Gautam Gambhir new head coach

22 hours ago, Kron said:

For me we need to Implement a conditio . 1 to 2 seasons.of full fledged ranji trophy before selection for IPL. Make it mandatory. That we can ensure our pace battery is ready for all formats. 

Some sort of condition in some form must be attached. Else, we will struggle to produce quality cricketers good at playing classical form of cricket.

2 hours ago, deeppoint said:

Some sort of condition in some form must be attached. Else, we will struggle to produce quality cricketers good at playing classical form of cricket.

Format specific players is the way to go.

Also at domestic level atleast...the pay for FC should be atleast 4 times of List A (which again should be 2.5 times of T20).

Ex. So if a player gets 2 Lakh for a T20, he should 5 for a List A and 20L for a FC per match. BCCI can't control IPL rates, but it need to ensure the non IPL playing cricketers should lose their mind if they don't get selected.

22 hours ago, putrevus said:

It will be very interesting to see how India plays in Australia . This guy has been hyped up to the moon due to his jingoistic statements.

There is no room to hide in five test series.

Absolutely, and we need to take atleast 6 fast bowlers in Australia. The more the merrier 

Atleast 3 bowlers per Test, needs to be rotated accordingly.

Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Akashdeep & Harshit are must 6th can be one of Thakur. I really wish we get another pacer apart from Harshit who can bat at no 8, but have no option but to take Shardul.

3 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Akashdeep & Harshit are must 6th can be one of Thakur. I really wish we get another pacer apart from Harshit who can bat at no 8, but have no option but to take Shardul.

Shardul is not a Test level material. I don't recall watching him sending down unplayable deliveries. Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav are much better options. I can't see any valid justification for discarding Ishant and Umesh just like that.

From the other lot, even Mukesh Kumar is a more decent bowler than Shardul Thakur.

2 hours ago, deeppoint said:

Shardul is not a Test level material. I don't recall watching him sending down unplayable deliveries. Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav are much better options. I can't see any valid justification for discarding Ishant and Umesh just like that.

From the other lot, even Mukesh Kumar is a more decent bowler than Shardul Thakur.

I like Mukesh. He performs and has a functioning brain. Thakur's utility is as the 4th seamer on seaming tracks in Eng, NZ, or SA where you don't need a spinner in the team. Shardul gives you that option and allows you someone who can hold the bat lower down the order. On any other surfaces, yup he's not good enough.

16 hours ago, deeppoint said:

Not only was shardul a test match material but he excelled in it, he has won more matches for us in SENA than Ashwin.

Thakur's time may be over. Had his utility but fitness/age not on his side, had a foot surgery last month and reports said it would take 3 months before he can resume cricket, not good signs. Have to look for the future. 

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

Thakur's time may be over. Had his utility but fitness/age not on his side, had a foot surgery last month and reports said it would take 3 months before he can resume cricket, not good signs. Have to look for the future. 

Nitish Reddy for ODIs in SL if selectors want to Rest Hardik for ODIs as per reports.

Pretty sure GG would push for Harshit too.

On 7/14/2024 at 1:09 PM, Suhaan said:

Gambhir urges India's cricketers to play all three formats

https://m.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news/131029/gambhir-urges-indias-cricketers-to-play-all-three-formats

What kind of chewpana ,he's talking about?

Doesn't he understand how necessary is it to manage Bumrah's workload?

He says ,injured?go to rehab ,comeback fit

Get injured once again,repeat step 2

Rinse repeat

There are certain players whose workload management should be properly monitored

Bumrah,Shami come in that category even Siraj

Gill is clearly not cut out for t20s ,means Gambhir will endorse the Gill torture in t20s

Bakwas kar raha hai Gambhir. God save Indian cricket from idiots. 

11 hours ago, Adamant said:

Not only was shardul a test match material but he excelled in it, he has won more matches for us in SENA than Ashwin.

I disagree. The wickets he gets are mostly due to the pressure created by out premium pacers. The opposition sees him as a pressure release bowler, tries to take him to cleaners and in the process lose their wicket. I don't recall him bowling unplayable deliveries that force the batsmen in to submission.

Objectively, each of Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mukesh Kumar are better bowlers compared to Shardul Thakur.

On 7/14/2024 at 3:41 PM, Kron said:

Problem is bumrah is better than any bowler in the world and he is one of a kind. He needs to protected from useless bilaterals which btw cummo barely plays. He barely plays t20 bilaterals. 

I don't think Gambhir has the power/authority to force any of our gun pacers (viz: Bumrah) to play a bilateral series against a minnow level side.   

Bumrah is not coming back to the side till the start of BD test series (as per reports)

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/bcci-outrightly-rejects-five-of-gautam-gambhirs-picks-as-coaching-staff-members-morne-morkel-latest-casualty-report-101721187361041.html

Gautam Gambhir is having a hard time finalising his support staff. Unlike his predecessors, he has so far faced resistance from the BCCI for the majority of his preferences. Morne Morkel was reportedly the latest of his recommendations as the bowling coach to be turned down by the board.

This was Gambhir's third pick as the bowling coach, which the BCCI rejected. The previous two were reportedly R Vinay Kumar and Laximipathy Balaji. The two former Indian quicks were not approved in the first round of discussions between the board and the new head coach of Team India.

1 minute ago, Kron said:

how else will we infiltrate the team selections with quota picks, nepo picks and state backed politcially aligned picks. 

Yeah Morne Morkel will take a look at these trundlers and after one net session ask selectors to pick better available options.

Edited by Number
43 minutes ago, Number said:

Yeah Morne Morkel will take a look at these trundlers and after one net session ask selectors to pick better available options.

Morne was Pak's coach during ODI WC :hehe: j/k,  He or Donald would have been good for India instead of Vinay Kumar, Mhambrey etc.

So why was Abhishek not even selected in the squad by great Gambhir.

I really hope this guy Gambhir does not think too much of himself and come across a idiot dictator.

There was no need for both Kohli and Rohit to play these odis.

Edited by putrevus
4 hours ago, putrevus said:

So why was Abhishek not even selected in the squad by great Gambhir.

I really hope this guy Gambhir does not think too much of himself and come across a idiot dictator.

There was no need for both Kohli and Rohit to play these odis.

If sponsors say kphli and rohit need to play then they will have to play unfortunately. 

Money talks.