Muloghonto Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 18 minutes ago, Vicks57 said: Good post. Fully agree . But it is not just limited to breakfast. It is applicable to breakfast, lunch and dinner. North India - Wheat South India - Rice Carb rich food is fantastic for blue collar workers who toil all day under the sun/heat. White collar people who sit all day should eat less carbs and more protein/fiber. Out of 3 dishes per day, 1 has to be carb rich (rice/wheat/ millets - millets are more nutritious) 1 has to be fiber rich ( majority of plates should be Vegetables eaten with low quantity millets) 1 has to be protein rich (eggs/meat/veg protein source of your choice) If you are gonna promote veg protien, then promote things like Seitan or something similar. Because what a LOT of these veggie/vegan people miss out on, is that YES, if you mix and match the right veggies, you can get your complete protien. but plant protiens, unless specifically refined like Seitan and stuff are STILL 50-60% or more carbs. 100 grams of Dal for eg, has 9-10 grams of protien and 20 grams of carbs. While animal meat/meat products are ALL 70-80% protein and the rest is fat. Ie, even if you eat 0 rice & 0 wheat and just eat dal or chickpeas, you are still consuming twice as much carbs as protien and fat. Vicks57 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 2 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: If you are gonna promote veg protien, then promote things like Seitan or something similar. Because what a LOT of these veggie/vegan people miss out on, is that YES, if you mix and match the right veggies, you can get your complete protien. but plant protiens, unless specifically refined like Seitan and stuff are STILL 50-60% or more carbs. 100 grams of Dal for eg, has 9-10 grams of protien and 20 grams of carbs. While animal meat/meat products are ALL 70-80% protein and the rest is fat. Ie, even if you eat 0 rice & 0 wheat and just eat dal or chickpeas, you are still consuming twice as much carbs as protien and fat. That's why I mentioned "protein rich", "fiber rich". Ideally if a particular food has more carbs than protein, then it isn't really protein rich. Egg whites are cheap and a complete source of protein. I only included vegetarian source of protein because there are a lot of vegetarians in this forum. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 5 minutes ago, Vicks57 said: That's why I mentioned "protein rich", "fiber rich". Ideally if a particular food has more carbs than protein, then it isn't really protein rich. Egg whites are cheap and a complete source of protein. I only included vegetarian source of protein because there are a lot of vegetarians in this forum. Well then by that score, there is no vegetable protein that isnt highly processed like seitan, that is protein rich. They are all carb rich. The vegetarians in the forum also deserve to know the difference. Us meatatarians can completely cut out complex carbs and simple carbs if we wish, they can't without going through a lot of trouble to get seitan. Vicks57 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 5 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: Well then by that score, there is no vegetable protein that isnt highly processed like seitan, that is protein rich. They are all carb rich. The vegetarians in the forum also deserve to know the difference. Us meatatarians can completely cut out complex carbs and simple carbs if we wish, they can't without going through a lot of trouble to get seitan. Never heard of seitan before. Looked it up when you mentioned it. Looks like all plant based meat is made up of this seitan. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 (edited) 1 minute ago, Vicks57 said: Never heard of seitan before. Looked it up when you mentioned it. Looks like all plant based meat is made up of this seitan. IIRC its an indonesian origin food. Good luck if you have gluten sensitivity or allergy though, seitan is essentially all gluten. Edited August 23 by Muloghonto Vicks57 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 9 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: Well then by that score, there is no vegetable protein that isnt highly processed like seitan, that is protein rich. They are all carb rich. The vegetarians in the forum also deserve to know the difference. Us meatatarians can completely cut out complex carbs and simple carbs if we wish, they can't without going through a lot of trouble to get seitan. I think "Paneer" will qualify as protein rich Vegetarian source. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: IIRC its an indonesian origin food. Good luck if you have gluten sensitivity or allergy though, seitan is essentially all gluten. Seems like it has Buddhist roots in China and Japan. Gluten allergy is present in atleast 10 percent of Indians. So it is tough. If people who have gluten allergy keep eating wheat, there is high chances of celiac disease. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3100145/ Edited August 23 by Vicks57 Muloghonto 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Vicks57 said: I think "Paneer" will qualify as protein rich Vegetarian source. Yes. our vegetarian friends can bypass ' carbs in dal, carbs in chola' etc. by eating **** tons of paneer or milk. Our vegan friends are SOL but thankfully not many indians are retarded enough to be vegans or promote such an anti-poor ideology as veganism. I dunno history of seitan. All i know is, it tastes like cardboard made into jelly but has **** tons of protien in it and only veggie protien that isnt animal-product based that can compete with animal products for % protien. Had it given to me by an indonesian friend who said they came up with it, which i wouldnt be surprised is nationalist appropriation lol. Edited August 23 by Muloghonto Vicks57 and MechEng 1 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 1 minute ago, Muloghonto said: Yes. our vegetarian friends can bypass ' carbs in dal, carbs in chola' etc. by eating **** tons of paneer or milk. Our vegan friends are SOL but thankfully not many indians are retarded enough to be vegans or promote such an anti-poor ideology as veganism. Looks like Vegans are *ed if they have gluten allergy. