singhvivek141 Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 27 minutes ago, Vicks57 said: The above two Paras are not directed at you. No problem, I understood it. Vicks57 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 8 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: As far as what I understand, some kind of discrimination happens everywhere across the world. Even in western countries there were clear classification of knights and peasant class and their rights. India wasn't unique in that way as some % of impurities will always be there in any society. India in the past was perhaps the only civilization in the world where women had as much social right in the society as men. We all know the history of witchcraft in Europe and how prelevant it was before the Industrial Revolution. For the British, understanding Indian Varna structure was too difficult, hence theh randomly started clubbing castes into different categories and exaggerating few isolated incidences. The tribal groups who were self sustaining and independent were thrown under backward classes and were forced to adapt under the new world order, using the "elite class Indians who were serving British". Business were destroyed, and instead of a business working class, we got the long list of "clerks" who can speak English. Yes there were 3 tier class in all European societies. The priestly class, the warriors/soldiers and the civilians. I forgot the word in English "trivirate" or some other system. Thing is those societies have done away with the class system in their societies. We are yet to do that. singhvivek141 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
singhvivek141 Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 3 minutes ago, Vicks57 said: Yes there were 3 tier class in all European societies. The priestly class, the warriors/soldiers and the civilians. I forgot the word in English "trivirate" or some other system. Thing is those societies have done away with the class system in their societies. We are yet to do that. It's a double edge sword...can cause a civil war type situation. Reservation is the most sensitive topic in this country. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 (edited) 1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said: It's a double edge sword...can cause a civil war type situation. Reservation is the most sensitive topic in this country. We have discrimination based on caste. Only if we eliminate discrimination, we can do away with reservation.Not the other way around. 1. Promoting marriage between different caste of hindus especially with Dalits. 2. Priestly duties should not be reserved to just Brahmins. Design a course for doing priestly activites and recruit from that. Anyone (hindu) can become priest. 3. Everyone is equal based on birth. This should be mentioned by every political party and anyone who supports caste superiority in any social media or any media must be punished. 2 - this point is already implemented in TN to some extent. It is only needed for the betterment of religion 'hinduism' 1 & 3 are absolutely necessary for the society. Edited August 27 by Vicks57 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said: Bollydawood is arrogant and too much full of themselves, I think there were some movies where they used to call the folks with Mongoloid features as Hakka Noddles, clearly a derogatory term. Every Goan will be portrayed as a colourful shirt wearing Peter or D'Souza engaged into drugs, every Rajasthani with regressive society and every Bihari with thief mentality and funny accent. But when they will have to portray someone from Pakistan, he/she will be an elite, well dressed, urdu speaking disciplined individual with great connect to his religion. Youths and teenagers which see such movies, start believing that's the normal practice and starts behaving the same. lol, Goans and colorful shirts They are shown as mosly drunkards. Henchmen too were usually Christian names - Peter, Michael etc. Most vamps were also Christians. Moneylenders were Hindu baniyas are usually corrupt and womanizers. Most of the writers and makers came from Pakistan across the border after 1947, Urduwood would promote Urdu as tehzeeb and Hindi kadi bol as primitive culture. Also they were socialists and/or commies with limited worldview or Indian view. The Hindu Hero would usually be a nastilk rejecting gods. While Muslim characters were always shown pious religious people with azaan BGM whenever they appear on screen. Tillu, singhvivek141 and Vicks57 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 (edited) 53 minutes ago, Vicks57 said: We have discrimination based on caste. Only if we eliminate discrimination, we can do away with reservation.Not the other way around. 1. Promoting marriage between different caste of hindus especially with Dalits. 2. Priestly duties should not be reserved to just Brahmins. Design a course for doing priestly activites and recruit from that. Anyone (hindu) can become priest. 3. Everyone is equal based on birth. This should be mentioned by every political party and anyone who supports caste superiority in any social media or any media must be punished. 