G_B_ Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 3 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: I just checked the latest stat (2024). California's GDP is more than India's GDP That california gdp is worth ****. Things are so expensive that in ppp terms the typical texan is much richer. 50k in houston is worth more than 150k in most cities in CA. I laugh when people living in bay area boast of 200k salaries. Secondly california and new york disproportionately benefit from companies being headquartered there. For example, the irish gdp is abnormally high due to being a tax haven to companies in the EU. Not a wise idea to compare a sub unit to a country ravishingravi 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 26 minutes ago, G_B_ said: That california gdp is worth ****. Things are so expensive that in ppp terms the typical texan is much richer. 50k in houston is worth more than 150k in most cities in CA. I laugh when people living in bay area boast of 200k salaries. Secondly california and new york disproportionately benefit from companies being headquartered there. For example, the irish gdp is abnormally high due to being a tax haven to companies in the EU. Not a wise idea to compare a sub unit to a country Things are not expensive in India? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 2 minutes ago, jigjig said: Things are not expensive in India? Except for raw meat and restaurant food, things are nowhere as expensive in India as in western nations. Chaos 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 (edited) 1 minute ago, Muloghonto said: Except for raw meat and restaurant food, things are nowhere as expensive in India as in western nations. For the same standard of living India is more expensive. This is my experience Edited October 31 by jigjig kepler37b 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 One pays 4 - 6 months of salary in India for 0 returns..they call it tax here Stan AF 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 30 minutes ago, G_B_ said: That california gdp is worth ****. Things are so expensive that in ppp terms the typical texan is much richer. 50k in houston is worth more than 150k in most cities in CA. I laugh when people living in bay area boast of 200k salaries. Secondly california and new york disproportionately benefit from companies being headquartered there. For example, the irish gdp is abnormally high due to being a tax haven to companies in the EU. Not a wise idea to compare a sub unit to a country If 50% of Silicon valley moves away from California, California's GDP would drop by 30%. California is one of the poorest states in USA by living standards. One of the lowest disposable income levels, one of the lowest home ownership levels, one of the highest unemployment rates in the nation. California basically gets to inflate its economy absurdly, like mumbai does, simply due to corporate headquarters recording their corporate profits in California. The richer states in USA arent california, New York or Washington, they are states like North Carolina, texas, arizona, georgia etc - where properties are LITERALLY 2-4 times cheaper, cost of living is 50% less, while you only end up making 10-15% less as actual income ( take away the corporate income that gets added to the GDPs of states, because that 'per capita' contribution from corporate income means jack diddly squat to people- not even a person gets to see that money, its simple corporate income that a corporate entity made). The houses in bay area that are 2 million USD are literally the same house in houston or charlotte is like 200-300K. When properties and rent are so vastly different, it matters more than whether compay x is paying you 150K/yr or 120K/yr. The biggest mistake people make, particularly desi people, is go crazy at the 'tankhwa kitna' angle, completely ignoring the 'mehngai kitni'. In Cali, if you take home 6-7,000 per month, you are spending AT LEAST 4000-5000 just for rent+car+food. That bill, in Dallas or Houson or Raleigh or atlanta is like 2000-3000. Makes a big difference actually. Same story in Canada. Met so many desis over the years who are so proud to be from 'muh t-dot, the centre of the universe, toronto powwaaa' and gleefully brag how they make 20-25K/yr more than even Albertans do in alberta but forget that his T-dot life is about 2.5-3x more expensive than same life in Calgary or Montreal. mishra, G_B_ and ravishingravi 2 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 9 minutes ago, jigjig said: For the same standard of living India is more expensive. This is my experience You must've failed math or come from Doon School kind of background if you think that. Even Mumbai is way cheaper to live in than San Fran in real dollar value. The only thing in India, that isnt 3-4 times cheaper than in murrica are fuel and meat/fish. They are the same price. Rest, everything is 3-10 times cheaper. India is also actually nicer/cheaper for poorer people to live in than USA, since USAis absolute dog-**** when it comes to transit ( buses/trains etc) and India does better at this than even Canada for most part, as only Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver can compare to even tier-B cities in India for person without car getting around city. All other Canadian cities, even big ones like Edmonton & Calgary or Regina,you are screwed if you dont have a vehicle. I am not talking about 2 hr commute time, i am talking about just not able to get to point A coz there are no buses/trains within 10km of it, period. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 11 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: You must've failed math or come from Doon School kind of background if you think that. Even Mumbai is way cheaper to live in than San Fran in real dollar value. The only thing in India, that isnt 3-4 times cheaper than in murrica are fuel and meat/fish. They are the same price. Rest, everything is 3-10 times cheaper. India is also actually nicer/cheaper for poorer people to live in than USA, since USAis absolute dog-**** when it comes to transit ( buses/trains etc) and India does better at this than even Canada for most part, as only Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver can compare to even tier-B cities in India for person without car getting around city. All other Canadian cities, even big ones like Edmonton & Calgary or Regina,you are screwed if you dont have a vehicle. I am not talking about 2 hr commute time, i am talking about just not able to get to point A coz there are no buses/trains within 10km of it, period. Come and stay buddy. Buy a house in Mumbai or Gurgaon. Then let's also have a maths quiz. You have no chance kepler37b 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ravishingravi Posted October 31 Author Share Posted October 31 Muloghonto 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ravishingravi Posted October 31 Author Share Posted October 31 4 minutes ago, jigjig said: Come and stay buddy. Buy a house in Mumbai or Gurgaon. Then let's also have a maths quiz. You have no chance I am from Mumbai. And I can tell you that there is no comparison. However Mumbai is bad outlier in terms of real estate only. So if one views real estate in isolation, then maybe it is in the same league as California or new york relatively speaking. However, that's real estate in one city of Mumbai. Average savings for same salary as US and India is atleast 3-4x better with better accessible healthcare and house help but not great parks of great air quality. That's the trade off. Not on tangibles but on intangibles. