14 hours ago, Vancouver said:

One thing I learnt in my 40 years on this planet is to stop controlling others. Only time you should care is if they are doing self harm or posing a safety risk to you. 

What if you are the part of cultural collapse and generation before you was more open minded and receptive to other's views and beliefs. Has it ever crossed your mind?

This isn't about “controlling” others — it’s about acknowledging how the cultural ecosystem of a country can be vitiated when vulgarity becomes normalized. When crude language and behavior are celebrated, they attract more of the same — creating a self-reinforcing cycle that cheapens public discourse and corrodes values.

Take Punjab, for instance. Once the pride of India — known for its industrious spirit, agricultural excellence, and its contribution to the armed forces — today it grapples with a disillusioned youth, widespread drug abuse,  everyone and their uncle wants to migrate to Canada.

This didn't happen overnight. It’s the result of an ecosystem that was allowed to decay unchecked.

Look at West Bengal — once a hub of intellectual and industrial might. Decades under communism, followed by the communal leadership of that  power hungry psychopath despot MB,  has left the state de-industrialized and disoriented.

A society that fails to regulate its cultural environment — cannot survive rotting.

It’s not about opposing comedy or freedom of expression. It’s about refusing to celebrate filth as art simply because it’s widely available or popular. 

3 hours ago, AuxiliA said:

Not trying to control others does give you a lot of mental peace. But I don't think Rangeela bhai was trying to "control anyone" here. He's just voicing his opinions like anyone. 

'Open minded' logic works both ways. These 'comedians' and their supporters also need to be open minded to understand why exactly people are going against them all of a sudden and make necessary amends. 

Having certain boundaries doesn't mean you are narrow minded. It takes an open mind to understand that. 

Yes, criticism of jokes is also FoE, not liking a joke doesn't mean one is narrow-minded. But asking for their heads, fearing societal decay because of a few jokes and state intervening and hounding them with FIRs and arrests are a far outreaching. State should go after "real" criminals.

20 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

Great job Gollum bhai. Intervening almost 2 days after the fight:hatsoff:

Saw it today only, also in some other thread. 

24 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

That is what is sarcasm about.  

31 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

He's just using exaggeration in comedy, of course no one is complaining about sex with partner LMAO

It was funny, better than 95% of our comedy content, but highly inaccurate. Should have talked about incest and not his friend's wife to make it accurate. 

Such misinterpretation defame us moral policemen. :no:

32 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Yes, criticism of jokes is also FoE, not liking a joke doesn't mean one is narrow-minded. But asking for their heads, fearing societal decay because of a few jokes and state intervending and hounding them with FIRs and arrests are a far outreaching. State should go after "real" criminals.

I am not liking what police are doing to Ranveer/Samay. Online criticism/trolling should have been the end of it. No need for FIRs at all. 

However that hypocritical political con-artist masquerading as comedian Kamra deserves all sh*t coming his way. What goes around comes around. 

2 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

I am not liking what police are doing to Ranveer/Samay. Online criticism/trolling should have been the end of it. No need for FIRs at all. 

However that hypocritical political con-artist masquerading as comedian Kamra deserves all sh*t coming his way. What goes around comes around. 

Agree 1000%.  He deserves all the kambal-kutai. Even his comedy is 3rd rate ghatiya.

51 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Max Amini is damn good. 

Subtle language and class even in “adult “ jokes. 

Not like our gutter level abusers. They belong to the sewer. 

Edited by rangeelaraja
2 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

Max Amini is damn good. 

Comment section is full of comments joking he could have cases filed against him for this like ranveer, samay. Probably for the last part 'white hair downstairs' ...

11 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

Max Amini is damn good. 

so a white guy opining on an elderley indian woman's pubic hair coloring system to her face is subtle and damn good, but an indian comedian just saying the word vibrator implies the cultural collapse of the nation !

15 minutes ago, goose said:

so a white guy opining on an elderley indian woman's pubic hair coloring system to her face is subtle and damn good, but an indian comedian just saying the word vibrator implies the cultural collapse of the nation !

Touché

That comedian is Iranian, but your point is still valid.

2 hours ago, goose said:

@goose

You're comparing Max—who was subtle and never used foul language, even when interacting with an adult woman who was willingly flirting and

said she was “single for the moment”.

vs. Another classless desi girl who is casually talking about sharing a vibrator with her mother? And this, on the heels of the Ranveer/Samay show, where incest and sex with parents were joked about?   This goes far beyond being inappropriate—it's disgraceful.

