On 3/26/2025 at 3:49 PM, Tillu said:

spacer.png

Most of the venues to be in Ahmedabad.

spacer.png

These are delusions of a section of our capitalist class. It is their pet  kanging project and the bill is to be paid by the Indian tax payer.

Tokyo olympics cost 13 billion dollars. That is approximately 1 lakh crores. It's too expensive. 

Edited by kepler37b
On 4/3/2025 at 6:24 PM, coffee_rules said:

Disagree with @Gollum that Olympics investment is a waste. I know for a fact that during the Asian games in 1982 , many schools in Delhi got swimming pools. CWG might be a collosal waste with scams, but Delhi got cleaner and many infrastructure investments in roads and bridges did happen.

Private investment is what is needed and is good for the economy. We can’t compare it to Paris or London which are already developed. A developing nation gets a boost with such economic activity. 

Did not see any such thing happening due to olympics in Brazil in 2016. 

On 4/3/2025 at 12:48 PM, Tillu said:

If we could sustain the current growth rates our GDP will be roughly around 8 trillion by 2036. That's double our current GDP. China conducted it's first Olympics in 2008 when it's GDP was 4.6 trillion. So we should be hopefully able to conduct the Olympics without any hiccups or minimal bad press.

And regarding the medals it would take a lot longer to get to a respectable total. We will be in the same boat as Qatar who conducted the FIFA World Cup without having any great legacy. All the sporting infra created will be useful for the future athletes.

4.6 trillion was a lot of money back in 2008. It would probably be equivalent to 15 trillion in 2036. Besides, China was already a sporting superpower by the early 1980s.

Greece went into massive debt and economic crisis after hosting 2004 Olympics. Budgeted cost for 2016 Rio Olympics was less than 5 billion and actual cost was over 14 billion due to widespread corruption and overbilling. Most of those sporting facilities in Rio and Athens became ghost towns within 3 months. Many of them have been demolished due to safety issues and non-maintenance.

India is way worse in terms of corruption and mismanagement compared to these countries. I can't even imagine how much of taxpayers money will be looted if we were to host the Olympics. We already saw a trailer during 2010 CWG. Even after spending all that money, we will be mercilessly criticised by western media for anything and everything that doesn't go perfectly.

These events are simply an insane waste of money, especially for any country that doesn't already have most of the infra ready. That's why no country wants to host even the CWG. Canada, Australia and South Africa have all pulled out as CWG hosts due to "financial constraints". Even 2026 CWG is scaled down to just 10 sports for the same reason.

Building stadiums won't create medallists. That money can be spent in grassroot level funding. For example, the government can give out sport scholarships to promising teenagers and provide them job security in case their sports career does not work out. Lack of stable livelihood is what stops 99% of our population from pursuing sports professionally. We need to invest in people first.

7 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Ayush is 6"4" could be  India's response to Victor Axelson Perhaps.  Only 20 but insane potential.  Let's goooo

Bit of digression, but i see this gen teenagers growing so tall. I mean I see an good appreciable jump in height.  I am sure the trend across country is not so different.

6 hours ago, BCCISelector said:

4.6 trillion was a lot of money back in 2008. It would probably be equivalent to 15 trillion in 2036. Besides, China was already a sporting superpower by the early 1980s.

Greece went into massive debt and economic crisis after hosting 2004 Olympics. Budgeted cost for 2016 Rio Olympics was less than 5 billion and actual cost was over 14 billion due to widespread corruption and overbilling. Most of those sporting facilities in Rio and Athens became ghost towns within 3 months. Many of them have been demolished due to safety issues and non-maintenance.

India is way worse in terms of corruption and mismanagement compared to these countries. I can't even imagine how much of taxpayers money will be looted if we were to host the Olympics. We already saw a trailer during 2010 CWG. Even after spending all that money, we will be mercilessly criticised by western media for anything and everything that doesn't go perfectly.

These events are simply an insane waste of money, especially for any country that doesn't already have most of the infra ready. That's why no country wants to host even the CWG. Canada, Australia and South Africa have all pulled out as CWG hosts due to "financial constraints". Even 2026 CWG is scaled down to just 10 sports for the same reason.

Building stadiums won't create medallists. That money can be spent in grassroot level funding. For example, the government can give out sport scholarships to promising teenagers and provide them job security in case their sports career does not work out. Lack of stable livelihood is what stops 99% of our population from pursuing sports professionally. We need to invest in people first.

That is a great point. We as a nation have great strides to make. To even maintain same speed as chinese, forget about the distance between.

Many ICFers don't even reside in India. They have no idea about the current state of 2010 CWG venues or 2003 Afro-Asian venues (Hyderabad), even BJP has done nothing to revive them. 

A state of the art velodrome (for indoor cycling sprints) was constructed in Delhi for the CWG, but roof gave away in less than 5 years, rain destroyed the wooden tracks, became unfit to host even national championships. Now our cyclists have to train, do their trials abroad, because the only velodrome in India had a lifetime of less than 5 years. Major Dhyan Chand was upgraded for CWG but today even Rourkela, Ranchi, Rajgir type towns have better hockey stadiums. State of Hyderabad stadiums is even worse. Just hangout spots for horny couples and drug addicts, not for public. Just like Athens, Rio Olympic venues. 