2 - this point is already implemented in TN to some extent. If you want jaatiwaad to be eliminated, get your rich non-brahmin UC zamindaars to stop exploiting Dalit laborers and farmer by usurping their land and wealth. Most of the caste discrimination happens by non-priestly class UC people - your Vokkaligas, Yadavs, Thakurs, Mudaliars, Chettiars, Vellalars, etc. That is the case in most of India. Non-brahmin priests are already there in many community based temples - it is not a big deal. EVR has brainwashed people and he wants to blame brahmins for all the ills of jaati problem. Non-brahmin priests is the least of the reasons for the caste problem and low-hanging fruit for politicians.. Take the caste discussion out of this topic, this is about South Indian cinema. You bring your commie caste discussion to all topics. Sorry for the thread hihack. Edited August 27 by coffee_rules singhvivek141 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 10 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: If you want jaatiwaad to be eliminated, get your rich non-brahmin UC zamindaars to stop exploiting Dalit laborers and farmer by usurping their land and wealth. Most of the caste discrimination happens by non-priestly class UC people - your Vokkaligas, Yadavs, Thakurs, Mudaliars, Chettiars, Vellalars, etc. That is the case in most of India. Non-brahmin priests are already there in many community based temples - it is not a big deal. EVR has brainwashed people and he wants to blame brahmins for all the ills of jaati problem. Non-brahmin priests is the least of the reasons for the caste problem and low-hanging fruit for politicians.. Take the caste discussion out of this topic, this is about South Indian cinema. You bring your commie caste discussion to all topics. Sorry for the thread hihack. Lol you really get triggered at the mention of caste discrimination. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 11 minutes ago, Vicks57 said: Lol you really get triggered at the mention of caste discrimination. Meant to take out the penultimate paragraph in the edit Anyway, I had harsher words and I removed it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
singhvivek141 Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 (edited) 1 hour ago, Vicks57 said: We have discrimination based on caste. Only if we eliminate discrimination, we can do away with reservation.Not the other way around. 1. Promoting marriage between different caste of hindus especially with Dalits. 2. Priestly duties should not be reserved to just Brahmins. Design a course for doing priestly activites and recruit from that. Anyone (hindu) can become priest. 3. Everyone is equal based on birth. This should be mentioned by every political party and anyone who supports caste superiority in any social media or any media must be punished. 2 - this point is already implemented in TN to some extent. It is only needed for the betterment of religion 'hinduism' 1 & 3 are absolutely necessary for the society. Point 1 has started to happen now in cities..slowly but steadily. Point 2 is also happening now. Not openly but still it's happening even in states like MP, UP slowly non Brahmins are entering as priests. There are non brahmin students graduating every year from Maharashi Sampoornanad Sanskrit University in Varanasi which offers degree of Shastri (Graduate) & Acharya (Masters). Point 3 will happen quite late. Caste is bread and butter of our political parties. Edited August 27 by singhvivek141 Vicks57 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
I6MTW Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 Prabhas was the worst part of an otherwise great film, VFX, performance and screenplay wise. If Prabhas's Telugu style masala scenes were cut the moves would've been even better. Arshad Warsi criticized Prabhas role and performance in the film. There was nothing controversial about his speech. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
zen Posted August 27 Share Posted August 27 (edited) I did not connect with the trailer so have avoided this film so far. Indian films should be watched for Indian qualities. There are Hollywood films when you want to watch Hollywood type of films. There are French films when you want to watch French type of films. And so on. I also don’t see the point of some folks attacking Bollywood actors on their opinion on South films. Everyone is entitled to his/her opinion. People who follow Bollywood criticize Bolllywood as well. And how many give a damn if an actor from South criticizes Bollywood Better to discuss the film rather than irrelevant BS! Edited August 27 by zen Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted August 28 Share Posted August 28 (edited) 15 hours ago, zen said: I did not connect with the trailer so have avoided this film so far. Indian films should be watched for Indian qualities. There are Hollywood films when you want to watch Hollywood type of films. There are French films when you want to watch French type of films. And so on. I also don’t see the point of some folks attacking Bollywood actors on their opinion on South films. Everyone is entitled to his/her opinion. People who follow Bollywood criticize Bolllywood as well. And how many give a damn if an actor from South criticizes Bollywood Better to discuss the film rather than irrelevant BS! Yes, nobody says they are not entitled to their opinion. We are also entitled to judge them based on their opinions. On Topic, the movie is much better than the trailer. The story is weaved well across the dharmic history (Mahabharata) and fictional future. People may not like the future bits. It is what it is. It is good for people who don't go for VFX alone, but need to see some content and story as well. I posted this in the other thread: --- Kalki Hindi on Netflix. Not a bad watch , 3 *s only. Good action and story in general, VFX not Hollywoodish, but best so far in Indian movies with all Indian jugaad. Disapponted with Hindi dialogues. Sometimes it was cringe ultra max. They were almost like aadipurush level. They were devoid of any Sanskrit shlokas with so much references to Hindu scriptures. They deceived audiences on its take on Hindu philosophy and in their world in 2898, there is no Hinduism left. People were like Buddhists and there is no mention of Vishnu throughout the script. Kalki is like a Jesus-like characteer or a Neo (The Matrix) who delivers people out of their misery. It is not connected to Hinduism at all. . Botched up the Yuga math as well, yugas are not 6000 years apart. Except for Prabhas everyone acted well. Esp AB was super good, his best in recent times . Felt like slapping Prabhas at times got his over-acting. ------ Also, it follos the Indian TV and Film obsession with Karna being better than Arjuna. In the Vyasa bharata, Karna ia part of all crimes of Duryodhana and had to be dealt away on karmic ways. He was a vile character as well, not close to the Daanveer character weaved in Indian film stories. Edited August 28 by coffee_rules zen and singhvivek141 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
