8 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

No, I am speaking from being involved in food aid missions for years.

Vegetarianism is impractical. Your 20 different kind of lentils and beans isn't easy to provide in middle of nowhere Chattisgarh. A chicken is. 

The issue is vegetarian diet because vegetarian diet is carb heavy... we has this discussion on how difficult it is to be vegetarian but get protein in balance without overconsumption of carbs. 

When we look to provide complete meal and nutrition to starving children, logistics matter. One chicken and a bag of rice solves the problem that without chicken u need 10 different bags and 90% of the time the food aid agency doesn't have it all. 

Who said you need 20 kinds of lentils? Staples like moong, masoor, toor, urad, and kabuli chana are already a part of most middle-class Indian households, commonly cooked in rotation with different vegetables.

Milk and yogurt are also widely available and form an essential part of a balanced diet.

A well-rounded diet that includes fiber from vegetables, along with these staple proteins, is more than sufficient to meet nutritional needs.

You cannot impose your dietary choices on others when there are equally valid perspectives and beliefs that differ from yours.

@Muloghonto  - Again nobody disagrees with the fact that gram for gram - meat has more protein and is more "efficient" from that standpoint

But it is not the be all and end all.  Vegetarian India is not going to change its value systems for more "efficient" proteins. 

6 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

Who said you need 20 kinds of lentils? Staples like moong, masoor, toor, urad, and kabuli chana are already a part of most middle-class Indian households, commonly cooked in rotation with different vegetables.

Milk and yogurt are also widely available and form an essential part of a balanced diet.

A well-rounded diet that includes fiber from vegetables, along with these staple proteins, is more than sufficient to meet nutritional needs.

You cannot impose your dietary choices on others when there are equally valid perspectives and beliefs that differ from yours.

Bhai, i am simply pointing out the logistics of it all. Look into it. As i said, we are talking of food aid/easy solution to raise nutritional load in population. Meat *IS* unbeatable in logistical advantage - go check when there is food donations drives done by UNESCO or whatever, how easy it is to package meat for population that eats it vs no meat for population that avoids it for simple complete meals.

We arent talking of how to improve food habits of general population, where you get to choose 10 differnt sabjee- etc like I do.Heck, **** i eat i will NEVER EVER recommend in terms of food security/hunger solutions because they are impractical for costs and logistics.

At end of day, beggars cannot be choosers and i dont care for any person's idea to choose their food habits while starving/depriving their kids of full nutrition.

my goal is to improve India's nutritional profile - which is easiest done by mass proliferation of meat and meat products ( dairy also goes hand in hand with this) - i dont care about who believes what should be eaten/not eaten.

If you take some time and look into what actually its like to send/organize food aids when its meat vs no meat, you will see, i am right as far as logistics go.

20 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

@Muloghonto  - Again nobody disagrees with the fact that gram for gram - meat has more protein and is more "efficient" from that standpoint

But it is not the be all and end all.  Vegetarian India is not going to change its value systems for more "efficient" proteins. 

It should. Vegetarian india should propagate its values when it has a full belly and nourished kids, till then, they should not choose values over health. as i said in the earlier post, look into how much easier it is to improve society's health metrics when society eats meat vs when it doesnt, go check UN food drives and the logistics involved for providing veggie tray vs non veg tray, see the cost of it all or the actual lack of feasibility of it all in actual real terms.

Then you will understand, i think.
The efficiency isnt about how meat itself is more efficient for body to eat for protien. Its the fact that eating meat means i gotta just give u 2 things for ur population to be food-safe in emergency : a meat + 1 carb ( potato/rice/flour etc) . When you take the meat out of the equation, you have to go source 5-6 different items. This is just reality of how it works in practice and end result means veggie emergency rations are actually malnourished in most real cases coz most sources simply dont bother with the cost or hassle.

PS: Dairy is usually a non-factor in food security/food drives etc because dairy spoils so easy. Only option is cheese but even cheese doesnt keep as easy for as long as air-dried/cured meats or dried veggies + carb you reconstitute with water, etc.

I used to think like you before i looked into food aid for Hurricane amphan. That is when i changed my mind because i saw what was being given as veggie relief food is inadequate garbage. That is the day i lost the respect for vegetarianism as a choice to be upheld in a starving society. I dont care about food ethics over starving children. Once we are all over-fed fatties like americans, sure, we can then get into moral quibble of what to kill or not to kill for food is my honest view.

and yes, you can counter with 'easy for you to say, you are walking human trash compactor, you eat any and all things people from around the world eat'  and yes, that would be true. It is easy for me to take this view, coz i am your typical bong - i eat everything. I make moral line around beef coz of religious reasons and i wont eat any human or primate coz we know it gives us brain rot prion disease. Apart from that, when it comes to meats, i have simple policy of 'if it moves, its edible and if some xyz group of people eat it, i am gonna eat it too', when it comes to veggies, i have univeral view of 'its medicine food,just eat it as fast as possible with no complain, pay the toll for the meat you are about to enjoy' and i happily eat veggies that even the chinese crinkle their nose at like steamed bok-choy in just allspice sauce. Not me, i am like that chinese grandma who will go 'gulp' to any and all veggies too.
I once said a long time ago, i try to make my meals in the Japanese format : 1:1:1 for source of dense protein + carbs + veggies. I just happen to be the guy who's choice of veggies and choice of meats is 'anything goes into these boxes'.

