maniac Posted October 29, 2024 Author Posted October 29, 2024 53 minutes ago, Vickydev said: Agree with the OP.. You're just getting old Are you a teen from Bhatinda that you seem to love Diljit nevada, coffee_rules and Vickydev 3
coffee_rules Posted October 29, 2024 Posted October 29, 2024 (edited) 1 hour ago, Ranvir said: Who said he's greater than those guys? AR Rehman, Lata Mangeshkar and Ravi Shankar are more famous. What's special about Lata anyway? She was a playback singer who never wrote a song and her concerts were awful, she couldn't even be bothered to learn the words to the songs, she was literally reading them from a book, talk about lazy. But Indians will tolerate this as they do many things. Was she a vocal powerhouse? Did she sing with emotion and rawness? Nope it was just sacharrine Hindi pop movie songs. Kudos to Diljit for making it big nationally without being a playback singer in this day and age. Bollywood killed off non movie music in the late 2000s, a shame because it was more interesting. This is Beadbi, blasphemy to question about Lata. She was a vocal powerhouse, in the era of no autotuners, special mics, she used to sing in concerts with her natural voice. That god-given VQ is unmatched and she maintained it till the 80s. All her songs in 90s are in no comparision to her talent. She was reduced to a pale shadow and should have retired much earlier. People only remember her deteriorated work post 95. She is a performance artist , sings others' produced music. So, what? She has set the bar for playback singing in the country. You can't compare singers to music directors. They want other better singers to sing their songs Edited October 29, 2024 by coffee_rules ravishingravi and Mariyam 2
Vickydev Posted October 29, 2024 Posted October 29, 2024 34 minutes ago, maniac said: Are you a teen from Bhatinda that you seem to love Diljit Yes and fell in love with him in my pre teen maniac 1
Ranvir Posted October 29, 2024 Posted October 29, 2024 1 hour ago, maniac said: I respect Diljit’s hustle and no problem in admitting he is talent. However he is nothing special. for example Rehman’s music stood out, you can tell it was different from other crap you heard. Lata was like the voice of Indian film music. There are 100s of Indian classical musuicians who are geniuses getting global awards and honors and contributed a lot to Indian music. in that context he looks very average. kind of like if you were seeing on all sports magazines that Babar Azam is the best batsman in the word. That doesn’t make Babar a bat batsman or he has no talent or performances. He just isn’t as big as he is made out to me. That’s how I view this guy. I see him as a Taylor Swift type of artist, someone who's popularity has grown gradually over the years and then reached mega stardom. Yes there's nothing really unique about his music but it's good for the masses.
maniac Posted October 29, 2024 Author Posted October 29, 2024 (edited) 19 minutes ago, Ranvir said: I see him as a Taylor Swift type of artist, someone who's popularity has grown gradually over the years and then reached mega stardom. Yes there's nothing really unique about his music but it's good for the masses. The average non Taylor swift fan also might know 1-2 mainstream songs of hers. For example- 99% South Indians might be able to name Amitab Bacchan or SRK’s biggest hits, similarly 99% of non-Southies know Rajnikant this guy is not that big. Clearly being shoved down people’s throats. It’s a fad that will die out in 2-3 yrs I think. Edited October 29, 2024 by maniac nevada and Lord 2
Ranvir Posted October 29, 2024 Posted October 29, 2024 6 hours ago, maniac said: The average non Taylor swift fan also might know 1-2 mainstream songs of hers. For example- 99% South Indians might be able to name Amitab Bacchan or SRK’s biggest hits, similarly 99% of non-Southies know Rajnikant this guy is not that big. Clearly being shoved down people’s throats. It’s a fad that will die out in 2-3 yrs I think. He's got talent, shoved down people's throat is what I would say about BTS or any other K Pop garbage.
