Pakistani teen thanks PM Modi's govt for heart transplant in Chennai; mother says 'came to India without money...'

Have seen with my own eyes so many poor Indians struggling with ailments their entire lives, no help. Hospitals which prioritize Pooks and Kanglus over our own deserve to have their licenses revoked. 

This Pak girl also got free treatment. Do you know private hospitals who extend the same goodwill to our poor? To hell with these PR vultures. 

13 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Have seen with my own eyes so many poor Indians struggling with ailments their entire lives, no help. Hospitals which prioritize Pooks and Kanglus over our own deserve to have their licenses revoked. 

This Pak girl also got free treatment. Do you know private hospitals who extend the same goodwill to our poor? To hell with these PR vultures. 

Even now from media to government to opposition to airline everyone is urilising this situation for their own personal gain, these vultures are using this situations to earn money, win sympathy, point scoring or election campaigning. Have you heard any word in this from Pappu Gandhi, Momta or Akhilesh. But these g@ndus will pitch camp even when any individual from peaceful community will get hurt accidentally by a rock in front of hindu’s house. Our media is just running non stop show to hit peak of trp and calling usual traitors like Vivek Seivastava, and some mullas on the ahow to create chaos. Government spokesperson Sandeep Bhandari is just doing his useless chest thumping without being aware of long term strategy. BCCI busy with their usless cheerleaders dancing, bloddy atleast they could have stopped these idotic DJ aand cheer leader dance in stadium.

4 hours ago, Gollum said:

Do you know private hospitals who extend the same goodwill to our poor?

The same hospital.

(1) Pakistani girl transplant

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/chennai/separated-by-borders-united-by-heart-pakistan-teen-gets-indians-organ/articleshow/109577501.cms

I am unable to copy-paste, but do read this article. The docs talk about how foreigners can only get a transplant if an Indian match is not found. The article talks about Aishwarya Trust that raised the funds for this transplant. It appears to be significantly subsidized, not entirely free.

(2)The same hospital that performed a heart transplant on the Pakistani girl also did this, supported by the same NGO Aishwarya Trust.

https://mgmmain.prodmirror.com/patient_experience/free-heart-transplant-peformed-on-two-young-girls/

MGM Healthcare, a quaternary care hospital in the heart of Chennai city, announced today two successful heart transplant procedures performed on a 11-year-old and a 17-year-old girl, both belonging to the less-privileged section of society. The transplant procedure was done at a concessional price by MGM Healthcare and was supported by Aishwarya Trust. The procedure was successfully performed by the team of transplant doctors, led by Dr K R Balakrishnan, Chairman – Cardiac Sciences and Director – Heart and Lung Transplant & Mechanical Circulatory Support, MGM Healthcare and Dr Suresh Rao K G, Co-Director – Heart and Lung Transplant & Mechanical Circulatory Support, MGM Healthcare.

Tushitha (17), a 12th standard student from Chennai whose father works as a battery salesman, was diagnosed with severe breathlessness and features suggestive of severe heart failure. After evaluation, she was found to have Dilated Cardiomyopathy with end-stage heart failure. She was registered on the state’s transplant registry, waiting in line to receive a new heart. Once a suitable donor was identified, she was taken up for transplantation and the procedure was successfully performed.

Agalya (11), whose father works as a security officer from Nagercoil, started experiencing difficulty in breathing and was subsequently diagnosed with Hypertrophic Obstructive Cardiomyopathy presenting with heart failure. Her echocardiogram showed severe diastolic dysfunction and grade III SAM and her LVOT gradient was more than 100mm HG and NT pro-BNP more than 6000.  Like Tushitha, she too appeared on the transplant waiting list and when a donor organ was available, moved on to have transplant surgery that was successful.

Dr K R Balakrishnan, said, “Both the girls were brought in a critical condition into MGM Healthcare. I am happy that both have responded well to the procedure, and they can soon move back into their daily routine. My sincere thanks and appreciation to Aishwarya Trust who supported the families financially.” Coming from financially challenged backgrounds, Aishwarya Trust – a non-profit organisation serving over a decade to support medical expenses of the deserving patient from the economically underprivileged section of the society – came forward to finance both their treatment.

