randomGuy Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 1 hour ago, ravishingravi said: @randomGuy Markit kya bolta hai. Will FII pull in money if Trump wins ? Trump jeeta to expensive market ko ultra expensive bana denge for some time..waise these days (from past 2-3 yrs), domestic money has more significance. FII is less significant. FII holding has been going down. ravishingravi 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kepler37b Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 16 hours ago, ravishingravi said: Art and science didn't exist before US. Okay. It will be a temporary blip. For atleast a century. Imagine the state of western Europe when rome collapsed. I am bearish on india, unless hindutva increases 10x and shuts up regional/caste kangers. I am not so sure about China. The picture is much more rosier than reality. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kepler37b Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 16 hours ago, Muloghonto said: No, it wont. Just like end of UK didnt signal end of art and science and net loss because USA replaced it, so too, USA will be replaced by India and China. It will be a temporary and prolonged blip. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kepler37b Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 8 hours ago, jigjig said: One pays 4 - 6 months of salary in India for 0 returns..they call it tax here India is a paradox. If you plan to live like a slum dweller, it is extremely cheap. The middle class life becomes pretty expensive, as the govt taxes the crap out of this tiny minority to fund the unproductive farmers/masses/Baboo(ons) jigjig 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
G_B_ Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 Re things in India being expensive. It misses the point. I am comparing Houston and California cities within the USA. That is, within one political sub unit. The internal purchase parity of the state of Texas is much higher than California. Just as the internal purchase parity of Indore will be much higher than Mumbai or Delhi. Within India Chandigrah , Delhi , Karnataka , Maharashtra GDP is boosted by companies being headquartered in cities within the state but conducting business all over India. This boost is made much worse in the case of California given you have the tech giants headquartered there (even if not for tax purposes) who do business globally. The California GDP is artificially boosted by upto 30% due to this phenomenon. The Bank of Japan has been known to supress its currency (thereby reducing the GDP) which has been also followed by China. The true GDP if they dont control their currencies in $ terms will be much higher. China would be a $24 trillion economy if they lift their peg to the USD. ravishingravi 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kepler37b Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 8 hours ago, jigjig said: Air quality, horrible roads , traffic jams, mentally stress, dealing with govt babus. Every simple transaction here can suck your blood out and have long term impact on your health. This is not a cash only calculation. The intangibles will have a monetary impact too. Agreed. I live in hyd and can see these daily stressors. For starters, I request folks to build an independent house in a tier 2 town. The selfishness, corruption, laziness and skill deficiency of our populace are on full display. The green carded folks can simply throw dollars and ride over the cracks of our system. For humble persons earning in rupees it has become a nightmare. My building contractor and the local Babu colluded and misguided me into paying big bribes that are not really required. jigjig 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
G_B_ Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 Intangibles work both ways. In India you are close to your relatives etc. I see a new phenomenon of elderly parents passing away alone as kids are overseas. The kids are destroyed with guilt. Grandchildren who barely know their grandparents. The west you dont have cleaning/cooking maid etc. Do everything on your own. The trade off as many say is high pollution, bad physical infra (digital infra is pretty good from what I can see) more stress in the job. I am not based in India btw. ravishingravi and diga 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ravishingravi Posted October 31 Author Share Posted October 31 25 minutes ago, kepler37b said: It will be a temporary blip. For atleast a century. Imagine the state of western Europe when rome collapsed. I am bearish on india, unless hindutva increases 10x and shuts up regional/caste kangers. I am not so sure about China. The picture is much more rosier than reality. There would be no blip. America is in decadence. We are suffering from Ray Dalio called bias towards history. In our life time, US was the pole position for global order and pop culture. But 100 years back that was not the case. Either ways, I dont want them to collapse. But they have to get levelled. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
G_B_ Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 I am curious to see what happens if electric adoption becomes full scale in the coming decades. If you look at exports, oil and natural gas are number 1 tangible exports of the USA. This industry also gives support to auxillary chemical industries etc This is based on the USA natural resources. But most big countries have tangible renewable resources. India has solar potential which can power the whole planet. But there are huge barriers to implementation (which are reducing by the year). The other plank of American strength is built on the adpoption of the dollar for trade (finance) and software/electronic design. https://www.ibisworld.com/united-states/industry-trends/biggest-exporting-industries/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BacktoCricaddict Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 53 minutes ago, G_B_ said: The west you dont have cleaning/cooking maid etc. Do everything on your own. To me, this is a point in favor of life in the US (at least where I live). I was always extremely uncomfortable in India telling other people to do stuff that I could do myself - like washing clothes and dishes. Growing up, my father trained me to wash my own clothes on the wash-stone and iron them myself. Having the ability and resources to cook, clean and do yard-work by myself as long as I am physically able to do so is a huge plus. Of course, I am not allowed to do electrical or plumbing work because I would probably cause a fire or flood in the house :-). diga, randomGuy and vvvslaxman 2 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
