Favorite Decade of Bollywood (2024)

zen

00s surely.

Amir, SRK, Akshay Kumar, Hrithik at their peaks, even Selmon bhai came alive in the later half of the decade.

So many ATBBs and amazing films..Hera Pheri, Lagaan, Dil Chahta Hai, Gadar, TZP, RDB, Swades, Black, Omkara, Chak De India, 3 Idiots, MNIK... And the Emraan Hashmi-Himesh/KK combo of Bolly music bangers. Damn those were the days

2000s films that I can probably watch “now” are the Munnabhai ones and Rang De Basanti. 

Munnabhai 1 does a nice take on Patch Adams. I recall Boman Irani being quite good in it. Munmabhai 2 is about Gandhigiri. 

In Rang De Basanti, I like how they shows the characters being influenced by freedom fighters. The end at the radio station is memorable.

Anari (1959) 

An engaging film by Hrishikesh Mukerjee. Raj Kapoor & Nutan work well together. Lalita Pawar shines. Motilal acts sophisticatedly. The songs are memorable.

If I am not wrong, this was also the highest grossing film of 1959. 

A couple of the aspects that I like in Raj Kapoor films such as Shree 420 & Anari is that Bombay (or such a city) is shown nicely with its pros and cons, and the issues that are raised are still relevant today. Shree 420 talked about corruption and moral degradation. Anari touches upon the consequences of fake medicine.

Talking about issues, Chhaliya highlights how women can be treated unfairly. Jis Desh Mein Ganga Beheti Hai has the issues of society (including those associated with Dacoits) suffering due to criminals.  

19 hours ago, zen said:

Anari (1959) 

An engaging film by Hrishikesh Mukerjee. Raj Kapoor & Nutan work well together. Lalita Pawar shines. Motilal acts sophisticatedly. The songs are memorable.

If I am not wrong, this was also the highest grossing film of 1959. 

Namak Haram 1973.... One of my comfort movies.

Amitabh in a slightly negative character was solid.  Rajesh Khanna absolute show stealer :hatsoff:

1 minute ago, Lone Wolf said:

Namak Haram 1973.... One of my comfort movies.

Amitabh in a slightly negative character was solid.  Rajesh Khanna absolute show stealer :hatsoff:

Many (or even most) of Amitabh & Rajesh's films from the 70s have not aged as well as I would have liked. Namak Haram has aged relatively better. 

Rajesh Khanna shines. Amitabh's acting would have been "fresh" when the film was released but now it may appear as a monotonous "angry man" performance. 

New Delhi (1956)

I picked this randomly as it had Kishore Kumar and Vyjantimala, expecting it to be a good comedy. 

And indeed, it turned out to be an excellent comedy, along with some dose of drama, with shades of Gol Maal (1979) in it.

New Delhi, the city, is nicely portrayed. Those were the days of less traffic!  … Jabeen Jalil does a good job as Kishore Kumar’s naughty sister.

PS It also has the song “Nakhrewali”. 

Talking about the 50s, some notable films for it:

• Raj Kapoor: Awara, Shree 420, Jagte Raho, Anari, ...
  • Dilip Kumar: Aan, Devdas, Naya Daur, Madhumati, ...
  • Dev Anand: Taxi Driver, Paying Guest, Nau Do Gyarah, ...
  • Others: New Delhi, Chalti Ka Naam Gadi, Mother India, Tum Sa Nahin Dekha, Pyassa, Dil Deke Dekho, Dilli Ka Thug, ...

PS As for the 40s, at the moment, I can only think of two films that would interest me "now". Both were released in 1949 -> Barsaat (Raj Kapoor & Nargis) and Mahal (Ashok Kumar & Madhubala). 

On 6/18/2024 at 9:16 PM, zen said:

Looking at films directed by Manmohan Desai and Yash Chopra, I won't be surprised if their best work was in the 60s.

MMD

Now it is difficult to watch most of his "lost and found" and multi-starrer films. When I went through AB's movies some time back, those films did not click with me as much as I had hoped. On the other hand, Chhaliya (1960) & Bluff Master (1963) felt like fresh air. Chhaliya is a serious film where MMD resisted the temptation to insert unnecessary comedy, which he would in a masala film. Bluff Master was a terrific comedy. It is among the films that grabbed my attention from start to finish. Of his 70s work, I probably like Aa Gale Lag Ja (1973), which is again not a multi-starrer, the best. 

YC

Waqt (1965) remains a superb watch esp. for Raaj Kumar. He was awarded the best supporting actor Filmfare award when he carried the film on his back. Should have been seen as the main actor. Sunil Dutt was in it so maybe seen as the lead but he looked odd paired with a young Sadhna esp. in the swimming costume scene. His meaningful part is at the end where he fights Raaj Kumar's case. As I said, I did a run of AB's films some time back and was excited for Deewar (1975) but it has again not aged as well as I would have liked esp. the non-AB parts. 

Raaj Kumar was awesome in Waqt! That scene where he suddenly breaks the glass to warn Chenoy Seth was quite memorable.  Shashi Kapoor looks so young and cute. Balraj Sahni was also good, as expected. Sunil Dutt was nothing special in the movie, just fooling around mostly. 

I too like the 60s. Colour movies, the best set of actors at their peak or not far from it, classy, timeless dressing which wouldn't look out of place today unlike the bell bottom and hippie hair cut infested 70s. 