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 5 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: Yes. our vegetarian friends can bypass ' carbs in dal, carbs in chola' etc. by eating **** tons of paneer or milk. Our vegan friends are SOL but thankfully not many indians are retarded enough to be vegans or promote such an anti-poor ideology as veganism. I dunno history of seitan. All i know is, it tastes like cardboard made into jelly but has **** tons of protien in it and only veggie protien that isnt animal-product based that can compete with animal products for % protien. Had it given to me by an indonesian friend who said they came up with it, which i wouldnt be surprised is nationalist appropriation lol. Indonesia used to have Buddhist/hindu background. So it might not be cultural appropriation. Buddhist monks found how to extract this high concentrate protein from wheat. Its origin is in Asia and South East Asia. Muloghonto 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted August 23 Share Posted August 23 (edited) 22 minutes ago, Vicks57 said: Looks like Vegans are *ed if they have gluten allergy. Vegans in the west are mostly EFFED anyways. I am a vegetable leaning omnivore ( meaning i eat more veggies than anything coz i wanna age like Anil Kapoor and not Om puri) and i've gone weeks and months without meat (pujas, shraddhos etc). NEVER had the urge to make my aloo or paneer look like a hot-dog or a burger before i ate it. Never understood the mentality of western vegans who are literally ' i hate meat, meat is evil, eat veggies but plz make my veggies look like meat'. Like wtf, that is some Freudian psychology **** and not normal. I remember hosting a bbq before covid and a friend who'd recently gone vegan and i didnt know, brought pork chops to grill and eat and then offered me one. i ate it. it tasted like gobi with meat flavour and i am like wtf and she was like ' oh its vegan pork chop' and i was like ' sabji khana haye to khao. Sabjee ko suwar ki tarah dikhake fir khane ka kya matlab ?' Edited August 23 by Muloghonto Vicks57, MechEng, gattaca and 1 other 4 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cowboysfan Posted August 24 Author Share Posted August 24 Indias rice based diet is definitely a big culprit.other Asian counties eat a lot of rice too but they dont shun protein like we do,also animal protein here has become expensive and not accessible to poor people. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted August 24 Share Posted August 24 1 hour ago, cowboysfan said: Indias rice based diet is definitely a big culprit.other Asian counties eat a lot of rice too but they dont shun protein like we do,also animal protein here has become expensive and not accessible to poor people. Also not retaining labor intensive industries and creation service oriented employment with mainly focus on desk jobs , lifestyle of urban youth eating high calorie street food and not exercising much.. so many problems cowboysfan and MechEng 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 24 Share Posted August 24 (edited) 3 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Also not retaining labor intensive industries and creation service oriented employment with mainly focus on desk jobs , lifestyle of urban youth eating high calorie street food and not exercising much.. so many problems Lol you want to indians to go back to the fields and work like an ox. Hell no........ we need to exercise and eat protein rich diet. Desk jobs are here to stay. We still have people pulling manual carts in west bengal like this. TN govt started giving bicycle rickshaws back in *ing 1973 to eliminate this **** . Karuna (DMK) spoke about how demeaning it is for a human to pull another human for money in one of his movies and banned this ****. It was opposed at that time which is silly. I would be extremely uncomfortable if another human is pulling me in a cart. I would not take such a ride. It is extremely sadist and I don't know how people are okay with this in Kolkata We have the manual scavenging jobs which results in death very often and it is extremely demeaning. Then we have the Ambanis. Fat gujju family conducting a 600 million USD wedding. These Ambanis have zero patriotism and good will towards the country. They could have bought 100 auto rickshaws to people pulling rickshaws. They could have bought those expensive scavenging machines to replace manual scavenging. Ambanis could have done this to get blessings for their wedding. Bunch of bastards. Instead they hired Justin Bieber to perform a concert for 80 crores. 100 rickshaws will cost just 2.5 crores. Our ultra rich entrepreneurs simply do not have the civic sense to help our country men. That is the sad truth. Edited August 24 by Vicks57 Chaos 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chaos Posted August 24 Share Posted August 24 Indian food is just bad. Very hard to find healthy ones. Muloghonto 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Real McCoy Posted August 25 Share Posted August 25 Indian sweets are best homemade. Of course most of them eaten today are made outside. The sweet shops use their "magic" of more sugar to make it "more" tasty. Not good at all. So is anything made of sugar like coffee, tea, juices, etc. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MechEng Posted August 25 Share Posted August 25 18 hours ago, Vicks57 said: I would be extremely uncomfortable if another human is pulling me in a cart. I would not take such a ride. It is extremely sadist and I don't know how people are okay with this in Kolkata This is a better workout than any gym. Full body workout, your triceps, shoulders, abs and legs burn simultaneously. With good training, these rickshaw pullers can bowl fast like Bumrah. Lord and coffee_rules 1 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted August 25 Share Posted August 25 On 8/23/2024 at 3:37 PM, Vicks57 said: Damn! So it really is true. You love coffee to much I live for coffee. Used to drink 4-5 cups daily, now reduced to 2. Has to be brewed - tea or coffee. Can’t take instant coffee or bagged tea. Indian tea preparation is the best Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cowboysfan Posted August 25 Author Share Posted August 25 6 hours ago, Real McCoy said: Indian sweets are best homemade. Of course most of them eaten today are made outside. The sweet shops use their "magic" of more sugar to make it "more" tasty. Not good at all. So is anything made of sugar like coffee, tea, juices, etc. you can really drink coffee and Tea without added sugar. Coffee has natural sugars in it or you if you dont like that add a bit of milk.only south indian filter coffee tastes terrible without milk because we use robusta beans and Chicory . coffee_rules 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicks57 Posted August 25 Share Posted August 25 4 hours ago, MechEng said: This is a better workout than any gym. Full body workout, your triceps, shoulders, abs and legs burn simultaneously. With good training, these rickshaw pullers can bowl fast like Bumrah. You can make your son or grandson do this rickshaw pulling instead of gym Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...