Confirmed News : Both Rohit and Virat are going to play the 2027 World Cup

1 hour ago, putrevus said:

Steve Waugh was not even patch on these two.So dropping him was not big deal, he had played one world cup too many.

Mark Waugh retired.Steve Smith again not patch on these two.

They are the reason why India has been consistent threat in all tournaments in last decade since 2013.They never had the help to reach to summit till now.

I don't see anyone better than Kohli for number 3 spot in 27.Rohit as a captain has been lucky for the team.Let us if he is fit for 27.

Kohli is a must if he chooses to play there.

So called flush talent cupboard will get their chances in 2026.

Why are people in a rush to push them out.People need to stop this madness.

It is common sense not madness.  It is absolutely retarded to think that we can have 2, 40 year olds in our top 3 for the world cup.

Nobody can fight time. Nobody.

Ponting scored a brilliant potentially matching winning knock against India in the 2011 WC Quarters.  Australia lost and Ponting soon played his last ODI knowing he will be 40 for the 2015 WC. Ponting was 35/ 36 in the 2011. I think he played his last ODI in 2012.

Ponting was infinitely fitter than Rohit and as fit as Virat.

It takes a couple of seasons for new players to settle into roles and to have the right team combination and strategy. 

We dont play as many ODIs due to T20.  It makes absolute sense to boot them out ASAP if common sense dictates that their fitness and reflexes will wane significantly in 2.5 years - especially in the case of Rohit.

Edited by rangeelaraja
1 minute ago, rangeelaraja said:

It is common sense not madness.  It is absolutely retarded to think that we can 2, 40 year olds in our top 3 for the world cup.

Nobody can fight time. Nobody.

Ponting scored a brilliant potentially matching winning knock against India in the 2011 WC Quarters.  Australia lost and Ponting soon played his last ODI knowing he will be 40 for the 2015 WC. Ponting was 35/ 36 in the 2011. I think he played his last ODI in 2012.

Ponting was infinitely fitter than Rohit and as fit as Virat.

It takes a couple of seasons for new players to settle into roles and to have the right team combination and strategy. 

We dont play as many ODIs due to T20.  It makes absolute sense to boot them out ASAP if common sense dictates that their fitness and reflexes will wane significantly in 2.5 years - especially in the case of Rohit.

Atthe very least one of them + Jadeja needs to go. Jaiswal has to be brought in and we need a pace based all-rounder in place of Jadeja. Someone like Nitish Reddy and Venky Iyer should be in the mix with Parag as backup for Axar's spot.

5 minutes ago, diga said:

You may not have seen the twin innings by Steve Waugh , one a 100 and other a 50 against South Africa which was the main reason Aus won the 1999 world cup

That 121* in SuperSix ?

18 minutes ago, diga said:

You may not have seen the twin innings by Steve Waugh , one a 100 and other a 50 against South Africa which was the main reason Aus won the 1999 world cup

I saw both of them.1999 Aussie domestic circuit was loaded with players who were better than him.

One or two innings no matter where they come don't determine the quality of any batsman. 

Steve Waugh was not even decent odi batsman forget being good. 3 hundreds in 325 matches prove that fact. That is why they kicked him out before he could ruin their 2003 world cup in 2002.

Even broken clock is right twice in day.

Edited by putrevus

ODI's are played sporadically, not sure what will happen in the future. But as the WC is 2.5 years away, dynamics might change.
What to do with Tests though ? both Rohit and Kohli are struggling there big time, and next Test series is in England.

2 hours ago, Lord said:

Arre bhai I thought you also said he should go :confused:

Was that for Tests or even that not now?

In test he should be dropped, as for ODIs he has achieved everything, that's why I thought he should stop. 

49 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

ODI's are played sporadically, not sure what will happen in the future. But as the WC is 2.5 years away, dynamics might change.
What to do with Tests though ? both Rohit and Kohli are struggling there big time, and next Test series is in England.

If Kohli wants to continue playing test cricket.He needs to rededicate himself by playing country cricket, he cannot come into series and hope he does well.It was pathetic batting from him.

It was embrassing to see his batting in Australia.He himself was to be blamed for those failures.He could have played full domestic season and found more matches to improve his technique.

Rohit was never going to work  in Australia, he was never good enough.He is done in test cricket.

If Kohli wants to keep playing IPL then he might just retire from all formats.

Edited by putrevus
1 hour ago, putrevus said:

I saw both of them.1999 Aussie domestic circuit was loaded with players who were better than him.

One or two innings no matter where they come don't determine the quality of any batsman. 

Steve Waugh was not even decent odi batsman forget being good. 3 hundreds in 325 matches prove that fact. That is why they kicked him out before he could ruin their 2003 world cup in 2002.

Even broken clock is right twice in day.

Steve Waugh batted at 5 and 6 for most of his career, primarily at #5

No batsman in his entire career (1986-2002) made more than 2 career tons at that position .