Dr Suresh Rao said, “Heart failure causes dysfunction of other organs in the body due to lack of sufficient blood supply. It was a challenge to keep end-stage heart failure patients in a good condition till they get a suitable heart. These kids were lucky to get the heart transplant before other organs were dysfunctional.”

Speaking on this endeavour, Chitra Viswanathan, Managing trustee & Co Founder of Aishwarya Trust, said, “Both these young girls, Agalya and Tushitha, needed an immediate transplant. The family was not able to afford the expenses of a heart transplant. When I came to know about these young girls, I discussed the case with my trustees, and we agreed to finance them. I am very delighted that the surgery went well. 

Aishwarya Trust started supporting the transplant programme from 2014 and we are proud to be a part of the transplant programme along with Dr K R Balakrishnan, Dr Suresh Rao and MGM Healthcare’s transplant team. Till date the trust has supported over 3500 congenital heart surgeries and 87 heart transplants We look forward to helping many more deserving children in the coming year.”

Edited by BacktoCricaddict

There is enough to be truly outraged about, friends. Why find something more to be outraged about when clearly, it is not a case of prioritizing foreigners over Indians?

It seems like the Aishwarya Trust funds transplants. Funding transplants of Indians is not in the news because it is routine and normal. But funding for a foreigner, esp Pakistani, has the media screaming about it. Just because something is screamed louder does not mean it occurs more often.

Edited by BacktoCricaddict
15 hours ago, Gollum said:

Let's not blame the private hospitals.

They serve Pooks/ Kanglus and Bantus as they pay immediately.  Except the isolated cases, most of these foreign customers pay. 

They do offer free surgeries and medical assistance to our poor under various state govt schemes and then wait for years to collect the bill from corrupt/lazy/blood sucking babus and netaas. 

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/hyderabad/hospitals-turn-away-aarogyasri-beneficiaries-over-unpaid-dues/articleshow/117407075.cms

The netas promise free everything, unmindful of the consequences and these private hospitals bear the brunt. In telugu states, Unpaid bills worth 1000's of crores are pending from govt's. 

The worst thing i fear for India is the collapse of private health care system under these freebies and subsidies.

Edited by kepler37b

We will have to put some restraints on the NGO's. 

No doubt their intents w.r.t Aishwarya trust are good in this case atleast w.r.t the vision etc. 

But , the point remains on how these guys got to choose a suitable recipient. Thats something that needs to be observed. 

5 hours ago, bsriharsha said:

We will have to put some restraints on the NGO's. 

No doubt their intents w.r.t Aishwarya trust are good in this case atleast w.r.t the vision etc. 

But , the point remains on how these guys got to choose a suitable recipient. Thats something that needs to be observed. 

They explained in the article I linked but was unable to copy-paste. The doctors clearly stated: "a heart is allotted to a foreign national only if we are unable to find a match in the entire country." 

Whether one believes them or not comes down to the extent of one's cynicism.

On 4/28/2025 at 7:34 AM, BacktoCricaddict said:

They explained in the article I linked but was unable to copy-paste. The doctors clearly stated: "a heart is allotted to a foreign national only if we are unable to find a match in the entire country." 

Whether one believes them or not comes down to the extent of one's cynicism.

As someone with bunch of doctors in family in india this is more or less true for ALL except gelf sheikhs : they are the only ones who skip the line in India for heart transplant- coz they literally drop 10x the cash for it.

And the standard Gelf sheikh doesnt do 'atm debit card/credit card payment plan' - he drops a suitcase of cash. The end.

Saw this with my own two eyes as a kid when we first moved to ME and dad and i went to buy our first car - dad had all the paperwork, he wanted to discuss downpayment and installment plans - was getting full attention of the salesman, till arab dude showed up, asked to buy a car and opened his duffel bag and started to count out 100,000 riyals on the spot.
So salesman told us to wait one min and he will be back - I was annoyed and asked dad why is this guy who is behind us in line, getting first treatment- he said 'coz he came with suitcase of cash. suitcase of cash will always win over debit card/cc payment'.