singhvivek141 Posted August 28 Share Posted August 28 8 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Yes, nobody says they are not entitled to their opinion. We are also entitled to judge them based on their opinions. On Topic, the movie is much better than the trailer. The story is weaved well across the dharmic history (Mahabharata) and fictional future. People may not like the future bits. It is what it is. It is good for people who don't go for VFX alone, but need to see some content and story as well. I posted this in the other thread: --- Kalki Hindi on Netflix. Not a bad watch , 3 *s only. Good action and story in general, VFX not Hollywoodish, but best so far in Indian movies with all Indian jugaad. Disapponted with Hindi dialogues. Sometimes it was cringe ultra max. They were almost like aadipurush level. They were devoid of any Sanskrit shlokas with so much references to Hindu scriptures. They deceived audiences on its take on Hindu philosophy and in their world in 2898, there is no Hinduism left. People were like Buddhists and there is no mention of Vishnu throughout the script. Kalki is like a Jesus-like characteer or a Neo (The Matrix) who delivers people out of their misery. It is not connected to Hinduism at all. . Botched up the Yuga math as well, yugas are not 6000 years apart. Except for Prabhas everyone acted well. Esp AB was super good, his best in recent times . Felt like slapping Prabhas at times got his over-acting. ------ Also, it follos the Indian TV and Film obsession with Karna being better than Arjuna. In the Vyasa bharata, Karna ia part of all crimes of Duryodhana and had to be dealt away on karmic ways. He was a vile character as well, not close to the Daanveer character weaved in Indian film stories. Yup, Karna was a great warrior. But he had his share of flaws as well, he has been the provocator to Duryodhan as mentioned in the Valmiki Ramayan. Even for the poor Eklavya, he too was fighting from the side of Kauravas and conducted many atrocities. Ami Ganatra has capture the Karna's antics in her book. Few more popular storylines like Draupadi saying "Andhe ka beta Andha" too never happened. coffee_rules 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted August 28 Share Posted August 28 4 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: Yup, Karna was a great warrior. But he had his share of flaws as well, he has been the provocator to Duryodhan as mentioned in the Valmiki Ramayan. Even for the poor Eklavya, he too was fighting from the side of Kauravas and conducted many atrocities. Ami Ganatra has capture the Karna's antics in her book. Few more popular storylines like Draupadi saying "Andhe ka beta Andha" too never happened. Yes, Karna and Eklavyya can be called a leftist delight - they can be perfectly exploited and used in the anti-UC and dalit atrocity litreture. Many of the missionaries have used it to set a narrative. There is an old Telugu movie - Daana Veers Shoora Karna where it is shown Draupadi even having her likeness for Karna and says she would have preferred him as a 6th husband (not exactly on those lines!) !! singhvivek141 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mishra Posted August 28 Share Posted August 28 Watched the movie. Liked the plot. 4/5. coffee_rules 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
singhvivek141 Posted August 28 Share Posted August 28 2 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Yes, Karna and Eklavyya can be called a leftist delight - they can be perfectly exploited and used in the anti-UC and dalit atrocity litreture. Many of the missionaries have used it to set a narrative. There is an old Telugu movie - Daana Veers Shoora Karna where it is shown Draupadi even having her likeness for Karna and says she would have preferred him as a 6th husband (not exactly on those lines!) !! Even in Hindi serials, there are shows like Maharathi Karna where he is shown as some legendary warrior who always followed the rule of Dharma and stuck to his friend no matter what. In reality, he was not much different than Duryodhan. coffee_rules and Lone Wolf 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singh bling Posted August 28 Share Posted August 28 4 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: Yup, Karna was a great warrior. But he had his share of flaws as well, he has been the provocator to Duryodhan as mentioned in the Valmiki Ramayan. Even for the poor Eklavya, he too was fighting from the side of Kauravas and conducted many atrocities. Ami Ganatra has capture the Karna's antics in her book. Few more popular storylines like Draupadi saying "Andhe ka beta Andha" too never happened. Valmiki Ramayana mein Karna Kahan se aa gaya Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Posted August 28 Share Posted August 28 On 7/9/2024 at 9:53 AM, Lone Wolf said: Aayein Watched the movie. Never knew I was from Odisha/Bihar To avoid Southie's rage, I must mentioned that I loved RRR and Bahubali singhvivek141, Lone Wolf and coffee_rules 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted August 28 Share Posted August 28 45 minutes ago, Singh bling said: Valmiki Ramayana mein Karna Kahan se aa gaya He means Vyasa Bharata - Samjha kar paaji.. singhvivek141 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted August 28 Share Posted August 28 46 minutes ago, Lord said: Watched the movie. Never knew I was from Odisha/Bihar To avoid Southie's rage, I must mentioned that I loved RRR and Bahubali Will call you Bihari babu from here on. What's there not to understand in this movie? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...