Edited by Muloghonto
On 3/20/2025 at 12:34 AM, Muloghonto said:

I dunno. this is my observation of bohris here in north america. Havent met one yet who isnt a bewra if male and 75% guarantee to be bewri if female. Maybe its different in India.
But here, in north america, Bohri is code for 'Sallu bhai lafangaa/lafangee-chaap' types.

Your anecdotal generalization aside,

Why do you spell it as bewra/bewri ? :confused:

It is bewda/bewdi.

Humans eat animal because we can. Why we can, because we are most evolved among animal kingdom. But humans can do many thing like throwing a nuclear bomb on another nation but we dont. So ultimately it boils down to basic concept of Dharma. For me Dharma is to survive with least disruption and most kindness with rest of nature. So answer to this question on basis of Dharma in my opinion is I must not kill/harm a animal or plant if I can surive on without killing them.

As far as nutition and strength goes their are many alternatives to get strong including hormones and Performance Enhancing drug. Is question is survival or being physically strongest?Answer to both is there are alternatives to choose from. Choice is yours. Horse is vegetarian too, So is elephant. So I dont buy arguement that animal protien is must to perform

PS: I was born in a vegetarian family. Turned non veg for few years as adult and now back to vegetarianism. And I am stronger than I have ever been vis a vis age. So may be my view on Dharm is clouded by my upbringing.Still  I firmly believe my position is more moral when it comes to living with nature

6 hours ago, Mariyam said:

It is bewda/bewdi.

I think its bewRA  and bewRI. 

Or atleast that's what I was taught by my upite Hindi masterji.his pet whine was how we bongs and maithilis change ra to da all the time, so I instinctively make everything Hindi ra instead of da. 

6 hours ago, Mariyam said:

It is bewda/bewdi.

9 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

I think its bewRA  and bewRI. 

Or atleast that's what I was taught by my upite Hindi masterji.his pet whine was how we bongs and maithilis change ra to da all the time, so I instinctively make everything Hindi ra instead of da. 

In the eastern states - Assam, Orissa, Bengal - because of the vernacular language , there is a phonetic substitution .

V/W is replaced with B ( they say biman, not viman ) 

D is replaced with R for a lot of words. 

@Muloghonto - I can understand, he has been an NRI. 

But @Mariyam - you should know this, unless you are a simpleton ( which I think you are not ) :laugh:

2 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

In the eastern states - Assam, Orissa, Bengal - because of the vernacular language , there is a phonetic substitution .

But @Mariyam - you should know this, unless you are a simpleton ( which I think you are not ) :laugh:

I have heard a lot of UP/Biharis saying "thora" when they mean "thoda". It is an accent thing.

2 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

I have heard a lot of UP/Biharis saying "thora" when they mean "thoda". It is an accent thing.

Yes, Bihar is also an eastern state. 
It’s not accent, it’s phonetic substitution- because of their vernacular language, their tongue doesn’t roll appropriately for such Hindi words. 

1 minute ago, rangeelaraja said:

Yes, Bihar is also an eastern state. 
It’s not accent, it’s phonetic substitution- because of their vernacular language, their tongue doesn’t roll appropriately for such Hindi words. 

And East Asians cannot say 'ra' , They replsce with 'la" - hear them say "Humolous"

17 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

So.... bewra or bewda? Bewda sounds wrong. It sounds like what you would call ur older neighbourhood guy: bew-da  

On 3/21/2025 at 7:52 PM, rangeelaraja said:

That switch goes both ways.

For instance, Bengalis say adde instead of arre.

I had a teacher (of Hindi no less) who used to say chup baitho, main parrara (padha raha) hoon  

Bhi Bhill Bhi Bhill Dock you!! goes a popular Bengali rock song by a Bangla artist Frerrie Medcudy

1 minute ago, Mariyam said:

That switch goes both ways.

For instance, Bengalis say adde instead of arre.

I had a teacher (of Hindi no less) who used to say chup baitho, main parrara (padha raha) hoon  

Bhi Bhill Bhi Bhill Dock you!! goes a popular Bengali rock song by a Bangla artist Frerrie Medcudy

We don't say addey. 

We say Oray...The A changes to O in bongistani usually. 

There is also this entire class of Bengali Bhadrolok who keep harping about Bengali being the sweetest language and all that. 

Very confrontational conversationalists.

2 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

We don't say addey. 

We say Oray...The A changes to O in bongistani usually. 

You are right.

I have heard Orray. Have heard Adde too, but not as frequently.

The strangest are the Bengali pronunciation of the names:

Sandhya

Arko

Akshay

Aishwarya

We plebs would never even guess!

5 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

You are right.

I have heard Orray. Have heard Adde too, but not as frequently.

The strangest are the Bengali pronunciation of the names:

Sandhya

Arko

Akshay

Aishwarya

We plebs would never even guess!

Adde  as in adda  ?? That would make sense coz we are such lazy people...much like the tamils. 

Good list btw. 

10 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

There is also this entire class of Bengali Bhadrolok who keep harping about Bengali being the sweetest language and all that. 

Very confrontational conversationalists.

Bengali isn't a very sweet language. Urdu is sweeter. Any bonf who tells u Bengali is a sweet language is a tone deaf Kaku. 

10 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

Bengali isn't a very sweet language. Urdu is sweeter. Any bonf who tells u Bengali is a sweet language is a tone deaf Kaku. 

These language bhakts  are so funny.  Someone  claimed that some falana said that Telugu is the French of India for its sweetness in language. I vehemently disagreed as I hear how my wife  yells at me in Telugu when angry. I do pardon her her French in thay way.