Next generation t20 players

1 hour ago, tapandrun said:

Gill is the highest run getter of the series, got two 50s and he was not the player of the match or player of the series.

His contributions in winning is not considers as worthy of player of the match, player with SR of 125 against Zim.

Think he is a worse kind of stat-padder, looking around other teams and what kind of new players they are trying to bring in, do not see any other team having same kind/mould of player as Gill - Who is Aus's Gill, Who is Eng's, Who is NZ's Gill, Who is WI's Gill, Who is SA's Gill ??,  is Ind team seriously looking away from stat-padder or just yet another new bread of  T20 accumulators.

Looking at his approach in batting and how he captained the team looks like he bad copy of Babar.

He will be a Babar with lower avg. and some what better SR against lower ranked teams.

Check the responses under his latest tweet. He is getting ripped to shreds.  He has the worst strike rate among Indians

55 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Check the responses under his latest tweet. He is getting ripped to shreds.  He has the worst strike rate among Indians

He thinks very high of himself

Very soon will get a reality check,he's noway as talented or hungry or marketable guy like Kohli who was when he was Gills age

Selectors and coaches must hold him by collar then and ask him to play unselfishly

14 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said:

His stat-padding was clear against NZ in WC 2023 when he was playing for his 100 and got out trying to get to his 100. Same with couple of other matches where he was refusing singles and trying to get to 100. Yes, he's a stat-padder and prioritizes personal milestones just like KL Rahul. Rohit has moved on from this mentality since WC 2023 and is more of a team player. His transformation has been amazing and even though his fitness is not what it used to be, his intent cannot be questioned.

Kohli has done a lot in T20s and nobody denied that. But that time was between 2012 - 2016. But he never changed his game and has been a misfit. All of his best innings came while chasing a middling score of 150-160 - against Aus in 2016 and Pak in WT2022. But if he bats long India invariably scores a below par total as we see in IPL consistently and in other T20I matches. Case in point WT2022 SF where on a patta against Eng he scored his usual 40 ball 50 and India ended up with a below par total. Rohit was guilty as well with his 28 ball 27. But credit to Rohit for revamping his game and changing his approach since then with WC2023 and the current WT20. He may not have too many personal milestones in 50s & 100s but he created the impact the team required. But Khli has still been the same.

What has infuriated a lot of cricket fans is that instead of helping youngsters and being a team player similar to what Rohit has done, Kohli selfishly took the opening spot when he is clearly not fit for it. Kohli's game is not going after bowling in PP and maximize the PP. He succeeds when he takes his time, and bats through the innings for a 160-170 type total. Somebody like Jaiswal was a much better fit for an opener even if Abhishek was deemed surplus to requirements. But an over the hill Kohli didn't care much and continued to bat as an opener with Jaiswal riding the bench despite being a much better T20 opener. This selfishness is the reason he gets called out for. He undermined the team and put his personal interests ahead of the team's interests.

Even his innings in the final resulted in us scoring a below-par total with 170 odd. And even that was thanks to Axar and Dube while Kohli was busy stat-padding to another 50 - this time taking up a criminal 48 deliveries. This is even slow for modern ODIs. We won the final because of miracle man Bumrah who put up a show for the ages along with Pandya, and an out of the world catch by SKY but it was clear we were around 15-20 runs short. And that was Kohli. We get it that he had to bat slowly but he was 15 off 6 when we lost the early wkts and from there he crawled along to score a further 35 runs off 42 deliveries. Yes, for 12 overs in between he couldn't even score a boundary and crawled to his 50. And when he reached his personal milestone he again started attacking. Shows he was crawling to get to his 50. As a result someone like Pandya could only face 2 deliveries! Kohli has been a selfish batsman and one of the reasons we've under-performed for more than a decade. As the mainstay of our batting lineup he has barely played an impactful innings and then blamed luck, bad 30 mins, an off day, or bowlers. Even this WT20 would've been the same but for Bumrah's intervention. The MOM given to him was more of a joke as all the smart stats showed he was outperformed by Bumrah and Pandya but of course the "King" had to have his award so he could ride into the sunset.

