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 I wonder if Mayank has got the attitude of a tearaway express quick. He seems too mellow so far. I hope I'm wrong. tweaker 1 Link to comment
singhvivek141 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 Just now, MK55 said: I wonder if Mayank has got the attitude of a tearaway express quick. He seems too mellow so far. I hope I'm wrong. Attitude wise it shouldn't be an issue. He has achieved whatever success he has gotten coz of pace only. No other fast bowler can leapfrog the pecking order Just on basis of 2 IPL games...he did that. Coz he has extra pace. tweaker and express bowling 2 Link to comment
singhvivek141 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 Also, Morkel was quite appreciative of Mayank's pace in IPL. Unless he is playing on a precautionary measure under instructions of NCA. He shouldn't hold himself back. Let's hope that whatever Mayank is doing, he is just doing on as a precautionary measure to ensure he gets the much needed game time and muscle memory for his modified action. Link to comment
MK55 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 Just now, singhvivek141 said: Attitude wise it shouldn't be an issue. He has achieved whatever success he has gotten coz of pace only. No other fast bowler can leapfrog the pecking order Just on basis of 2 IPL games...he did that. Coz he has extra pace. Yes, but the attitude also translates into pace and clarity of thought. In IPL you could sense he wanted to make a huge impact at the world stage. Even in his preceding interviews, he gave that impression. It's early days, but lets see what happens after a few more games. express bowling 1 Link to comment
rkt.india Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 9 minutes ago, MK55 said: Remember what Maxwell said in his interview after Mayank's spell? There are lots of bowlers who hit the 145-150 mark and not many that touch such high speeds (mid 155). That is what caused him problems. This 145-150 Mayank won't be a big deal to negotiate on batting friendly LOI (which are almost all lately) pitches. How could the guys around him not understand this basic fact. And why da F is he so obsessed with line and length. It's obviously important but he never really had that issue in the first place. I understand him gradually building match fitness but that does not seem to be the only thing going on here. Otherwise he wouldn't have bowled so many slow deliveries or talked so much about 'line and length' stuff. I wonder what Brett Lee / Akhtar would have said in their initial years in their interviews. He should have that mindset. Only 155kph pace can hurry modern T20 batsmen Need4Speed, express bowling and tapandrun 3 Link to comment
MK55 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 Also, I'm not sure if the change in action is an issue. I don't think so. But any change in the biomechanics and the runup/delivery stride should be carefully monitored and tuned with data (which obviously includes speeds for an express bowler) so that there is no compromise on the skills. You can't just say, he's struggling with alignment or whatever so let's make a change that compromises the main strength. Link to comment
singhvivek141 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 56 minutes ago, rkt.india said: He can't even if he wants to. He will still be fast if he bowls his 80%, just not express. Any team will still take a bowler hitting 145 so regularly. Don't even think that. Bhuvi Bhaiya has magical powers. Link to comment
tapandrun Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 3 hours ago, express bowling said: Mayank ...... " Sticking to the basics, Mayank also talked about his approach when he bowls. “My pace is always in the back of my mind, but throughout my IPL journey, I’ve learned that consistency is key in this format, especially at the international level. Line and length are crucial, and being consistent with them helps — even the batsman starts to respect you. So, recently, I’ve been focusing more on being consistent with my line and length,” Does this mean that he is not looking to bowl extra fast any more ?? This is template response of every Ind bowler who is no longer able to hit their previous top speeds, from the outside looks like he is trying to get anywhere between bhumrah's pace 140-146 and few faster ones. Ind commentators will call them getting smarter if they have 1 good day , look the bowler has added skills and consistency etc... If it was/is precautionary then bowling slower ones are more harmful as he is still getting familiar to his tweaked action and biomechanics Tis is the institutional difference between producing high pace bowlers and sub 140 kmph bowlers express bowling 1 Link to comment
putrevus Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 He does not have to touch 155 to be effective. He can bowl 145 and be effective. Suhaan 1 Link to comment
Suhaan Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 2 hours ago, rkt.india said: He can't even if he wants to. He will still be fast if he bowls his 80%, just not express. Any team will still take a bowler hitting 145 so regularly. Bhartiya yuva tez gendbazo ki soch ko overestimate na karen Link to comment
singhvivek141 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 10 minutes ago, putrevus said: He does not have to touch 155 to be effective. He can bowl 145 and be effective. There are many who clock 145. Harshit Rana has clocked 145 multiple times in IPL. 155 is rare and that's why he got an express ticket to the international team. tapandrun and Mosher 2 Link to comment
putrevus Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 (edited) 13 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: There are many who clock 145. Harshit Rana has clocked 145 multiple times in IPL. 155 is rare and that's why he got an express ticket to the international team. There is difference between clocking 145 here and there and constantly bowling at 145 plus . If he plays test cricket noway he is going to keep bowling 155 anyways.As long as he has ability to crank his speed up when needed he should be fine.Can he do other things well and bowl long spells should be main concern than him touching 155 at this stage. If he is limited to IPL and 4 over cricket but touches 155 then he not worth the trouble. Edited October 10 by putrevus Link to comment
rkt.india Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 5 hours ago, express bowling said: Mayank ...... " Sticking to the basics, Mayank also talked about his approach when he bowls. “My pace is always in the back of my mind, but throughout my IPL journey, I’ve learned that consistency is key in this format, especially at the international level. Line and length are crucial, and being consistent with them helps — even the batsman starts to respect you. So, recently, I’ve been focusing more on being consistent with my line and length,” Does this mean that he is not looking to bowl extra fast any more ?? Line and length virus got him too. Need4Speed, Suhaan, rollingstoned and 1 other 1 3 Link to comment
rkt.india Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 31 minutes ago, putrevus said: He does not have to touch 155 to be effective. He can bowl 145 and be effective. We want him to be fiery. Link to comment
putrevus Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 2 minutes ago, rkt.india said: We want him to be fiery. He can still be fiery.He should develop that ability to crank his speed up when needed but still bowl at high 140s. Him playing longer formats is more important IMO. Link to comment
singhvivek141 Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 4 minutes ago, putrevus said: He can still be fiery.He should develop that ability to crank his speed up when needed but still bowl at high 140s. Him playing longer formats is more important IMO. That's a long term goal...and he can be a 140-150 pacer in Tests. Right now, immediate focus should be making an impact. I know T20 is an unforgiving format but he has the advantage of extreme pace. He can't lose it. Anyway at this moment Harshit is a better red ball prospect than him. We have got Akashdeep. If we can extract something from likes of Himanshu who is a proper red ball bowler, then we don't need to rush Mayank. Link to comment