ravishingravi Posted April 5 Posted April 5 56 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: You forgot Rana Ayyub ...the other rabid shameless liar. This woman is a criminal liar and should face lifelong jail time. She actually gets paid to lie. She is claiming Ms have faced challenges to their citizenship, when the F has that ever happened. Calling the amendment a "humiliation " .....saying that they always protest "peacefully" ....( with stone pelting )...how peacefully they upheld the constitution against Kashmiri Pandits. In general, I am not super happy with how the BJP has been very soft and measured in dealing with trouble makers like Rana Ayyub. I just wish there was a law would result in severe consequences for deliberate fake news spreaders....who do it to create communal tension. Sometimes you have to keep these elements alive and kicking to ensure that your supporters remember who they are dealing with. Ultimately she is just a messenger. AuxiliA 1
coffee_rules Posted April 5 Posted April 5 2 hours ago, Muloghonto said: I dont get what she is crying about. This isnt Waqf abolishment as i hoped. This is basically gormint saying 'waqf board will now directly answer to this minister and the board itself will undergo changes, some streamlining and muslim women get quota seat on waqf board. Naari kalyaan. So wot de foc is the problem ?? Uski rozi roti chalti hai aise rone se. India cannot abrogate the WaqF act. It was introduced in 1954 as an amendment. It falls under Freedom of Religion. SC will never allow it to be abolished. Only thing possible is to keep amending it to make corruptive practices and land-grabbing mafia stopped. For 100 years from 1913 to 2013 - the WaqF properties were 18 lakh hectares. Congress made some draconian amendments in property handling in 2013 before losing elections in 2014 From 2014 to 2025 additional 21 lakh hectares were added as WaQf properties, that is more than what it had for a 100 years. This is the amount of land-grabbing we are dealing. This is a mafia in the name of Religion. And all this is basically for poor Muslims and they are still poor than even Dalits. BJP should have made the act valid from 2013, but at least it can address the ones that are in dispute. I believe 78% of Waqf land grabbed is under dispute. All this dispute will be resolved with new rules, DM, HC and SC instead of a Fascist WaQF Tribunal which only had Muslims earlier. Now it will have non-Muslims. Something is better than nothing. Mariyam 1
coffee_rules Posted April 5 Posted April 5 (edited) 2 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: Brilliant Sudhanshu Trivedi ji A bit longer version Edited April 5 by coffee_rules
Mariyam Posted April 5 Posted April 5 On 4/4/2025 at 10:19 AM, Gollum said: Should have been abolished in its entirety. Blatant landgrabbing tool. Cheen-o-Arab hamara, Hindustan hamara Muslim hai hum, saara jahan hamara Lord, coffee_rules and Muloghonto 2 1
Mariyam Posted April 5 Posted April 5 On 4/4/2025 at 6:38 PM, Muloghonto said: But what is this amended bill and what does it do ?? In a nutshell: Inclusion of non Muslims in Waqf institutions, viz the Central Waqf Council, the State Waqf boards and the Waqf tribunals. With the aim of improving transparency. Increased GoI oversight: Uptil now, District Collectors or officers of the same class were authorised to survey the Waqf properties. Now GoI officers of a higher pay grade are overseers. This is especially useful in cases where the Waqf board has disputes with the government. More importantly the Amendment in the bill designates these senior officers as final officers in case of dispute and not the Waqf tribunal , which was the case because of the 1995 amendment. Establishment of an online Waqf registration portal, where all Waqfs have been given up to 6 months to register their properties with relevant proof/paperwork. The onus of this is now solely on the muttawali. Application of limitation Act on the 1995 Amendment of the Waqf Act. Currently ,the Waqf board was privy to a 12 year limitation incase anyone wanted to reclaim Waqf Land. That simply wasn't fair because cases, especially pertaining to property drag on for longer. Judicial review: Now litigants can avail a judicial review if they aren't happy with the decision of the Waqf tribunal. IMO, all in all, a good amendment. Waqf Act can't be used to steal land and the board can focus their efforts on betterment of the believers through maintaining the properties under their custody by positively engaging with the muttawali. Lord and coffee_rules 1 1
