58 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

@Gollum @rangeelaraja @Tillu @randomGuy @neel roy

Guys you are reading too much into Magnus's behaviour ( or lack there of).

He patted Guki on the back later. It was a momentary lapse of self control.

Not a direct comparable, but I can share something funy ( at least in retrospect) from a few years ago.

I was playing a 3+2 tournament on Lichess and was 7.5 points from 10 rounds. The last round I needed a win to be end up as #2. It was a rook and 3 pawn vs rook and 1 pawn endgame. I was ahead on material and my pawns were connected. We played out the game and moment of negligence meant that as I promoted , I ended up stalemating the opponent. It was #5 for me and no podium finish.

In sheer frustration I knocked my water bottle. On my work  desk at home, I also have this real lovey-dovey picture of me and my husband from a vacation that we took. My bottle knocked out that picture and it fell on the ground. Thankfully the frame wasn't damaged. A few moments later my husband walked in. We had some arguement over some trivial stuff earlier that day and he said " You broke our photo for *that* argument?"

We still lol about it.

Magnus is a great player and a good ambassador of the game. He has actively helped Prag and Alireza when they were younger. Sat them down and analysed their games. I don't think he is spiteful or petty. He just had a bad day.

What Magnus did is not comparable to what you did in the comfort of your home over an online chess competition.

If for example you go around slamming the doors, banging the tables like an uncontrollable maniac in front of your employees or colleagues if things didn't go your way, then there is a case.

Truth is Magnus has a point to prove against Gukesh, the reigning World chess champion about who's still the boss since he gave up defending his WCC title.

So when things didn't go his way, in a fit of rage he couldn't control his emotions and exhibited this classless behaviour.

Outside Fabi most chess players from the western countries including Russia are narcissistic pricks and still believe they are superior to everyone else.

Edited by Tillu
55 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Not a direct comparable, but I can share something funy ( at least in retrospect) from a few years ago.

I was playing a 3+2 tournament on Lichess and was 7.5 points from 10 rounds. The last round I needed a win to be end up as #2. It was a rook and 3 pawn vs rook and 1 pawn endgame. I was ahead on material and my pawns were connected. We played out the game and moment of negligence meant that as I promoted , I ended up stalemating the opponent. It was #5 for me and no podium finish.

In sheer frustration I knocked my water bottle. On my work  desk at home, I also have this real lovey-dovey picture of me and my husband from a vacation that we took. My bottle knocked out that picture and it fell on the ground. Thankfully the frame wasn't damaged. A few moments later my husband walked in. We had some arguement over some trivial stuff earlier that day and he said " You broke our photo for *that* argument?"

We still lol about it.

Magnus is a great player and a good ambassador of the game. He has actively helped Prag and Alireza when they were younger. Sat them down and analysed their games. I don't think he is spiteful or petty. He just had a bad day.

This. Completely agree. Ironically Gukesh himself had no issue, but ICF'ers are swinging their axes.

4 minutes ago, kepler37b said:

This. Completely agree. Ironically Gukesh himself had no issue, but ICF'ers are swinging their axes.

Gukesh has to act humble as he was trying to diffuse the situation.

He was visibly shaken and terrified after this incident and moved away from Magnus in the anticipation of what else he will do.

In light of this incident you should all watch the 1998 film "Rounders" about how a law student defeats an experienced underground Russian mobster at poker.

Very enjoyable film. Same feelings and power dynamics like this game.

Edited by Tillu
1 hour ago, Mariyam said:

We still lol about it.

1. I have done gali galoch in the house for losing online chess games. Nerves are rattled (in time scrambles) - not good for health, mood gets spoiled, time gets wasted, one feels bad that he is a slave of this online game (it reflects badly on other aspects of life that you can't even get over online game addiction) etc. All this I can understand for a chess player (that is why I advise against getting into chess in the first place)

2. But when the world is watching you, you are the GOAT, you have a responsibility. And there are better ways to vent out frustration than banging the table. It used to be a gentlemen's game after all. Hence I expect better from magnus.

Edited by randomGuy
3 hours ago, Tillu said:

Gukesh has to act humble as he was trying to diffuse the situation.

He was visibly shaken and terrified after this incident and moved away from Magnus in the anticipation of what else he will do.

He should bot have banged the board. That is immature.

But that was out of frustration. He did not have any contempt for gukesh or the game.