18 hours ago, Adamant said:

The amount of times Pandya has taken us from 40 to 190 in t20s is actually zero and this includes bilaterals.

How does the janta  here has the audacity to even suggest that is beyond me.

But I know these are rabid haters and not cricket fans, some of them might be fans but again their iq is too low.

Reply to this if you have the capability, i have read you word salad too many times

14 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said:

His stat-padding was clear against NZ in WC 2023 when he was playing for his 100 and got out trying to get to his 100. Same with couple of other matches where he was refusing singles and trying to get to 100. Yes, he's a stat-padder and prioritizes personal milestones just like KL Rahul. Rohit has moved on from this mentality since WC 2023 and is more of a team player. His transformation has been amazing and even though his fitness is not what it used to be, his intent cannot be questioned.

Kohli has done a lot in T20s and nobody denied that. But that time was between 2012 - 2016. But he never changed his game and has been a misfit. All of his best innings came while chasing a middling score of 150-160 - against Aus in 2016 and Pak in WT2022. But if he bats long India invariably scores a below par total as we see in IPL consistently and in other T20I matches. Case in point WT2022 SF where on a patta against Eng he scored his usual 40 ball 50 and India ended up with a below par total. Rohit was guilty as well with his 28 ball 27. But credit to Rohit for revamping his game and changing his approach since then with WC2023 and the current WT20. He may not have too many personal milestones in 50s & 100s but he created the impact the team required. But Khli has still been the same.

What has infuriated a lot of cricket fans is that instead of helping youngsters and being a team player similar to what Rohit has done, Kohli selfishly took the opening spot when he is clearly not fit for it. Kohli's game is not going after bowling in PP and maximize the PP. He succeeds when he takes his time, and bats through the innings for a 160-170 type total. Somebody like Jaiswal was a much better fit for an opener even if Abhishek was deemed surplus to requirements. But an over the hill Kohli didn't care much and continued to bat as an opener with Jaiswal riding the bench despite being a much better T20 opener. This selfishness is the reason he gets called out for. He undermined the team and put his personal interests ahead of the team's interests.

Even his innings in the final resulted in us scoring a below-par total with 170 odd. And even that was thanks to Axar and Dube while Kohli was busy stat-padding to another 50 - this time taking up a criminal 48 deliveries. This is even slow for modern ODIs. We won the final because of miracle man Bumrah who put up a show for the ages along with Pandya, and an out of the world catch by SKY but it was clear we were around 15-20 runs short. And that was Kohli. We get it that he had to bat slowly but he was 15 off 6 when we lost the early wkts and from there he crawled along to score a further 35 runs off 42 deliveries. Yes, for 12 overs in between he couldn't even score a boundary and crawled to his 50. And when he reached his personal milestone he again started attacking. Shows he was crawling to get to his 50. As a result someone like Pandya could only face 2 deliveries! Kohli has been a selfish batsman and one of the reasons we've under-performed for more than a decade. As the mainstay of our batting lineup he has barely played an impactful innings and then blamed luck, bad 30 mins, an off day, or bowlers. Even this WT20 would've been the same but for Bumrah's intervention. The MOM given to him was more of a joke as all the smart stats showed he was outperformed by Bumrah and Pandya but of course the "King" had to have his award so he could ride into the sunset.

How did his stat padding against NZ cost us the games, we were winning matches after matches, he won us the match vs Aus.

Even if he wanted to score a hundred against Nz in group stage how did that cost you? He chased that total down, he won us the fkin match and deserves credit for that. How is that taken away just because he tried to get a hundred after ensuring our victory.

You are really a rabid hater

12 hours ago, rkt.india said:

From the same 40, axar Patel hit four sixes. Kohli couldn't find a boundary for ten overs. 