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 3 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: I am from Mumbai. And I can tell you that there is no comparison. However Mumbai is bad outlier in terms of real estate only. So if one views real estate in isolation, then maybe it is in the same league as California or new york relatively speaking. However, that's real estate in one city of Mumbai. Average savings for same salary as US and India is atleast 3-4x better with better accessible healthcare and house help but not great parks of great air quality. That's the trade off. Not on tangibles but on intangibles. Air quality, horrible roads , traffic jams, mentally stress, dealing with govt babus. Every simple transaction here can suck your blood out and have long term impact on your health. This is not a cash only calculation. The intangibles will have a monetary impact too. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ravishingravi Posted October 31 Author Share Posted October 31 (edited) 10 minutes ago, jigjig said: Air quality, horrible roads , traffic jams, mentally stress, dealing with govt babus. Every simple transaction here can suck your blood out and have long term impact on your health. This is not a cash only calculation. The intangibles will have a monetary impact too. I totally agree but intangibles work both way and depend on what deal you are getting. I know because I have done that deal with all these considerations. Put other things in the mix besides money. Proximity to work place, proximity to family, job / hobby opportunities, work life balance, social life vs isolation, cultural connect to nation, experiences of racism / discrimination etc. In my experience, people take too much generic view in their evaluation. It has to be individual's story, his choices and specific opportunities that he is getting. Edited October 31 by ravishingravi Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 Just now, ravishingravi said: I totally agree but intangibles work both way and depend on what deal you are getting. I know because I have done that deal with all these comsiderations. Put other things in the mix besides money. Proximity to work place, proximity to family, job / hobby opportunities, work life balance, social life vs isolation. In my experience, people take too much generic view in their evaluation. It has to be individual's story, his choices and specific opportunities that he is getting. Agree. Mostly about individual choices and existing financial status. Starting from scratch, I believe US works out cheaper for roti, kapda and especially makaan. ravishingravi 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 33 minutes ago, jigjig said: Come and stay buddy. Buy a house in Mumbai or Gurgaon. Then let's also have a maths quiz. You have no chance did exactly that in 2022. which is why i said what i said. If you wanna compare Mumbai or Gurgaon to entire california, then yes, entire california is mucho more expensive to live in. Because services are so much more expensive in murrica along with cost of food in general. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ravishingravi Posted October 31 Author Share Posted October 31 14 minutes ago, jigjig said: Agree. Mostly about individual choices and existing financial status. Starting from scratch, I believe US works out cheaper for roti, kapda and especially makaan. Maybe for a fresher, yes. But then one also has to consider stream, his caliber and amount of student loan he has on him. For me, he has to earn atleast 4-5 times more in NY or California to save the same amount of money as in any urban City in India. But compared to 5-10 years back, I see complete change in mindset. 20 years back there were no trade offs practically. Now there are clear trade offs and balance is tilting. One thing is for sure. Blanket vanilla decision of the past doesn't hold true anymore. That's why atleast I see many Indians constantly pondering about their options. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vvvslaxman Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: That california gdp is worth ****. Things are so expensive that in ppp terms the typical texan is much richer. 50k in houston is worth more than 150k in most cities in CA. I laugh when people living in bay area boast of 200k salaries. Secondly california and new york disproportionately benefit from companies being headquartered there. For example, the irish gdp is abnormally high due to being a tax haven to companies in the EU. Not a wise idea to compare a sub unit to a country The kind of house i own here would cost me a fortune in India. jigjig and Stan AF 1 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ravishingravi Posted October 31 Author Share Posted October 31 Funny as hell. Hope he gets elected just 4 more years of entertainment Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
diga Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 Reading that some states dont require any ID to vote... what a joke? Can someone vote twice? ravishingravi 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ravishingravi Posted October 31 Author Share Posted October 31 @randomGuy Markit kya bolta hai. Will FII pull in money if Trump wins ? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kepler37b Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 11 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: Dude California is enough for USA. Their GDP is 3.3 Trillion which is significantly higher than vast majority of the country. As a comparison INdia's GDP is 3.95 trillion in 2022. This is like saying independent south india will be like Singapore. California does draw it's advantages being in the Union. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...