Only developed nations with pre-existing infrastructure or richie rich Arab states should host Olympics. Anyway why do we bother when we can't guarantee even 10 medals, or a gold? China won 15 gold medals in 1984, top 3/4 by 90s, sole challenger to USA supremacy by 2000 Sydney. India is at least 100 years behind China in that regard. Every Olympic host has performed well and at least finished in top 10....India is not assured of finishing above Pakistan or Uganda. 

7 hours ago, BCCISelector said:

4.6 trillion was a lot of money back in 2008. It would probably be equivalent to 15 trillion in 2036. Besides, 

China was 4.6 trillion in 2008, world GDP was 63 trillion.

When Indian GDP touches 4.6 trillion (will anyway be an overestimation), world GDP will be 120 trillion. 

Indian economy is overrated, let us first strive to be an upper middle income country (like Brazil was in 2016) in our lifetime. Let our HDI metrics reach Sri Lanka's level by end of this century, let our public hygiene/sanitation standards match those of African countries, then build fancy dreams. 

12 hours ago, kepler37b said:

Bit of digression, but i see this gen teenagers growing so tall. I mean I see an good appreciable jump in height.  I am sure the trend across country is not so different.

Btw Europe America average height peaked in 1990. East Asia in 2010. South Asia and Africa still growing. 

Gradually build infrastructure, target CWG in 2030, Asian Games in 40s and Olympics after 2050. If any scam happens along the way, hang every corrupt guy involved.....ensure facilities have a shelf life of 100 years, they shouldn't become haven for drug addicts, rapists and prostitutes 6 months after end of the event.

By then aim for a top 20 finish at least, consistently in medal tables, not one off events. 4-5 gold medals, and 20 overall medals in 2-3 consecutive Olympics, tab jaake sense banega. Sports culture hi nahi hai is mulk mein, first work on that. China incorporated swimming timings as part of qualification to one of their STEM entrance exams, now they have started beating the goras in what was considered an all white sport. We OTOH have just 4-5 disciplines where we can fight for medals, don't even dream of going beyond our comfort zone.  

India should stay well away from hosting the Olympics. Too expensive, will be embarrassed in the medal table and the public doesn't care enough about all of those niche sports so expect empty venues.

Better off investing the money into football, the most popular sport in the world.

19 minutes ago, kepler37b said:

@Gollum @Ranvir.

The IOC is even more hard. I hope modi and co abandon this project of megalomaniacal glory.

Olympic bids are rarely successfull in first try. 

Aussies bid for 92, 96, got 2000 Sydney.

Beijing had a great bid for 2000 but edged out by Aussies, by one vote I think. 

Turkey has been bidding every time for God knows how many decades.

GBR, Brazil, France, Japan had many unsuccessful bids before getting to host...imagine a meticulous country like Japan having bids rejected multiple times. 

Indian bid in general should be binned easily but problem is not many heavyweight competitors in 2036....apart from us, only Indonesia, Turkey, Chile have made bids. And Modi, Ambani seem very serious in their ambitions, and Ambani usually gets what he wants, no matter at what cost to the country. 

Germans are eyeing 2040 bid to mark 50 years since Berlin Wall coming down. So they will probably get that. 

And after that many countries have expressed interest like England (London), UAE, Saudi, China, Qatar, South Korea, Italy, Spain, Argentina etc. Most powerhouses feel they won't be ready to host in 2036.

IOC was in fact very keen that Warsaw (Poland) or Cape Town (RSA) host it in 2036 since Eastern Europe, Africa are largely untouched geographies when it comes to hosts. But they pulled out due to corruption concerns. 

34 minutes ago, kepler37b said:

@Gollum @Ranvir.

The IOC is even more hard. I hope modi and co abandon this project of megalomaniacal glory.

If they go ahead with it.. they deserve to be kicked out of power as simple as that.

Hopefully IOC slaps them hard before they commit this blunder.

17 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

If they go ahead with it.. they deserve to be kicked out of power as simple as that.

Our enemies would love for us to win this bid. Guaranteed L for Indian economy, reputation....and there will be no benefit even for our sporting scene. We all remember how it was during 2010 CWG, humiliating experience apart from the mega scams. Olympics scale will be 100x bigger. 

53 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

This more and more looks like a regional kanging project. 

And I agree.

NDA needs to be kicked out if they go ahead. But again, the alternative is the worst nightmare.

38 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Our enemies would love for us to win this bid. Guaranteed L for Indian economy, reputation....and there will be no benefit even for our sporting scene. We all remember how it was during 2010 CWG, humiliating experience apart from the mega scams. Olympics scale will be 100x bigger. 

Unless we fix the basic issue like garbage disposal and proper sanitation, we should not even think of hosting olympics.

Tell me, how many towns in India have an underground drainage. It flows in open, causing such a disgusting feeling even to visit these places.

46 minutes ago, Gollum said:

I still remember a white panelist, during. NDTV discussion saying: ”Picture of shining India has been punctured by CWG games".

Infact the corruption and fiasco of that games had started the extreme anti-incumbency against Congress in many urban areas.