coffee_rules Posted March 11 Posted March 11 21 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: They do bro. Frozen foods are sold in all supermarkets across Indian Tier 1 cities, and people buy that as well. Working class population (specially bachelors). 7 hours ago, Mariyam said: Not going to comment on the economic impact of Trump's tariff's if placed, but Frozen meat is generally preferred by the white collared working bachelor/ rented apartment demographic who do not have the time to purchase meat from a butcher. Most households with families, irrespective of social standing, would buy from the butcher. Same is the case for processed meat. Preferred by the white collared bachelor/ rented apartment demographic. Is that market so huge to be impacting local products if tarrifs on imported American frozen meat products ? What India could do is import pulses/lentils from US instead of kaneda to throw a sop to Trump tarriffs silliness and make a deal out of it. This will teach kanedins to keep their Khalistani support in order. Retribution ! Mariyam and Muloghonto 2
singhvivek141 Posted March 11 Posted March 11 8 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Is that market so huge to be impacting local products if tarrifs on imported American frozen meat products ? What India could do is import pulses/lentils from US instead of kaneda to throw a sop to Trump tarriffs silliness and make a deal out of it. This will teach kanedins to keep their Khalistani support in order. Retribution ! Not much, maybe a percent or two. There are online delivery apps like "Licious" which offers fresh meat with on door delivery. It has eaten a big chunk of market of frozen meat as they come with ready to eat options as well. coffee_rules 1
velu Posted March 11 Posted March 11 (edited) 3 hours ago, coffee_rules said: That’s what Indian Govt stand also is. Who buys American cars - Dodge/Ford in India. ? Trump tariffs towards India is all posturing . There are nutters here who think our agro industry will be grossly affected. Globalism is under wane world over, protectionism is the flavor of the season. Everyone has to deal with it. India has to protect its own interests if India removes tariffs on EV because of trump then winner will be china and not USA , Indians will flock BYD and not TESLA .. In the long run we can’t protect our companies/interests by tariffing the imports ( consumers will suffer ) , we should encourage our companies to take more risks by making their life easier ps:- 35 lakh BYD is better than 1 crore bmw i7 Edited March 11 by velu Mariyam and Muloghonto 2
Muloghonto Posted March 11 Posted March 11 7 minutes ago, velu said: if India removes tariffs on EV because of trump then winner will be china and not USA , Indians will flock BYD and not TESLA .. In the long run we can’t protect our companies/interests by tariffing the imports ( consumers will suffer ) , we should encourage our companies to take more risks by making their life easier ps:- 35 lakh BYD is better than 1 crore bmw i7 Personally, I would say any car is better than bmw. Even ambassador. Worst car brand I ever owned. Gives German engineering a bad name. Mariyam, mishra and velu 1 2
mishra Posted March 11 Posted March 11 1 hour ago, Muloghonto said: Personally, I would say any car is better than bmw. Even ambassador. Worst car brand I ever owned. Gives German engineering a bad name. Car is good but bMW electronics always plays up. Think poor sensors and electronics are part of their earnings model Muloghonto and Mariyam 2
Mariyam Posted March 11 Posted March 11 4 hours ago, velu said: ps:- 35 lakh BYD is better than 1 crore bmw i7 4 hours ago, Muloghonto said: Personally, I would say any car is better than bmw. Even ambassador. Worst car brand I ever owned. Gives German engineering a bad name.
Mariyam Posted March 11 Posted March 11 5 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Is that market so huge to be impacting local products if tarrifs on imported American frozen meat products ? What India could do is import pulses/lentils from US instead of kaneda to throw a sop to Trump tarriffs silliness and make a deal out of it. This will teach kanedins to keep their Khalistani support in order. Retribution ! Most of the pulses/lentils are essential commodities. Protected constitutionally. India does import a fair bit of spice from Mexico.
R!TTER Posted March 12 Posted March 12 (edited) 13 hours ago, velu said: if India removes tariffs on EV because of trump then winner will be china and not USA , Indians will flock BYD and not TESLA Tesla will also benefit, their biggest exports are from China not NA. Although I'm not sure of the split with Asia/China likely producing at least 50% of their global output. BYD was(is?) practically state subsidized & their base costs are a lot lower. Edited March 12 by R!TTER
Mariyam Posted March 17 Posted March 17 On 3/11/2025 at 7:55 PM, velu said: where is your omega or Cartier ? Never heard of these. HMT and Titan all the way!!! velu 1
Mariyam Posted March 18 Posted March 18 On 3/10/2025 at 1:56 AM, Vicks57 said: @mishra you said you wanted FTA with USA. It will collapse our agri and auto sector. Please do some research before voicing your opinions. @coffee_rules @Muloghonto @vvvslaxman @zen @ravishingravi @diga @raki05 @Bharath @Lone Wolf @Back2Cricket @IndianRenegade @Stan AF Why don't you ever tag me? I am expert in economics, diet, politics, international relations, nutrition, history, calculus maths, talculus maths, talcum powder, inswinging bowling, googly & Tamil literature. Vicks57 and coffee_rules 2
coffee_rules Posted March 18 Posted March 18 10 minutes ago, Mariyam said: Why don't you ever tag me? I am expert in economics, diet, politics, international relations, nutrition, history, calculus maths, talculus maths, talcum powder, inswinging bowling, googly & Tamil literature. Why no Bollywood, Kollywood, Tollywood, Mollywood Sanalwood? Vicks57 and Mariyam 2
coffee_rules Posted March 18 Posted March 18 Is it that simple? What am I missing? There will be consequences in global economy for sure
Vicks57 Posted March 18 Author Posted March 18 (edited) 1 hour ago, Mariyam said: Why don't you ever tag me? I am expert in economics, diet, politics, international relations, nutrition, history, calculus maths, talculus maths, talcum powder, inswinging bowling, googly & Tamil literature. I will tag you from here on. You have made your bed. Now you have to lie on it. No complaints to stop tagging will be entertained. Edited March 18 by Vicks57 Mariyam 1