Edited by kepler37b
10 hours ago, Mariyam said:

Gukesh is a fighter. He fights on and rescues lost end games. Absolute mental beast.

In this ability he is far ahead of Pragg or Arjun. Or anyone else in the world.

And on cue Gukesh grinds out another win. This time from a losing position against Arjun.

This win takes Gukesh to 11.5 points, in second place. Half a point behind Carlson.

7 hours ago, Mariyam said:

And on cue Gukesh grinds out another win. This time from a losing position against Arjun.

This win takes Gukesh to 11.5 points, in second place. Half a point behind Carlson.

@Mariyam   He is half a point ahead of Carlsen. Caruana leads, Carlsen is at # 3.

Carlsen is famous for squeezing wins from drawn positions. Gukesh, on the other hand, is building a reputation for turning losing positions into victories, thriving on high-risk, high-reward play where he's willing to risk it all for the win.

On 6/2/2025 at 12:40 AM, Gollum said:

Gukesh beats Carlsen with white. First classical win for him over MC. 

Incredible fighter. 

Gaali kyu de Raha hai bhai Carlsen ko

After Carlsen beat Gukesh in R1, he was talking smack like that Omar Little dialogue. 

After beating Arjun, went on about the deficiencies in young players.

After the loss against Gukesh, not only did he behave like a thug, but went on a rant against classical chess. Spoilt brat who will undermine anything and everything when he doesn't get his way. 

Goras were talking about this even on French Open broadcast.

Global reach of chess is something, great soft power tool. Outside of commonwealth countries, guess someone like Gukesh will ring more bells than even Kohli, Sachin, Dhoni. 

Another classical tournament going on in Armenia. Pragg in lead, Aravindh second, both are gaining rating points. 

On 6/2/2025 at 10:04 AM, Mariyam said:

We still lol about it.

Kind of agree. Issue is we always consider chess as a gentlemans game ( which is also applicable to cricket). But many a times in heat of the moment you lose it and I think everyone has a different personality. Kramnik Anand were pretty cool. Also Karpov. But Kasparov and Topalov was always a bit agitated when they lost. I remember Topalov was so frustrated when he lost to Anand in that famous world championship. Kasparovs tantrum when he lost a game to young Anand was Legendary. And funnily later on Kasparov even became anands hidden second against Gelfand or Kramnik if I am not wrong… end of day its like Magnus doesnt need Chess but Chessworld needs him..

Our friend Magnus is so butthurt and insecure about a 19 year old World champion. 
@Gollum

@Mariyam  - I can’t believe someone as  sharp as you can’t see through Carlsen’s narcissistic “ I am bigger than the game “ conduct.

Whatever “good” he does is for his image. 

He is an utterly selfish and narcissistic individual , who after winning 5 World championships starts questioning the worth of Classical chess. And tries to distract youngsters towards a freestyle chess because he stands to make millions from the spnsor.

15 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

Our friend Magnus is so butthurt and insecure about a 19 year old World champion. 
@Gollum

@Mariyam  - I can’t believe someone as  sharp as you can’t see through Carlsen’s narcissistic “ I am bigger than the game “ conduct.

Whatever “good” he does is for his image. 

He is an utterly selfish and narcissistic individual , who after winning 5 World championships starts questioning the worth of Classical chess. And tries to distract youngsters towards a freestyle chess because he stands to make millions from the spnsor.

Gukesh is in Magnus' head 24x7. 

Observe how MC wants to avoid clashing with younger generation while he won the title from a guy old enough to be his dad. 

32 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Gukesh is in Magnus' head 24x7. 

Observe how MC wants to avoid clashing with younger generation while he won the title from a guy old enough to be his dad. 

In addition to being a plausible GOAT in Chess, he is a top class hypocrite and highly insecure individual. 

If Fabi had not choked against Magnus yesterday in what looked like a near certain draw ( he chokes far too often ), Gukesh would’ve won the Norway chess event. 

Now Magnus leads by 0.5 — But Gukesh has won more games. 

On 6/5/2025 at 7:10 AM, Gollum said:

Goras were talking about this even on French Open broadcast.

Global reach of chess is something, great soft power tool. Outside of commonwealth countries, guess someone like Gukesh will ring more bells than even Kohli, Sachin, Dhoni. 

That particular Clip got so famous that it reached Wignat TikTok and other social media platforms.  Full on racism was at display.

I think Norway Chess official admin had to step in after backlash from Indians & had to delete many racist comments.