Muloghonto Posted April 5 Posted April 5 Just now, Mariyam said: In a nutshell: Inclusion of non Muslims in Waqf institutions, viz the Central Waqf Council, the State Waqf boards and the Waqf tribunals. With the aim of improving transparency. Increased GoI oversight: Uptil now, District Collectors or officers of the same class were authorised to survey the Waqf properties. Now GoI officers of a higher pay grade are overseers. This is especially useful in cases where the Waqf board has disputes with the government. More importantly the Amendment in the bill designates these senior officers as final officers in case of dispute and not the Waqf tribunal , which was the case because of the 1995 amendment. Establishment of an online Waqf registration portal, where all Waqfs have been given up to 6 months to register their properties with relevant proof/paperwork. The onus of this is now solely on the muttawali. Application of limitation Act on the 1995 Amendment of the Waqf Act. Currently ,the Waqf board was privy to a 12 year limitation incase anyone wanted to reclaim Waqf Land. That simply wasn't fair because cases, especially pertaining to property drag on for longer. Judicial review: Now litigants can avail a judicial review if they aren't happy with the decision of the Waqf tribunal. IMO, all in all, a good amendment. Waqf Act can't be used to steal land and the board can focus their efforts on betterment of the believers through maintaining the properties under their custody by positively engaging with the muttawali. So why is arfa khanum choohawani whining so much ?? Also I showed u how waqf is muslim land grab tool from non Muslims and you haven't told me why a non muslim will find this equitable. And why should unviable muslim properties not be repurposed like unviable Hindu properties ??
Mariyam Posted April 5 Posted April 5 On 4/3/2025 at 3:18 AM, rangeelaraja said: Hi @Mariyam : Since you've reviewed the Waqf Act, may I respectfully ask you to address 2 basic but critical questions around fairness and equality that remain unanswered : Q1. In a secular country like India, is it fair to have a two-tier system for managing religious endowments? Why are Islamic waqf properties managed under state-backed Waqf Boards, while Hindu, Christian, and Sikh endowments rely on private trusts? No similar state-supported boards or exclusive legislation exist for other religions. The Waqf Board enjoys special legal protections, dedicated legislation (Waqf Act), and government oversight. What happens if every religious group demands its own government-managed board and law? Would that still align with the principle of secularism ? Q2. Why is India the only secular country where ONLY ONE minority religion has a state-sponsored waqf system? In other secular countries like the UK, US, Canada, and South Africa, Muslims are a sizable minority too—but: Waqf is community-managed, not state-administered. All religious charities operate under common trust or charity laws, ensuring equal treatment. Why can’t India follow the model of UK, South Africa, US, Canada ? The current waqf structure India : Creates legal / religious asymmetry Undermines secularism by granting state privileges to one religious group. Have answered this in my previous post here. The idea of Waqf is to maintain religious and civic places of Muslims. What has eventually happened as with most GoI wings is that there has been blatant misuse and also abuse of the system to capture lands. The idea of a Waqf board falls within the ambit of freedom of religion that the constitution guarantees. Also it is not something that is exclusively granted to Muslims. For instances, Parsi endowments are handed out using the Parsi Panchayat Act. Waqf's in India are state administered by the Waqf tribunals are community managed. The various mutawalli draw funds from private donations of their said community and as it is state administered, have to pay tax too ( provided the said Waqf is profit making).
