Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

7 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

yeah then dont complain if we dont win medals..

Either we have:

1. China/USSR style programmes OR

2. a very high standard of living country like US or Aus which promotes sports and has infrastructure and money available to all to participate and excel.

We are nowhere close to either of these and people slit wrists every 4 years crying about not having more medals

No need of extremes.

Our target should be to reach the level of Iran, Bulgaria, Croatia, Turkey etc in the next 10-15 years. Consistent double digit medals tally with 2-3 gold medals. 

Asian CT started yesterday.

Korea-Japan 5-5 draw

Malaysia-Pak 2-2 draw

India beat China 3-0

We are playing 8 youngsters/rookies in the squad.

Just wanted to make a callout to our paralympics team. They accomplished everything that we were hoping from the Olympic squad in Paris. Kudos to our paralympians! They more than doubled our overall medals tally in just one Olympics. Hope they go from strength to strength and get all the plaudits and prizes they are due.

On 9/10/2024 at 9:10 AM, bharathh said:

Just wanted to make a callout to our paralympics team. They accomplished everything that we were hoping from the Olympic squad in Paris. Kudos to our paralympians! They more than doubled our overall medals tally in just one Olympics. Hope they go from strength to strength and get all the plaudits and prizes they are due.

I created seperate thread for them but there was no interest.

Each of them is a champion for me. Deserve all the plaudits.

6 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Such injustice to actual women who fought against him.

Agreed. Pity that this will not get much coverage though. 

This person has already had their moment in the sun.

National hockey championship, men's seniors

Jharkhand beat Gujarat 18-2

Maharashtra beat Gujarat 30-0

Highest budget in Khelo India allocated to......?

While peanuts reserved for Punjab, Haryana, Maharashtra etc. 

Is desh ka kuch nahi hoga. Won't cross double digits in Olympics in next 100 years. 

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

National hockey championship, men's seniors

Jharkhand beat Gujarat 18-2

Maharashtra beat Gujarat 30-0

Highest budget in Khelo India allocated to......?

While peanuts reserved for Punjab, Haryana, Maharashtra etc. 

Is desh ka kuch nahi hoga. Won't cross double digits in Olympics in next 100 years. 

This is what i am talking about

uihermiklfg91.png

17 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

This is what i am talking about

uihermiklfg91.png

In ongoing national hockey championship, only one team has done worse than Gujarat....Andaman-Nicobar, with population 4 lakhs and no hockey field to practice on  (forget astro). 

And Andaman was in a much much tougher group. 

Full strength Punjab will beat Gujarat 100-0. Our national women's team will beat Gujarati men at least 10-0. 

Opposition should raise their voices about other states being denied their due, especially after the disastrous Paris performance. We will keep underachieving because of this kind of nonsense. 

All these big teams, Punjab, Odisha, Haryana, MP, TN, Karnataka, Manipur are resting their main guys. Gulf is massive.

Making Nita Ambani our IOC representative is the biggest scam in Indian sports. Ambanis have done zilch for Indian sports that are in Olympics/AG/CWG. 

Tatas set up a centre of excellence for archery, Jindals in multiple sports (check Inspire Institute), Ashok Mittal in Punjab, Hero, Vedanta etc in sports like hockey....what is Ambani connection to Indian sports except IPL? 

In a fair world, clout chaser Nita's role should be taken by someone like Sajjan Jindal or his son Parth. 

34 minutes ago, Gollum said:

In ongoing national hockey championship, only one team has done worse than Gujarat....Andaman-Nicobar, with population 4 lakhs and no hockey field to practice on  (forget astro). 

And Andaman was in a much much tougher group. 

Full strength Punjab will beat Gujarat 100-0. Our national women's team will beat Gujarati men at least 10-0. 

Opposition should raise their voices about other states being denied their due, especially after the disastrous Paris performance. We will keep underachieving because of this kind of nonsense. 

The discussions about this are restricted to social media right now. Nobody else is raising this issue. 

36 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Now Goa beats Gujarat 6-0 :hysterical:

In their pool Gujarat have lost all 3 matches, scored 2, conceded 54 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:

Pura desh mein scam chal raha hai. Hockey base will shift from Kalinga to Surat or Gandhinagar @Lone Wolf @New guy

Imagine the scale of scams & quality we will be served in case Ambani and ADANI (which looks likely in future) that they get hold of defence dealings and contracts.

I hope Gujjus stay away from national security as far as possible.  It's a scary thought.

1 minute ago, Lone Wolf said:

Imagine the scale of scams & quality we will be served in case Ambani and ADANI (which looks likely in future) that they get hold of defence dealings and contracts.

I hope Gujjus stay away from national security as far as possible.  It's a scary thought.

Not Gujjus as a community (surely will have a few good candidates), but certainly these dhando guys.

Hockey updates. 

Odisha won men's (senior) national championship beating Haryana 5-1 in the final. Defending champs Punjab lost to Manipur in QF in a shootout. 

India won women's Asian Champions Trophy beating China in the final.