G_B_ Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 29 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said: To me, this is a point in favor of life in the US (at least where I live). I was always extremely uncomfortable in India telling other people to do stuff that I could do myself - like washing clothes and dishes. Growing up, my father trained me to wash my own clothes on the wash-stone and iron them myself. Having the ability and resources to cook, clean and do yard-work by myself as long as I am physically able to do so is a huge plus. Of course, I am not allowed to do electrical or plumbing work because I would probably cause a fire or flood in the house :-). I tend to agree with that. The western approach forces life skills. Living alone during university trained me with a lot of life skills. Cooking and cleaning was 100% in that skill set. My cooking is functional but it ensures I am self sufficient for nutrition. I also put in 3 hours a week on the garden/house keeping it clean. So roughly 10-20 hours outside work, cooking -cleaning groceries etc my wife and I put in. If we were to call help on a regular basis etc it would cost us GBP 10k-15k a year for cooking and cleaning. Issue however, is the white collar workforce is globally competitive. I would rather hire an Indian who can work 10 hours more in a week than a western person. This Indian person can do so because they are not bogged down by household chores (or even childcare). Its not just us, my peers in Shanghai even log in for a 10pm meeting (their time). Most tell me that childcare is a grandparents responsibility. This is why they can continue with an early 20s work ethic at 35+. Its an interesting tidbit. When we were house hunting in London, most Indian homes were in terrible shape in terms of decor and how clean the house was. These were upper middle class professionals owning the homes. You compare that to the middle middle class or upper middle class in Mumbai whose homes were smaller but spotless (despite Mumbai generating more dust), it was a real eye opener. The white homes were clean but it was like the kitchen was not in use. Indians abroad tend to save money on eating out and focus on cooking. White people eat out more or are ok with fixed food like sandwiches and use their time for cleaning. ravishingravi and diga 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kepler37b Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 (edited) 1 hour ago, ravishingravi said: There would be no blip. America is in decadence. We are suffering from Ray Dalio called bias towards history. In our life time, US was the pole position for global order and pop culture. But 100 years back that was not the case. Either ways, I dont want them to collapse. But they have to get levelled. Civilizations are cyclical. West will fall one day. But it is atleast a century away. Edited October 31 by kepler37b Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jigjig Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 23 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Civilizations are cyclical. West will fall one day. But it is atleast a century away. Dollar stays good for next 4 decades? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vvvslaxman Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 All said and done one of the most sought after destination is USA for Indians, Over 1000 undocumented Indians were deporter prior to election. Most disturbing thing happened few years back. A family illegally tried to enter into USA during winter drowned with a child. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
G_B_ Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 1000 deported for a country of 1.45 billion is nothing really. Controlling for population USA has deported far more vietnamese and chinese than Indians. I am reminded of p-value signifiance and effect size. This is certainly not like Honduras and Gautemala in which huge % of the pop is migrating to the USA illegally. In general China and Vietnam send more of their pop illegally in % than India. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kepler37b Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 5 minutes ago, jigjig said: Dollar stays good for next 4 decades? It will gradually wane. But chinks have lot to cover Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vvvslaxman Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 Just now, G_B_ said: 1000 deported for a country of 1.45 billion is nothing really. Controlling for population USA has deported far more vietnamese and chinese than Indians. I am reminded of p-value signifiance and effect size. Bottomline is this is still one of the most preferred place for INdians to move other than UAE. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
G_B_ Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 Just now, vvvslaxman said: Bottomline is this is still one of the most preferred place for INdians to move other than UAE. considering the size of the country its not surprising. Controlling for land mass and residual population probably more Indians end up in the gulf or even Canada/UK/Australia. Once again I am reminded of effect sizes. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ravishingravi Posted October 31 Author Share Posted October 31 (edited) 12 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Bottomline is this is still one of the most preferred place for INdians to move other than UAE. That's jumping the gun. Tomorrow Russian visa opens up, Indians will be lining up there. 100,000 Indians applied for Israel construction jobs. There are nurses in Syria and Iraq as we speak. With average nominal GDP of $ 2500 per capita ( $10,000 PPP ) and population of 1.4 bn, many Indians will head anywhere for the extra buck and better life. It is also true that many of them are fooled and trapped by agencies. This is not the population segment under discussion in this thread. Edited October 31 by ravishingravi Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vvvslaxman Posted October 31 Share Posted October 31 2 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: That's jumping the gun. Tomorrow Russian visa opens up, Indians will be lining up there. 100,000 Indians applied for Israel construction jobs. There are nurses in Syria and Iraq as we speak. With average nominal GDP of $ 2500 per capita ( $10,000 PPP ) and population of 1.4 bn, many Indians will head anywhere for the extra buck and better life. It is also true that many of them are fooled and trapped by agencies. This is not the population segment under discussion in this thread. USA is still the top country to settle down when you consider the life style, freedom, income, growth, opportunity. Nobody lines up to settle down in CHina. coffee_rules and jigjig 1 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...