coffee_rules Posted April 5 Posted April 5 16 minutes ago, Mariyam said: Cheen-o-Arab hamara, Hindustan hamara Muslim hai hum, saara jahan hamara Hindustan hi nahin, poori duniya hi hamara hain!! Mariyam 1
Mariyam Posted April 5 Posted April 5 4 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: So why is arfa khanum choohawani whining so much ?? Also I showed u how waqf is muslim land grab tool from non Muslims and you haven't told me why a non muslim will find this equitable. And why should unviable muslim properties not be repurposed like unviable Hindu properties ?? I have no idea who is whining or why? People are always whining. We have so many people and some will always be disgruntled. Why is that relevant? I broke down the Amendment of the Act for you and listed out point wise the changes. You are over simplifying stuff here, without going through the original ACT, the 1995 amendment and the 2025 amendment. If you read my previous reply to you, the Land grab part of Waqf has been effectively defanged. In the example you gave, the woman has to lead the life of a pious Muslim and has to declare intent that she wishes to make a Waqf of a portion of the land. Her husband who inherits ( 1/4 or 1/2 of the land depending on whether she has kids) also has to live the life of a pious Muslim and after a period of 5 years of inheritance can he make the appeal. Now practically speaking, the State Waqf Boards aren't interested in these if the property isn't making money. Simply because it is their job to pay for the upkeep. On unviable properties, people may want to keep them in good shape for nostalgic/religious/cultural reasons. I don't think there is too much to look into. Everything doesn't have to make business sense. I think of it as how GoI spends on patronising Arts. Some spends necessary to preserve culture.
Mariyam Posted April 5 Posted April 5 @Muloghonto Why does @Gollum support 5 IPL teams? Lord, Muloghonto and coffee_rules 3
Muloghonto Posted April 5 Posted April 5 3 minutes ago, Mariyam said: I have no idea who is whining or why? People are always whining. We have so many people and some will always be disgruntled. Why is that relevant? I broke down the Amendment of the Act for you and listed out point wise the changes. You are over simplifying stuff here, without going through the original ACT, the 1995 amendment and the 2025 amendment. If you read my previous reply to you, the Land grab part of Waqf has been effectively defanged. In the example you gave, the woman has to lead the life of a pious Muslim and has to declare intent that she wishes to make a Waqf of a portion of the land. Her husband who inherits ( 1/4 or 1/2 of the land depending on whether she has kids) also has to live the life of a pious Muslim and after a period of 5 years of inheritance can he make the appeal. Now practically speaking, the State Waqf Boards aren't interested in these if the property isn't making money. Simply because it is their job to pay for the upkeep. On unviable properties, people may want to keep them in good shape for nostalgic/religious/cultural reasons. I don't think there is too much to look into. Everything doesn't have to make business sense. I think of it as how GoI spends on patronising Arts. Some spends necessary to preserve culture. How is it defanged ?? My daughter can still inherit my property, which her hubby can still give to waqf if she predeceases him. How is this defanged ?? Why should unviable muslim properties get state patronage and not other religions ? Why should state care to maintain univable properties on religious basis in the first place ?? Religion isn't culture. Govt isn't obligated to maintain religion- just not give anyone favoritism due to religion and then how is waqf not favoritism??
Muloghonto Posted April 5 Posted April 5 2 minutes ago, Mariyam said: @Muloghonto Why does @Gollum support 5 IPL teams? Because gollum is corrupted by the ring of power and doesn't understand loyalty or how to make a decision. Leave him alone. He already looks like he hasn't eaten since 1947 and has 4 hairs left on his head. Mariyam 1
coffee_rules Posted April 5 Posted April 5 7 minutes ago, Mariyam said: @Muloghonto Why does @Gollum support 5 IPL teams? Because he’s PRECIOUS!! Muloghonto and Mariyam 2
Mariyam Posted April 5 Posted April 5 1 minute ago, Muloghonto said: How is it defanged ?? My daughter can still inherit my property, which her hubby can still give to waqf if she predeceases him. How is this defanged ?? Why should unviable muslim properties get state patronage and not other religions ? Why should state care to maintain univable properties on religious basis in the first place ?? Religion isn't culture. Govt isn't obligated to maintain religion- just not give anyone favoritism due to religion and then how is waqf not favoritism?? The tribunal will simply not accept if the requisites aren't met. From my earlier post: Inclusion of non Muslims in Waqf institutions, viz the Central Waqf Council, the State Waqf boards and the Waqf tribunals. With the aim of improving transparency. Increased GoI oversight: Uptil now, District Collectors or officers of the same class were authorised to survey the Waqf properties. Now GoI officers of a higher pay grade are overseers. This is especially useful in cases where the Waqf board has disputes with the government. More importantly the Amendment in the bill designates these senior officers as final officers in case of dispute and not the Waqf tribunal , which was the case because of the 1995 amendment. Establishment of an online Waqf registration portal, where all Waqfs have been given up to 6 months to register their properties with relevant proof/paperwork. The onus of this is now solely on the muttawali. Application of limitation Act on the 1995 Amendment of the Waqf Act. Currently ,the Waqf board was privy to a 12 year limitation incase anyone wanted to reclaim Waqf Land. That simply wasn't fair because cases, especially pertaining to property drag on for longer. Judicial review: Now litigants can avail a judicial review if they aren't happy with the decision of the Waqf tribunal. Re: point 1& 2. For cases as you mention earlier, there was a Waqf tribunal which would sit in ex situ judgment. Now you have outsiders oversee, and GoI officials be the final authority. Need to look up the case you mentioned: IIRC, if your daughter did not covert at the time of her wedding, her inherited property may not be ( for religious reasons) transferable to a Waqf. If she did convert, the rules are as I said earlier. The tribunal needs a 'character certificate' and some other pre conditions which I have mentioned earlier.
