rangeelaraja Posted March 31 Author Posted March 31 6 minutes ago, mishra said: @rangeelaraja GDP number to remittances is not right. Correct bracket will be exports to remittances. More correct value will be net profit in exports to direct remittances in USD valuation. Chewts who comment on NRIs are generally frustrated lot jealous of success of the NRIs @mishra - Or Annual Remittance to Annual FDI Annual Remittance to Current FX reserves Annual Remittance to Current account deficit mishra 1
Muloghonto Posted March 31 Posted March 31 1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said: It's amusing how many people still believe that migrating to the West means signing up for an easy life. What they don’t see is the struggle beneath the surface—years spent in immigration queues, career uncertainties, and competing with the very best global talent just to stay in the top 5%. Nothing about it is easy or guaranteed. Let’s be real: very few people migrate to the West because of “democracy.” India is a democracy too. People migrate because of economic incentives, meritocratic systems, and the opportunity to retire early and return home with financial security. Yet, there’s this odd obsession in India with glorifying democracy. Democracy is a relatively recent idea, barely 300 years old. The Indian civilization thrived for over a millennium without it, during which we contributed nearly 25% of global GDP. And for those clinging to the belief that democracy equals good governance—Singapore proves otherwise. No one would seriously contest it being one of the most efficiently governed nations in the world. It's been run by a single-party system led by the legendary Lee Kuan Yew and his bloodline- all within the family - yet damn effective. Over the last 100 years, how many nations have industrialized rapidly under a functioning democracy? Very few. Those that did either had imperialist wealth, or single-party control to move fast. Just look at our own Mumbai–Ahmedabad high-speed rail (HSR) project. We’ve been talking about it for over a decade. In that time, China has built over 10,000 km of HSR, and even completed a longer line in Indonesia. Meanwhile, in India, we continue with endless delays for the barely 700 KM Mumbai-Ahmedabad line. Congratulations. Nacho apni Democracy pe, BC. India's curse has been democracy and right to question has produced loonies like the ones on this thread of who speak ill of NRIs. As for the NRI community—last year alone, we sent back $130 billion in remittances. That’s 3.3% of India’s $3.9 trillion GDP. This forex inflow allowed the RBI to spend $77 billion to stabilize the INR. Without that, the dollar would’ve easily crossed 100. https://www.businessworld.in/article/rbi-spends-77-bn-forex-reserves-to-stabilise-rupee-amid-depreciation-546063 O bhai, my doctor-engineer cousins in India dont realize how good they have, in terms of life, if they can just make peace with inhaling gas-chamber quality air or life. They all have naukar-chaakar to do little things and eat like kings, we eat like kings or homeless people based on how much energy we have that given day out here lol. As a plus, i am by far the best cook in my entire khandaan from my generation, man or woman combined. They even are stoopid enough sometimes to say its coz i have TALUNT for phood. LMAO. Yes, 'talunt' means u still *up biriyani from time to time but also make good biriyani from time to time, despite logging in well over 2,000 hours in cooking over your lifetime. Lolz. But lets get one thing straight - democracy is neither young, nor PHOREN to India - india pretty much everywhere has been democratic for at least 2000-3000 years at the biggest damn level democracy operates in the world : Gram panchayat/municipal council level. I dont think gram panchayat is a thing anywhere in the world outside of India and gram panchayat IS a decisive default of ALL over Indian dehaat, be it in kashmir or kanyakumari and that is pretty much, continous democracy. Sure, like with anything, it wont be the same thing over 2500 years and terms/conditions will change and democracy evolves just like how any idea evolves. People dont understand, that **THIS** is what makes democracy 'export' in India, like goras like to call it, so unique - why democracy succeeded outside of west so well in India- even better than Japan or Korea or East Asia coz hello, Indian democracy has longer continuious record without coups than them : India ALREADY HAD democracy for 2500 years and counting, all over dehat, be it chandragupta maurya or harasha or aurajgzeb or Robert Clive and when it came to modern democracy, desi angootha-chaaps basically think of it as "fancy pare-likhe loge panchayat election".