I was waiting for Rohit to announce retirement, bro literally came out and said nah!

Does he think that with the fitness he has going, he will make it to the 2027 WC? I can see Virat keeping the fitness part atleast - form is another question. 

Edited by Zero_Unit
3 hours ago, diga said:

shameless Steve even secretly funded a fan publicity campaign to somehow get into the 2003 squad.  He aint the exactly the role model to follow when it comes to retirement on time.

48 minutes ago, sandeep said:

shameless Steve even secretly funded a fan publicity campaign to somehow get into the 2003 squad.  He aint the exactly the role model to follow when it comes to retirement on time.

The example is not Steve Waugh but Australian selectors. Despite Steve Waugh wanting to play 2003 WC, and despite him being the main reason why Aussies won the 1999 WC, Aussie selectors dropped him in place of Symonds. Can you believe Indian selectors doing so? Can Indian selection committee have foresight and balls to drop a star who won them a WC but is declining?

i saw an IPL match( at wankhade) in which Ashok dinda was bowling Missiles at 140-145K+ and no batsman in MI was able to bat well against him...i remember POlard and other batsman literally scoring runs on and off but convincing runs- i mean they were edging or hiting here and ball going other side. 

initially rohit was also batting carefully and scoring runs slowly but when the 18th and 20th over ..dinda came , rohit hit him for 4 4's in one over.

dinda was bowling rockets, serious bouncers but rohit slapped his bouncers and literally won the match on his own. had he not scored so many runs of their best bowler at the end , MI would have lost.

i literally realised what ROHIT sharma is that day ...some balls which others are not even scoring a single , he is hitting the same balls for 4.

having said that i wish to acknowledge that DINDA at his Peak was a 137 to 146K bowler and definitely should have played for INdia longer than he played.

Edited by vishalvirsingh
12 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said:

who will tell them?

BCCI is in the pockets of media lobbies who want to mint money on basis of Rohit and Kohli playing. BCCI doesn't care what's good for Team India, all it wants is to rig tournaments so India wins trophies and IPL should benefit from Indian stars popularity which brings in money from media rights.. you see the vicious cycle here?

2024 t20 was not rigged. Post 2008 mumbai attacks, official policy of indian government is to not travel to Pakistan for cricket which meant India needed to play at neutral venue like it was played (asia cup leading up to 2023 ODI world cup) 

7 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Steve Waugh batted at 5 and 6 for most of his career, primarily at #5

No batsman in his entire career (1986-2002) made more than 2 career tons at that position .

What is your point. Steve Waugh was not even decent Odi batsman. 

5 hours ago, sandeep said:

I know that... I was just responding to putrevus comment about Steve playing one too many world cups when he performed and led the team well to a win in 1999. 

In fact, in the 2002 Ashes Steve Waugh was set to be dropped and he somehow pulled off a 100 in the final test and made sure the India series was his last. It became such a spectacle that focus shifted from cricket to Waugh memorabilia that Ian Chappell publicly disparaged him. 

5 hours ago, sandeep said:

9 minutes ago, diga said:

I know that... I was just responding to putrevus comment about Steve playing one too many world cups when he performed and led the team well to a win in 1999. 

In fact, in the 2002 Ashes Steve Waugh was set to be dropped and he somehow pulled off a 100 in the final test and made sure the India series was his last. It became such a spectacle that focus shifted from cricket to Waugh memorabilia that Ian Chappell publicly disparaged him. 

I think Warne has several times very openly criticized S.Waugh as the most selfish cricketer he has played with.   

3 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

I think Warne has several times very openly criticized S.Waugh as the most selfish cricketer he has played with.   

Have to agree with Warne . That was due to his habit of taking a single at every opportunity not shielding even a no-11... He would remain not out and boost his average

Edited by diga
7 hours ago, vishalvirsingh said:

i saw an IPL match( at wankhade) in which Ashok dinda was bowling Missiles at 140-145K+ and no batsman in MI was able to bat well against him...i remember POlard and other batsman literally scoring runs on and off but convincing runs- i mean they were edging or hiting here and ball going other side. 

initially rohit was also batting carefully and scoring runs slowly but when the 18th and 20th over ..dinda came , rohit hit him for 4 4's in one over.

dinda was bowling rockets, serious bouncers but rohit slapped his bouncers and literally won the match on his own. had he not scored so many runs of their best bowler at the end , MI would have lost.

i literally realised what ROHIT sharma is that day ...some balls which others are not even scoring a single , he is hitting the same balls for 4.

having said that i wish to acknowledge that DINDA at his Peak was a 137 to 146K bowler and definitely should have played for INdia longer than he played.

If Dinda is troubling batters and that too at Wankhede, it says more about the batters than Rohit. With all due respect to Dinda, he was never intl quality.