Kuldeep is a fraud in white-ball cricket

Kuldeep is the best spinner in the country by miles,he should now be the #1 Spinner in the test side at least replacing the Great R Ashwin !

Only problem was lack of performance on the big stage which he has delivered today (also delivered In the SF of the Wt20).

The wkt of Ravindra and Williamson back to back made sure we stomped our authority in this match, else the result might have been different today.

If kuldeep was a Pakistani, his double wkt of Kane and RARA would have been talked like stuff of legends similar to Wasim's double breakthrough in the 92 WC final .

3 hours ago, adi B said:

Kuldeep is the best spinner in the country by miles,he should now be the #1 Spinner in the test side at least replacing the Great R Ashwin !

Only problem was lack of performance on the big stage which he has delivered today (also delivered In the SF of the Wt20).

The wkt of Ravindra and Williamson back to back made sure we stomped our authority in this match, else the result might have been different today.

If kuldeep was a Pakistani, his double wkt of Kane and RARA would have been talked like stuff of legends similar to Wasim's double breakthrough in the 92 WC final .

I still feel Kuldeep's strongest suite is Tests. In shorter formats, spin based all-rounders like Axar and Parag are the way to go as batting depth matters in ICC tourneys. The moment we started batting till 8 we've won two ICC tourneys back-to-back. Batting depth over specialist quality spinners is the way to go in white-ball cricket.

5 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

I still feel Kuldeep's strongest suite is Tests. In shorter formats, spin based all-rounders like Axar and Parag are the way to go as batting depth matters in ICC tourneys. The moment we started batting till 8 we've won two ICC tourneys back-to-back. Batting depth over specialist quality spinners is the way to go in white-ball cricket.

I think there should be a good mix.

The all rounders can be good defensive bowlers but still need Bumrah, Kuldeep, Chakri type guys to take wickets. Because both work in tandem. Because the wicket takers take wickets the batsmen then try and defend and then Axar/Jadeja/Sundar can squeeze.

3 all rounders + 3 full bowlers

9 minutes ago, deathmonger said:

The all rounders can be good defensive bowlers but still need Bumrah, Kuldeep, Chakri type guys to take wickets. Because both work in tandem. Because the wicket takers take wickets the batsmen then try and defend and then Axar/Jadeja/Sundar can squeeze.

Fully agree about 3 full bowlers. In spin based conditions my 3 specialist bowlers would be Bumrah, Varun C, and probably Kuldeep or another spinner.

In fast bowler friendly conditions (like SENA), 3 specialist bowlers would be 2 pacers and a spinner or 3 pacers - Bumrah, Harshit/Arshdeep, Varun C. Varun C is the only spinner I see getting into that specialist bowling position as a spinner.

12 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Watch Ashwin's matserclass about Kuldeep's ball against Rachin. Interesting to watch. Seems like Kuldeep had drift in that delivery.

Taking out both the centurions of the semis in the space of a few balls was a masterclass.

3 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Fully agree about 3 full bowlers. In spin based conditions my 3 specialist bowlers would be Bumrah, Varun C, and probably Kuldeep or another spinner.

In fast bowler friendly conditions (like SENA), 3 specialist bowlers would be 2 pacers and a spinner or 3 pacers - Bumrah, Harshit/Arshdeep, Varun C. Varun C is the only spinner I see getting into that specialist bowling position as a spinner.

Oh, so we’re all on the Varun C bandwagon now? Let’s see how long that lasts. I’d give it five to ten matches, maybe a couple of average performances, before the usual crowd the ever predictable ICF outrage brigade including you, starts declaring that he's lost his mystery, is a poor fielder, and doesn’t deserve a spot. Same cycle, different player.

4 hours ago, deathmonger said:

Indeed, the specialist bowlers still have a role to play. Varun is still a mystery for many batsmen. Guess he will remain as first choice specialist spinner for LOI. 

2 minutes ago, crictime said:

Indeed, the specialist bowlers still have a role to play. Varun is still a mystery for many batsmen. Guess he will remain as first choice specialist spinner for LOI. 

you need the wicket taking bowlers cause losing wickets make the batsmen play defensively and that makes the work of the defensive bowlers easier.

axar/jadeja are good containing bowlers but they can't do varun or kuldeep style bowling and break batting lineups. kuldeep took out both rachin/kane leading to a long period of rebuilding and varun took philips ensuring there weren't too many fireworks at the end. varun had also taken head in the previous match.

7 hours ago, adi B said:

That's massively disingenuous, I pointed this out in the other thread as well that Bumrah choked for 7+ years in KO games & in helpful conditions. Does no one remember Zaheer's meltdown in the first over of 2003 that lost us the finals? In general what you need is your bowlers to bowl well, not brilliantly, to win you games because our batting has won us games/trophies more often & I still believe batting will be our key/strong suit for years to come. Yes good bowling will make us good -> great but we simply can't ignore our batting even then, the 2023 final was lost due to our batting while 2003 finals was down to our insipid bowling!