rangeelaraja Posted April 1 Author Posted April 1 9 hours ago, Muloghonto said: But lets get one thing straight - democracy is neither young, nor PHOREN to India - india pretty much everywhere has been democratic for at least 2000-3000 years at the biggest damn level democracy operates in the world : Gram panchayat/municipal council level. I dont think gram panchayat is a thing anywhere in the world outside of India and gram panchayat IS a decisive default of ALL over Indian dehaat, be it in kashmir or kanyakumari and that is pretty much, continous democracy. Sure, like with anything, it wont be the same thing over 2500 years and terms/conditions will change and democracy evolves just like how any idea evolves. People dont understand, that **THIS** is what makes democracy 'export' in India, like goras like to call it, so unique - why democracy succeeded outside of west so well in India- even better than Japan or Korea or East Asia coz hello, Indian democracy has longer continuious record without coups than them : India ALREADY HAD democracy for 2500 years and counting, all over dehat, be it chandragupta maurya or harasha or aurajgzeb or Robert Clive and when it came to modern democracy, desi angootha-chaaps basically think of it as "fancy pare-likhe loge panchayat election". Bhai, before Independence—prior to 1947—Panchayats weren’t elected through universal adult suffrage. Caste and land ownership largely determined how Panchayats were formed. It was a form of “decision by consensus,” yes, but that consensus typically came from the village elite. Common villagers, lower castes, and likely women were excluded from the decision-making process, as far as historical accounts go. So if we define “democracy” as the consensus of the affluent few in a village, then sure—you could argue there’s been a form of democracy for thousands of years. But in reality, most people didn’t have a say / vote. Lord and Mariyam 1 1
Mariyam Posted April 1 Posted April 1 On 3/30/2025 at 9:30 AM, coffee_rules said: Your puns in ICF are funnier than his lazy do take ki writing. Relevant to the thread. Its on the basis of this 'song' that the Shiv Sena trashed The Habitat Centre and have threatened Kamra with assualt. This is his other remix of Badshah o Badshah PS: I can see edits! coffee_rules 1
Muloghonto Posted April 1 Posted April 1 (edited) 9 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: Bhai, before Independence—prior to 1947—Panchayats weren’t elected through universal adult suffrage. Caste and land ownership largely determined how Panchayats were formed. It was a form of “decision by consensus,” yes, but that consensus typically came from the village elite. Common villagers, lower castes, and likely women were excluded from the decision-making process, as far as historical accounts go. So if we define “democracy” as the consensus of the affluent few in a village, then sure—you could argue there’s been a form of democracy for thousands of years. But in reality, most people didn’t have a say / vote. Bhai there is no universal suffrage anywhere till 20th century. In UK in 1800s women couldn't vote. In rome and Greece only men who owned land could vote. That means " muh roman Greek democracy" is that of 10% people of land being eligible to vote, FYI. Voting is voting, democracy is democracy and panchayat system is the oldest and most continously form of democracy there is. As I said, TOS of democracy, like any thing long term, has varied and changed but reality is simple: we are the only land of continuous democracy coz gram panchayat == Desi dehaat, be it mizoram or rajasthan, kashmir or Kanyakumari. And this factor hasn't changed for 2000-3000 years regardless of who rules at dilli or if kolkata is new capital or whatever. Edited April 1 by Muloghonto
MechEng Posted April 1 Posted April 1 On 3/31/2025 at 10:39 AM, jf1gp_1 said: ..but isnt it applicable across the board and not just for those living abroad. My father comes from a small village of maybe 200 people. Stepped out to study at a college in a big city and never went back. He still talks about wanting to do things for his village but hasnt done anything meaningful. Does that mean he doesnt love or care about his village ? I have spent a decent time in US, unless you have lived there you have no idea kind of hardship most (who moved at students) have to go through to build that life. 350+m remittance per day which has uplifting countless lives in India. So to dismiss folks settled outside India as selfish isnt being fair on them. This is not for your general NRI, but those who have a deluded perception of India. The ones who see everything as a conspiracy to subjugate Hindus (who happen to be the most moral people to have stepped on planet earth). There are NRIs who see themselves as Americans and are least bothered about Modi, Rahul etc. They're more grounded in reality.
coffee_rules Posted April 1 Posted April 1 6 hours ago, Mariyam said: PS: I can see edits! Thought my comment was too zyatti P.S - MeH! On his writing. That kind of parody is so elementary.. bacchonwali harkat. Varun Grover does anti-Modi stuff. Much more mature and subtle Lord 1
Teengunalagaan Posted April 3 Posted April 3 1 hour ago, Lord said: bit unrelated but Who needs goondas when you have karyakartas View this post on Instagram A post shared by NAMAN ARORA | नमन अरोड़ा (@namanarorax) Lord and mishra 2