Stick to analysing fast bowlers and keep failing at that this is not up your alley.

Kohli was trying to stabilize while Axar was sent in so that he can attack and even if he gets out their will be Pandya and Dubey.

2 hours ago, tapandrun said:

Gill is the highest run getter of the series, got two 50s and he was not the player of the match or player of the series.

His contributions in winning is not considers as worthy of player of the match, player with SR of 125 against Zim.

Think he is a worse kind of stat-padder, looking around other teams and what kind of new players they are trying to bring in, do not see any other team having same kind/mould of player as Gill - Who is Aus's Gill, Who is Eng's, Who is NZ's Gill, Who is WI's Gill, Who is SA's Gill ??,  is Ind team seriously looking away from stat-padder or just yet another new bread of  T20 accumulators.

Looking at his approach in batting and how he captained the team looks like he bad copy of Babar.

He will be a Babar with lower avg. and some what better SR against lower ranked teams.

This series was actually a golden chance to groom next gen players. We didn't get that opportunity as Gill was made captain and he ensured that he gets to bat maximum number of balls.

I think after the first T20 shocker, Laxman as usual went in defensive mode and must have asked Gill to play at his usual self, while likes of Abhishek, Jaiswal played the game of smash and perish...Gill ensured to play max number of balls and make runs so that he can be the first choice opener.

Tbh, we haven't learned anything. All this drama of orange cap in IPL while ignoring the SR is the reason we are producing statpadders. Likes of KL Rahul screwed our 2 T20 WC's due to the same approach, Gill will follow the same.

Like I said before, Jaiswal is the only all format batter we have...borderline case maybe Rinku as well. Gill isn't suitable for T20's, neither does Gaekwad or Pant. But for BCCI, creating superstars is more important. 

14 minutes ago, Adamant said:

How did his stat padding against NZ cost us the games, we were winning matches after matches, he won us the match vs Aus.

Even if he wanted to score a hundred against Nz in group stage how did that cost you? He chased that total down, he won us the fkin match and deserves credit for that. How is that taken away just because he tried to get a hundred after ensuring our victory.

You are really a rabid hater

It showed where his priorities lay - in reaching his personal milestones than ensuring a win. He left the door open against kiwis with only Jadeja as the batsman left with 4 bowlers. Already given you enough reasons why the criticism for Kohli. If I'm a "hater" so be it but unlike you I prefer Team India to win titles instead of watching a player fill his boots for meaningless stats.

28 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Reply to this if you have the capability, i have read you word salad too many times

What more to add in this case? Kohli crawled to his 50 off 48 and Pandya only got to face 2 deliveries. On a pitch where Axar and Dube were able to hit 6s, Kohli went nearly 12 overs without hitting a boundary resulting in India getting a sub-par total.

You and the other fanboys are coming up with the same cliched argument that we've seen in IPL for RCB multiple times "if Kohli had gotten out early, team would've collapsed". This is the reason RCB, and India hadn't won a trophy for more than a decade. Coz Kohli's long innings ends up in below par totals. This time we were saved by an out of this world Bumrah else it would've been the same old story which RCB and Indian fans have seen thanks to "King" Kohli's stat-padding.

21 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Stick to analysing fast bowlers and keep failing at that this is not up your alley.

Kohli was trying to stabilize while Axar was sent in so that he can attack and even if he gets out their will be Pandya and Dubey.

Stabilizing in T20 doesn't mean going boundary less for 12 overs, and scoring a 48 ball 50. The guy stat-padded pure and simple. And as soon as he scored his 50, he started hitting coz he reached his personal milestone. Seen that in RCB where Kohli has tapped full-tosses for singles in the 19th over to get to his milestone, and saw a similar theme in the final.