Opposition team Afghanistan  or Australia  or Bangladesh  or England  or India  or Ireland  or New Zealand  or Pakistan  or South Africa  or Sri Lanka  or West Indies  or Zimbabwe 
Start of match date greater than or equal to 1 Feb 2015 
Tournament type 3-4 team tournaments  or 5+ team tournaments 
Match type tournament finals  or tournament cons. finals  or tournament semi-finals  or tournament quarter-finals 
Qualifications wickets taken greater than or equal to 10 
Ordered by bowling average (ascending)
Overall figures
Player Span Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 5 10  
JR Hazlewood (AUS) 2015-2023 9 9 69.5 10 306 19 5/50 5/50 16.10 4.38 22.0 1 0  
Shadab Khan (PAK) 2017-2022 8 8 40.0 0 275 12 4/26 4/26 22.91 6.87 20.0 0 0  
UT Yadav (IND) 2015-2023 3 4 58.0 7 234 10 4/31 4/31 23.40 4.03 34.8 0 0  
Mohammed Siraj (IND) 2023-2023 4 5 71.3 7 332 13 6/21 6/21 25.53 4.64 33.0 1 0  
MJ Santner (NZ) 2016-2025 11 11 67.5 4 319 12 3/43 3/43 26.58 4.70 33.9 0 0  
PJ Cummins (AUS) 2019-2023 6 7 67.4 3 314 11 3/51 4/138 28.54 4.64 36.9 0 0  
Mohammed Shami (IND) 2015-2025 9 11 139.1 23 638 22 7/57 7/57 29.00 4.58 37.9 1 0  
TA Boult (NZ) 2015-2023 12 13 114.1 11 564 19 4/44 5/86 29.68 4.94 36.0 0 0  
MA Starc (AUS) 2015-2023 11 12 106.3 3 565 19 3/34 4/148 29.73 5.30 33.6 0 0  
AU Rashid (ENG) 2016-2024 9 9 52.0 1 309 10 3/54 3/54 30.90 5.94 31.2 0 0  
GJ Maxwell (AUS) 2015-2025 13 10 59.1 0 332 10 4/46 4/46 33.20 5.61 35.5 0 0  
JJ Bumrah (IND) 2016-2024 12 13 111.5 17 492 14 2/12 2/12 35.14 4.39 47.9 0 0  
TG Southee (NZ) 2015-2023 10 11 93.0 12 559 12 4/48 5/112 46.58 6.01 46.5 0 0  
RA Jadeja (IND) 2015-2025 17 18 157.2 10 714 13 3/58 4/114 54.92 4.53 72.6 0 0  

This includes the WTC so slightly less useful/relevant for LO games.

Edited by R!TTER

The long term question was always Tests for me.

I think the problems regarding his pace are a little overrated.

He was bowling even in the 68-73 kph at one point and finding a lot of success. 

The length was a bigger issue. He started bowling too full and got clobbered for a couple of years. 

He is never going to be a stumps line spinner who bowls 90+ kph like Axar/Jadeja/Chakri. 

As long as he gets that dip and lands it in the 4-6 m region, he will always be succesful in ODI cricket , no matter what pace he bowls at. 

Edited by Nikhil_cric
14 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Seems like Kuldeep had drift in that delivery.

Big time. I didn't watch it live, but saw the replay of the dismissals and was stunned to see how much that one drifted.

10 hours ago, Suhaan said:

Tithi aur samay ko maine note kar liya hai ,

Duration from the final

Yehi tithi samay ke anusar OP ko agle ICC event me reminder dunga to replicate similar threads

OP Bharat ki jaan hai

Har player ka individual thread banaya jayega :--D

6 minutes ago, Lord said:

2023 me kyu nahi kiya :whack3:

Instead we had @maniac thread praising KL and we know what happened :((

Haan should've created a thread calling out KL, SKY, Gill, Kohli and Siraj before the final :sad_smile:

1 hour ago, Suhaan said:

Now @maniacis on a mission to take Parag to new unscalabe heights

Usse bhi sadak se utha ke star banadunga- when I started praising

Rohit did you expect him to win 2 World cups :giggle:

did you  expect Duckett to be England’s biggest all format batsman

did you expect Ishu to retire as a 300 test wicket legend

did you expect Rayudu to be a cricket tragic who now pelos gyaan about RSS and speaks sensibly  :nice: 

got trolled for calling Smith a great batsman when he was a poor leg spinner whose batting was called  hackish

Predicted Stokes as future ATG  

Aur bahut data hai :yay:

Edited by maniac

One of the issues with India winning in SENA has been ineffectiveness of Ashwin/Jadeja. When they were good in Aus, we won in 2018 and 2020.

Hope he becomes the lefty Warne now and wins us a few SENA series too alongside Bumrah.

chatGPT :

One notable inaccurate prediction made by the user 'maniac' on the forum www.indiancricketfans.com was regarding the 2021 T20 World Cup. In a post dated September 9, 2021, 'maniac' predicted that India would "decimate every opposition in groups and have the off day in knockouts." Contrary to this prediction, India failed to progress beyond the group stage in that tournament.