Jump to content

SKYs Catch


Recommended Posts

Just now, vvvslaxman said:

He can take whole year for that review lol If that skirting is unmoved that is a legit catch. This is a legit catch.

there's two issues here. one the umpire deciding a WC final on the worst possible angle, which was my first reaction at the time. second, i'm afraid the rope does look like it moved.

Link to comment
Just now, goose said:

there's two issues here. one the umpire deciding a WC final on the worst possible angle, which was my first reaction at the time. second, i'm afraid the rope does look like it moved.

 

There is no angle going to be good  Optical illusion will fool you. That is why they use skirt movement as an indicator.

Link to comment

The video linked in the wisden page ..there was a flicker..which could happen if there is vibration from the feet...it definitely moved but that does not make the catch illegitimate .catch becomes a 6 if his feet touched...which is not clear.

Link to comment
23 minutes ago, Laaloo said:

Yeah he's transferring the ball from left to his right hand


Are u sure he’s touching the rope. Because with this video and angle you can’t prove it. 

After watching the live footage ..


1: the live footage was the only one that showed the overhead shot. There was quite a large gap between his foot and the rope when he first caught the ball. In the slow motion link shared here, even that looks close but it’s not.

 

2: There was absolutely no movement of the rope that can be visualized both live and in slow motion. Furthermore. the position of the rope stayed the same even after releasing the ball. 

 

Hence definitely can’t be proved that he touched the rope. 

Link to comment
7 minutes ago, MK55 said:


Are u sure he’s touching the rope. Because with this video and angle you can’t prove it. 

After watching the live footage ..


1: the live footage was the only one that showed the overhead shot. There was quite a large gap between his foot and the rope when he first caught the ball. In the slow motion link shared here, even that looks close but it’s not.

 

2: There was absolutely no movement of the rope that can be visualized both live and in slow motion. Furthermore. the position of the rope stayed the same even after releasing the ball. 

 

Hence definitely can’t be proved that he touched the rope. 

Exactly with the momentum he  had  would have definitely moved the rope massively if he had even slightly touched.  

Link to comment
6 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Arrey, there is no movement, you see the reflect of the foot in the hoarding and in that angle you can’t frucking prove 100% , stfu and enjoy the win

Already enjoyed it. Would have enjoyed it more without this tainted sh1t.

Link to comment

It was a clean catch. No evidence to challenge this. Countless such catches have taken place in T20 leagues around the World and the general rules applied in all are the same. Unless there is clear evidence of fielder having touched the rope, such decisions are always given as OUT, which was the case here as well.

Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...