6 minutes ago, nevada said:

Raaj Kumar was awesome in Waqt! That scene where he suddenly breaks the glass to warn Chenoy Seth was quite memorable.  Shashi Kapoor looks so young and cute. Balraj Sahni was also good, as expected. Sunil Dutt was nothing special in the movie, just fooling around mostly. 

Also the knife scene with Madan Puri - “yeh bachoon ke khelne ki chiz nahin, lag jata hai toh khoon nikal atta hai” (from memory so may not be his exact words)!

9 minutes ago, zen said:

Also the knife scene with Madan Puri - “yeh bachoon ke khelne ki chiz nahin, lag jata hai toh khoon nikal atta hai” (from memory so may not be his exact words)!

Yeah, that's a cool scene too! There's a similar scene in a Dev Anand black and white movie. A goon tried to threaten Dev, who twists the goon's arm behind his back and asks if he needs any further proof of his strength. A classy show of the hero's fighting prowess without resorting to the usual dishum dishum scenes of later years! 

1 minute ago, nevada said:

Yeah, that's a cool scene too! There's a similar scene in a Dev Anand black and white movie. A goon tried to threaten Dev, who twists the goon's arm behind his back and asks if he needs any further proof of his strength. A classy show of the hero's fighting prowess without resorting to the usual dishum dishum scenes of later years! 

Was that Kala Bazar where he has a fight with Madan Puri? Excellent film. 

Talking about Waqt. The locations/sets are nicely done too giving it a rich feel unlike the “basti” backdrop that we get to see in many films. 

The basti/mohalla backdrop mostly looks distracting in color. In B&W, it works better and can also appear poetic if done properly.

2 minutes ago, zen said:

Was that Kala Bazar where he has a fight with Madan Puri? Excellent film. 

Talking about Waqt. The locations/sets are nicely done too giving it a rich feel unlike the “basti” backdrop that we get to see in many films. 

The basti/mohalla backdrop mostly looks distracting in color. In B&W, it works better and can also appear poetic if done properly.

Don't remember exactly. Maybe it was Kala Bazar or Gambler. Agree about Waqt - it's a visually rich movie.

Just now, nevada said:

Don't remember exactly. Maybe it was Kala Bazar or Gambler. Agree about Waqt - it's a visually rich movie.

Kala Bazar most likely. Gambler was released in the 70s and was shot in color. 

While the 70s suffered from dated dhisum-dhisum (a new trend then), score, and rehashed multi-starrer storylines, along with forgettable fashion, it had many notable films too.

I won't be surprised if Hrishikesh Mukerjee's films continue to remain relatively fresh - Anand, Abhimaan, Namak Haram, Chupke Chupke, and Gol Maal. 

Other films that can probably still be enjoyed now include Johny Mera Naam, Gopi (for Dilip Kumar's acting), Kati Patang, Pakeejah, Zanjeer, Yaadon Ki Baarat, Aa Gale Lag Ja, Sholay, & Don (cool background score), along with Feroz Khan directed films for “style and locations” such as Apradh & Dharmatma.  

Kati Patang (1971) 

While waiting for the T20 final to begin, I decided to revisit Kati Patang. It is based on Gulshan Nanda's book. Nanda pens the screenplay as well.

Nanda's book is said to be based on the novel I Married a Dead Man (1948), which was adapted into a film - No Man of Her Own (1950). In 1983, Kati Patang was remade as Bade Dil Wala (1983) with Rishi Kapoor playing the Asha Parekh role (the character's gender changed). This appears to have been a popular story with filmmakers. 

Asha Parekh carries the film on her shoulders. She won the Filmfare for Best Actress. Rajesh Khanna works well in songs.

Overall, the film is good but when the songs kick in, it rises a few notches to feel like a great film. Speaking of songs, most of them are memorable. The acting in songs by both Asha and Rajesh is quite good.

Below is one of the songs, if anyone knows its "raga", let me know:

Meri Zindagi Hai Kya Ek Kati Patang Hai

Btw, I watched Abhimaan (1973), which is a good film too, after watching Kati Patang. And this made me appreciate Kati Patang even more. Kati Patang’s songs and the situations that lead to the songs are superb.

The background score is, by and large, the instrumental version of songs, which elevates the experience. I particularly liked the score based on “na koi umang hai” song. When that kicks in, it grabs your attention. 

The film is not perfect and can take some time to get going. But once it gets going, I.e. when Asha lands in Nanital, it gives blockbuster vibes. Talking about Nanital, it is beautifully captured esp. in the song “Jis Gali Mein Tera Ghar”. 

On 6/24/2024 at 2:51 PM, singhvivek141 said:

What do you think of the below movies, should they be remade ?

1. Patthar ke Sanam

Patthar Ke Sanam (1967)

A good film where the first 2/3rd is devoted to comedy, romance, etc, while the last 1/3rd is for drama/tension and tying the loose ends. It has very good songs too. 

The star cast is excellent with Manoj Kumar, Waheeda Rehman, Mumtaz, Mehmood, and Pran (“Thik hai na thik”). 

On the question, should this be remade? It can be but I would not recommend that as this film is still good enough! 

Amir Garib (1974)

This is a timepass film, neither excellent nor bad. It is among the hit films that Dev Anand gave in the 70s. 

I am mentioning this because it appears as the script is designed to include many of the things that Dev Anand likes (Dev Anand must have felt like he is in a toy shop full of his favorite toys) - wear colorful clothes, sing a qwali song,  give a lecture in the court, etc. On top of that he gets to play Robinhood (Bagla Bhagat) and also practice hypnotism:

This one is mostly for Dev Anand fans!