5 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

It showed where his priorities lay - in reaching his personal milestones than ensuring a win. He left the door open against kiwis with only Jadeja as the batsman left with 4 bowlers. Already given you enough reasons why the criticism for Kohli. If I'm a "hater" so be it but unlike you I prefer Team India to win titles instead of watching a player fill his boots for meaningless stats.

Humare log individual obsessed hain. Desh obsessed nahi hain. 

Kisko yaad hain, zaheer khan ne pehle chair over pai, sirf dus run diya thaa 

Gambo quote. This applies to great highly intelligent Adamant and the Nobel prize winner putrevus. 

8 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

This series was actually a golden chance to groom next gen players. We didn't get that opportunity as Gill was made captain and he ensured that he gets to bat maximum number of balls.

I think after the first T20 shocker, Laxman as usual went in defensive mode and must have asked Gill to play at his usual self, while likes of Abhishek, Jaiswal played the game of smash and perish...Gill ensured to play max number of balls and make runs so that he can be the first choice opener.

Tbh, we haven't learned anything. All this drama of orange cap in IPL while ignoring the SR is the reason we are producing statpadders. Likes of KL Rahul screwed our 2 T20 WC's due to the same approach, Gill will follow the same.

Like I said before, Jaiswal is the only all format batter we have...borderline case maybe Rinku as well. Gill isn't suitable for T20's, neither does Gaekwad or Pant. But for BCCI, creating superstars is more important. 

The Idea for multi format players should be the thing of past for BCCI, they have resources to play 3 different teams in 3 different formats with some cross-over players.

Right now there are 2 ways teams are looking at playing 3 different format :

Aus and Eng way --> Play all 3 format same way, so they are playing aggressive in all 3 formats.Capable hitters in all 3 formats.

Pak and WI way--> Forget about 2 formats concentrate on just 1, T20 is easy and money making format so boards and crickets are drifted that way

Ind has resources to play 3 formats differently with 3 different and suited players, and with cricket/t20 getting into Olympics t20 will become priority unless world cups getting same stature as football WCs, but the way ICC trophies are happening every year or six months its losing the charm, too many champions around at the same time.  

Just now, Kron said:

Humare log individual obsessed hain. Desh obsessed nahi hain. 

Kisko yaad hain, zaheer khan ne pehle chair over pai, sirf dus run diya thaa 

Gambo quote. This applies to great highly intelligent Adamant and the Nobel prize winner putrevus. 

Yup seen that. Some folks out here would rather take a Kohli 100 and see the team fail than the team win titles over Kohli's milestones. Pretty sad really.

17 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Biggest mistake was not letting Abhishek open after his 40 ball 100. What sort of message does that send to a youngster? Already he was sidelined despite a stellar SMA and IPL season. VVS should've sent Abhishek to open along with Jaiswal and Gill to bat at 3. And instead of Ruturaj batting at 4, it should've been Parag batting at the spot.

7 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Biggest mistake was not letting Abhishek open after his 40 ball 100. What sort of message does that send to a youngster? Already he was sidelined despite a stellar SMA and IPL season. VVS should've sent Abhishek to open along with Jaiswal and Gill to bat at 3. And instead of Ruturaj batting at 4, it should've been Parag batting at the spot.

Zim tours are always like that selects picks who ever is making noise for good reason in domestic circuit, Ind had 4 openers playing in a game in place of Parag who is a mo batter, should have given him chances in all 5 games, Rutu is not a no. 4 in longterm.

Ind is already low on fast bowling resources and they are trying to recycle Avesh, Khaleel. Rana should have been given a chance.

Deshpanday didnt look like a seasoned player who plays for 2 big domestic teams, Khaleel seems like he is not interested in intnl career.

7 minutes ago, tapandrun said:

Zim tours are always like that selects picks who ever is making noise for good reason in domestic circuit, Ind had 4 openers playing in a game in place of Parag who is a mo batter, should have given him chances in all 5 games, Rutu is not a no. 4 in longterm.

Ind is already low on fast bowling resources and they are trying to recycle Avesh, Khaleel. Rana should have been given a chance.