Muloghonto Posted April 5 Posted April 5 Just now, coffee_rules said: Because he’s PRECIOUS!! Lotr question: How do you make Sam turn into Hitler and mass murder everyone in the shire ?? Answer: You make gollum the arbiter of morality and standard Sam must live up To. coffee_rules 1
Muloghonto Posted April 5 Posted April 5 1 minute ago, Mariyam said: The tribunal will simply not accept if the requisites aren't met. From my earlier post: Inclusion of non Muslims in Waqf institutions, viz the Central Waqf Council, the State Waqf boards and the Waqf tribunals. With the aim of improving transparency. Increased GoI oversight: Uptil now, District Collectors or officers of the same class were authorised to survey the Waqf properties. Now GoI officers of a higher pay grade are overseers. This is especially useful in cases where the Waqf board has disputes with the government. More importantly the Amendment in the bill designates these senior officers as final officers in case of dispute and not the Waqf tribunal , which was the case because of the 1995 amendment. Establishment of an online Waqf registration portal, where all Waqfs have been given up to 6 months to register their properties with relevant proof/paperwork. The onus of this is now solely on the muttawali. Application of limitation Act on the 1995 Amendment of the Waqf Act. Currently ,the Waqf board was privy to a 12 year limitation incase anyone wanted to reclaim Waqf Land. That simply wasn't fair because cases, especially pertaining to property drag on for longer. Judicial review: Now litigants can avail a judicial review if they aren't happy with the decision of the Waqf tribunal. Re: point 1& 2. For cases as you mention earlier, there was a Waqf tribunal which would sit in ex situ judgment. Now you have outsiders oversee, and GoI officials be the final authority. Need to look up the case you mentioned: IIRC, if your daughter did not covert at the time of her wedding, her inherited property may not be ( for religious reasons) transferable to a Waqf. If she did convert, the rules are as I said earlier. The tribunal needs a 'character certificate' and some other pre conditions which I have mentioned earlier. Well conversion is implied coz women can't marry a Muslim man without being muslim first... Regardless of checks and balances the bottomline remains : waqf is a Muslim land acquisition tool that can have non muslim land added to it. What I am trying to get you to see is why every non muslim sees this as a land grabbing tool. You said u r sad earlier that this is what many see waqf as. I am telling you why.
Mariyam Posted April 5 Posted April 5 1 minute ago, Muloghonto said: Well conversion is implied coz women can't marry a Muslim man without being muslim first... Regardless of checks and balances the bottomline remains : waqf is a Muslim land acquisition tool that can have non muslim land added to it. What I am trying to get you to see is why every non muslim sees this as a land grabbing tool. You said u r sad earlier that this is what many see waqf as. I am telling you why. Not really. Special Marriage Act, 1954. No conversion required to marry. If the marriage is registered under this Act, the girl forgoes the pleasure of donating all her land to the Waqf. Muloghonto 1