lemsip Posted November 24 Share Posted November 24 (edited) Bizzare thread. Pant was the best Indian batsman by far in the first innings facing very challenging conditions and has stood up many times before. Reddy got some nice runs against Lyon etc but it was Pant who withstood the seam and swing of the top Aussie bowlers. He misfired today but that didn't really matter in the wider scheme of things as the team was comfortably positioned. Edited November 24 by lemsip Manucrick 1 Link to comment
R!TTER Posted November 24 Share Posted November 24 The best batter was Nitish/KL in the first innings. Link to comment
Adamant Posted November 24 Share Posted November 24 Come on, he has been our best batsman in last 4 years and performs when we are under pressure. You live by the sword you die by the sword. Link to comment
Majestic Posted November 24 Share Posted November 24 Not much to read on such failures. Hopefully, we bat well in Pink ball test especially Rohit who has done nothing from long. Link to comment
lemsip Posted November 24 Share Posted November 24 3 minutes ago, R!TTER said: The best batter was Nitish/KL in the first innings. KL definitely was a candidate and was unlucky. He too faced the toughest conditions with the hard ball. Nitish top scored but played the majority of his innings after the ball had got softer and scored a lot of his runs against Lyon who was unthreatening at that stage in the match. Link to comment
New guy Posted November 24 Share Posted November 24 18 minutes ago, Frustrated said: Well, your post does make sense. It would have made more sense if u stop resorting to cheap/dirty tactics of troll voting someone's post. Especially when that post is appreciating your fav player. For me, Troll voting is for posts which makes no sense. Frustrated 1 Link to comment
Trichromatic Posted November 24 Author Share Posted November 24 Skill wise I put him next to Tendulkar. Link to comment
Frustrated Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 16 hours ago, Vickydev said: Lost the game when what 350 runs in the lead and looking to accelerate? ... Cmon it's a poorly timed thread Well, the Indian bowlers (led by Bumrah) could not defend 375 against Eng in the 4th inning of the 5th test (Played in 2022). Eng chased the target comfortably with 7 wickets left. Now that our bowlers have picked up early wickets, most of the Ind fans here are very happy. Imagine if Aus would hv been 50/0 at the end of day's play, the same posters would hv blamed pant for the way he threw his wicket. Link to comment
putrevus Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 15 hours ago, Trichromatic said: Skill wise I put him next to Tendulkar. Are you kidding me. Link to comment
coffee_rules Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 On 11/24/2024 at 11:55 AM, Trichromatic said: He lost the game. Brain cell of Arshadeep batting to be specific Link to comment
Lord Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 4 hours ago, Frustrated said: Well, the Indian bowlers (led by Bumrah) could not defend 375 against Eng in the 4th inning of the 5th test (Played in 2022). Eng chased the target comfortably with 7 wickets left. Now that our bowlers have picked up early wickets, most of the Ind fans here are very happy. Imagine if Aus would hv been 50/0 at the end of day's play, the same posters would hv blamed pant for the way he threw his wicket. Nah bowlers should be defending that score. Pant got out to a reverse sweep that game but no one blamed him. This was much better position Manucrick 1 Link to comment
Sandz Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 What’s wrong with Arshdeeps match awareness? Won us a T20 World Cup, something very very few people have managed in their entire careers. If anything the OP needs to improve his own cricket awareness. Lord and Manucrick 2 Link to comment
Vancouver Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 I would say the opposite, he showed good match awareness and tried to up the tempo but he overestimated his skill level and fell short. His courage hides his technical flaws. Lord 1 Link to comment
Lord Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 2 minutes ago, Vancouver said: I would say the opposite, he showed good match awareness and tried to up the tempo but he overestimated his skill level and fell short. His courage hides his technical flaws. lack of execution thats it Link to comment
NameGoesHere Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 (edited) Pant is Pant. Gotta accept him for that. Edited November 25 by NameGoesHere lemsip 1 Link to comment
Cricketics Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 (edited) 21 hours ago, Trichromatic said: Skill wise I put him next to Tendulkar. No one can ever match Tendulkar’s skill. He played over 20 years facing all types of bowlers from the age of 16 on every kind of track in test matches, all over the world, and succeded against most of them if not all of them. Some skilled players are once in a generarion in each sport. They might not win everything or hold every recoed, but skill wise they are cut above the rest. Tendulkar is that for cricket - Most complete player the game has ever seen. Feder is that for Tennis - Most complete player in Tennis. Edited November 25 by Cricketics Suhaan 1 Link to comment
lemsip Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 Actually Pant's keeping was top class in quick, bouncy conditions and he batted really well under pressure in the first innings ( like he did in Mumbai in totally different conditions). Amazing physical recovery from that accident. At the start of this year it wasn't even clear if he could walk normally. I never expected him to get back to his normal level in both skills so quickly. Seems like a very mentally strong character despite the jovial personality. Link to comment
Sean Bradley Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 Skill level of Tendulkar?? Kya phook rahe ho bhai? Apne tendulkar ko batting karte hue dekha hai kabhi? Khuda ka khauf kare !! maniac 1 Link to comment
maniac Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 Lyon played on his ego. He knew he was going to charge him and clearly you could see the keeper was ready. He was stumped to a wide ball means keeper and bowler were in on it. Luckily no damage but that could have been bad for India as we are known to collapse from such situations. Link to comment