Deshpanday didnt look like a seasoned player who plays for 2 big domestic teams, Khaleel seems like he is not interested in intnl career.

They really should've tried Harshit Rana, Parag at 4, Abhishek as opener, Venky as medium-pace all-rounder and probably Varun C as a spinner along with Bishnoi. As you mentioned playing Ruturaj at 4 makes no sense. It's not as if he'll ever bat for India at 4. But Parag will, and he didn't get to bat at his spot.

There was absolutely no plan. Yes we won but we didn't get any clarity. Other than Jaiswal and Abhishek performing, there was hardly anything to take away. VVS should've been a lot more pro-active with team combination and playing players to their strengths.

7 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

They really should've tried Harshit Rana, Parag at 4, Abhishek as opener, Venky as medium-pace all-rounder and probably Varun C as a spinner along with Bishnoi. As you mentioned playing Ruturaj at 4 makes no sense. It's not as if he'll ever bat for India at 4. But Parag will, and he didn't get to bat at his spot.

There was absolutely no plan. Yes we won but we didn't get any clarity. Other than Jaiswal and Abhishek performing, there was hardly anything to take away. VVS should've been a lot more pro-active with team combination and playing players to their strengths.

Venky Iyer should never have been dropped from the plans, A LH batter can bat anywhere from #1-6.

Can play and hit both spin and pace, no such obvious weakness, good outfield fielder and may b 2-3 overs bowler. If he is able to make place in Ind intnl then solves many problem.

Varun is not even in the plan, not sure if that will change with Gambhir. They think he hid his injury during that t20i WC

Edited by tapandrun
1 minute ago, tapandrun said:

Venky Iyer should never have been dropped from the plans, A LH batter can bat anywhere from #1-6.

Can play and hit both spin and pace, no such obvious weakness, good outfield fielder and may b 2-3 overs bowler   

It's unfortunate he doesn't play for the "right" franchise. Had he played for MI or CSK, I doubt he would've been discarded so early. Same with Varun C. The batsmen failed in WT20 in 2021 and Varun C paid the price. And if Harshit can't get ahead of likes of Avesh despite being so much better, how will he ever get his chance?

Hope Gambhir fixes these moronic selections and he backs players with high ceiling.

40 minutes ago, tapandrun said:

The Idea for multi format players should be the thing of past for BCCI, they have resources to play 3 different teams in 3 different formats with some cross-over players.

Right now there are 2 ways teams are looking at playing 3 different format :

Aus and Eng way --> Play all 3 format same way, so they are playing aggressive in all 3 formats.Capable hitters in all 3 formats.

Pak and WI way--> Forget about 2 formats concentrate on just 1, T20 is easy and money making format so boards and crickets are drifted that way

Ind has resources to play 3 formats differently with 3 different and suited players, and with cricket/t20 getting into Olympics t20 will become priority unless world cups getting same stature as football WCs, but the way ICC trophies are happening every year or six months its losing the charm, too many champions around at the same time.  

I want to emphasise again though, one season with ranji team and A tour compulsory for ipl selection. Make it mandatory.  For under 23 talents.

Sure exceptional talents can be fast tracked but as a general rule I want all to play one season of ranji.

Not only will it teach you skills, you will build endurance, strength and ability to last long and be successful in all formats. 

We can also maintain our pace battery. 

4 overs no matter what is much easier than first class cricket. A good test bowler should have no issues in 4 over formats 

Edited by Kron
9 minutes ago, tapandrun said:

Can play and hit both spin and pace, no such obvious weakness, good outfield fielder and may b 2-3 overs bowler. If he is able to make place in Ind intnl then solves many problem.

Varun is not even in the plan, not sure if that will change with Gambhir. They think he hid his injury during that t20i WC

Venky iyer 

Even vijay shamkar was thrown out for no reason

Such players are very handy and yes all rounders exist.

It's just hard to do