Ranvir Posted October 29, 2024 Posted October 29, 2024 8 hours ago, coffee_rules said: This is Beadbi, blasphemy to question about Lata. She was a vocal powerhouse, in the era of no autotuners, special mics, she used to sing in concerts with her natural voice. That god-given VQ is unmatched and she maintained it till the 80s. All her songs in 90s are in no comparision to her talent. She was reduced to a pale shadow and should have retired much earlier. People only remember her deteriorated work post 95. She is a performance artist , sings others' produced music. So, what? She has set the bar for playback singing in the country. You can't compare singers to music directors. They want other better singers to sing their songs I never liked her high pitched chipmunk voice. Her sister was better, she at least had some edge to her voice. coffee_rules and bharathh 2
maniac Posted October 29, 2024 Author Posted October 29, 2024 6 minutes ago, Ranvir said: I never liked her high pitched chipmunk voice. Her sister was better, she at least had some edge to her voice. I kind of agree with you there. Her voice was very beautiful when she was younger but I guess what most of us remember her is from Yash Chopra-Karan Johar type movies. 100% agree that her voice was very annoying in that era. Again in India we have a tradition of carrying useless legends kind of like CSK with Dhoni. nevada, bharathh, coffee_rules and 1 other 4
Lone Wolf Posted October 30, 2024 Posted October 30, 2024 3 hours ago, Ranvir said: I never liked her high pitched chipmunk voice. Her sister was better, she at least had some edge to her voice. Asha Bhonsle>>>> lata anyday Ranvir and bharathh 2
singhvivek141 Posted October 30, 2024 Posted October 30, 2024 11 hours ago, maniac said: The average non Taylor swift fan also might know 1-2 mainstream songs of hers. For example- 99% South Indians might be able to name Amitab Bacchan or SRK’s biggest hits, similarly 99% of non-Southies know Rajnikant this guy is not that big. Clearly being shoved down people’s throats. It’s a fad that will die out in 2-3 yrs I think. No he won't, He has strong backing from the west, is a face of the protests that is being forced upon us. Such powerful lobby wont die in 2-3 years. He is doing this since 2016-17, part of every protest against the govt. Majority of Punjabi singers anyway has strong backing from the west courtesy of the external factors. coffee_rules, maniac and Ranvir 2 1
Ranvir Posted October 30, 2024 Posted October 30, 2024 3 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: No he won't, He has strong backing from the west, is a face of the protests that is being forced upon us. Such powerful lobby wont die in 2-3 years. He is doing this since 2016-17, part of every protest against the govt. Majority of Punjabi singers anyway has strong backing from the west courtesy of the external factors. I heard he is being backed by Mossad and the ISI. Mariyam 1
coffee_rules Posted October 30, 2024 Posted October 30, 2024 OP, You think DD is shoved down and hyped up. Look at this SoBo crowd . Flav of the season that’s all. Gen Zs in India are so not connected to India maniac and bharathh 1 1
Nikhil_cric Posted November 23, 2024 Posted November 23, 2024 (edited) It's the age of Punjabi music. It has absolutely peaked commercially. Only way is down Edited November 23, 2024 by Nikhil_cric
Ranvir Posted November 23, 2024 Posted November 23, 2024 (edited) 6 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said: It's the age of Punjabi music. It has absolutely peaked commercially. Only way is down Well he's 40 and has been popular for the last 20 years in Punjab and about 7 years or so in the rest of India. It's a good time to peak. He will always find work in Punjab even if his popularity goes down in the rest of India. Edited November 23, 2024 by Ranvir
bharathh Posted November 24, 2024 Posted November 24, 2024 On 10/29/2024 at 2:17 AM, maniac said: This guy is everywhere these days. I thought he was a Punjabi film actor. I saw him in a couple of Bollywood movies where he acted well. He is an average looking typical boy next door type. He seems like a folk singer + pop instead of a rapper more in the genre of Gurdas Mann, Hans Raj or Daler Mahendi. However haven’t heard such catchy tunes from him . Only song I know is the clip of him on Jimmy Fallon. I think the song is called GOAT i understand if he is huge in Punjab but any reason why all of a sudden he has become a Indian version of Elvis or Michael Jackson? not a criticism. Maybe I am old and out of touch (except cricket acumen) so what’s the deal with this guy. now I heard murmurs of Khalistan connection etc but even though true or false or whatever he is all over the news. I don’t get it. I don't either. He has one decentish song - other than that I don't get the hype at all. Even my wife wants to attend his concert with her friends. Even though the tickets are hard to come by and astronomical in prices. Must be some sort of FOMO thing IMO maniac 1
nevada Posted November 24, 2024 Posted November 24, 2024 My cousins attended his concert in Hyderabad recently. The same cousins who used to make fun of Gurdas Mann and Sukhbir songs when I used to play them on cassettes back in the day. The ring road exit was clogged for a long time with all the concert traffic. I was surprised that he has found such an eager audience down South as well. I first saw him on TV back in the US 8-9 years ago at a get together. The host family is Punjabi and they used to play only his songs on TV. Other families, including North Indian ones, used to jokingly ask them if they don't know any other singer because they always play his songs Fast forward to today and people all over India are grooving to his songs and tripping over themselves in the rush to attend his concerts. One of my cousins told me he has good PR and has moulded himself as a concert star. Maybe his popularity has been enhanced by the prevalence of social media and viral trends spreading like wildfire these days. Mariyam and Lord 2
vayuu1 Posted November 27, 2024 Posted November 27, 2024 (edited) On 10/29/2024 at 2:17 AM, maniac said: This guy is everywhere these days. I thought he was a Punjabi film actor. I saw him in a couple of Bollywood movies where he acted well. He is an average looking typical boy next door type. He seems like a folk singer + pop instead of a rapper more in the genre of Gurdas Mann, Hans Raj or Daler Mahendi. However haven’t heard such catchy tunes from him . Only song I know is the clip of him on Jimmy Fallon. I think the song is called GOAT i understand if he is huge in Punjab but any reason why all of a sudden he has become a Indian version of Elvis or Michael Jackson? not a criticism. Maybe I am old and out of touch (except cricket acumen) so what’s the deal with this guy. now I heard murmurs of Khalistan connection etc but even though true or false or whatever he is all over the news. I don’t get it. Exactly all i hear is bakri ka mimiyana from him and most of Punjabi singers lots of aaaaaa aaaaayeeee in between plus u listen to current Punjabi sings and all u see us booze,ladki and cast,jatt mehkama putt jatta da dhi jatta di jatta da this jatta da that jab dekho jatta jatta main to pakk gyw sun ke abbey kitna jatta da tatta banega bhai no offense to jatts and jaats par bhai aur bhi community hai india main Edited November 27, 2024 by vayuu1