2 hours ago, Mariyam said:

Touché

That comedian is Iranian, but your point is still valid.

And you @Mariyam

I must say, I’m truly surprised by your stance on this. You, of all people—always the first to drop a dramatic “touchééé” anytime someone so much as breathes a counterpoint to me. Really, thank you for your steadfast friendship. Warms the heart.

Dear @rangeelaraja

I don't find the joke tasteful or funny. The one form the OP. I don't find Max funny either.

What I find funny is the extrapolation of a few lame jokes to paintbrush an entire nation and cry wolf!

Cultural collapse? Because one girl in one comedy show made an inappropriate joke.

Also, why do you know about this joke? We can't risk you being a part of the cultural collapse. Need you for the Indian renaissance. 

29 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

@goose

You're comparing Max—who was subtle and never used foul language, even when interacting with an adult woman who was willingly flirting and

said she was “single for the moment”.

vs. Another classless desi girl who is casually talking about sharing a vibrator with her mother? And this, on the heels of the Ranveer/Samay show, where incest and sex with parents were joked about?   This goes far beyond being inappropriate—it's disgraceful.

And you @Mariyam

I must say, I’m truly surprised by your stance on this. You, of all people—always the first to drop a dramatic “touchééé” anytime someone so much as breathes a counterpoint to me. Really, thank you for your steadfast friendship. Warms the heart.

Just say you don’t like their humor.  No need to comment on decaying society etc. That Iranian guy just told her that her pubic hair is grey. What’s so subtle about that?

9 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Dear @rangeelaraja

I don't find the joke tasteful or funny. The one form the OP. I don't find Max funny either.

What I find funny is the extrapolation of a few lame jokes to paintbrush an entire nation and cry wolf!

Cultural collapse? Because one girl in one comedy show made an inappropriate joke.

Also, why do you know about this joke? We can't risk you being a part of the cultural collapse. Need you for the Indian renaissance. 

Dear @Mariyam ,

Kem chhe ?

It reached me—because that’s how social media algorithms work.

When something goes viral, it inevitably shows up in everyone’s feed. And if it can reach me, it can certainly reach millions of impressionable minds across the country, making them believe that this kind of content is “cool,” trendy, acceptable—even a viable career path.

Call me orthodox, call me old-fashioned—but 19 years in US haven’t changed who I am at heart. I’m a ’90s Mumbai kid, and I deeply miss the beauty and innocence of the India I grew up in.

Just now, rangeelaraja said:

Dear @Mariyam ,

Kem chhe ?

It reached me—because that’s how social media algorithms work.

When something goes viral, it inevitably shows up in everyone’s feed. And if it can reach me, it can certainly reach millions of impressionable minds across the country, making them believe that this kind of content is “cool,” trendy, acceptable—even a viable career path.

Call me orthodox, call me old-fashioned—but 19 years in US haven’t changed who I am at heart. I’m a ’90s Mumbai kid, and I deeply miss the beauty and innocence of the India I grew up in.

I'm a 90s Mumbai kid too. And will always be.

I miss my childhood days. When we (as a society)  had a lot lesser and we were simply far more alive. 

But the Mumbai of the 90s doesn't exist. The options I have are straightforward: change with the times and try and thrive in the current set up.

Or live in nostalgia forever and become increasingly irrelevant.

You are an NRI. You have the luxury of an option. You deal with Mumbai on your vacations, mostly.  I don't have that option.

There is only one funny vibrator joke on the planet and its in the movie fight-club. Its about what happens when a goody-two-shoes woman forgets to take the batteries outta the vibrator she dilligently packed in her check in luggage, but upon arrival and the bag being tossed on the conveyor, vibrator is accidentally activated so bag is vibrating and customs opens it in front of her face. And this joke is funny because of the way it is delivered, by a deadpanned bored night shift guard to a high ranking someone.

Thats it, the end. Rest all vibrator jokes are lame.

Edited by Muloghonto
1 hour ago, Mariyam said:

I'm a 90s Mumbai kid too. And will always be.

I miss my childhood days. When we (as a society)  had a lot lesser and we were simply far more alive. 

But the Mumbai of the 90s doesn't exist. The options I have are straightforward: change with the times and try and thrive in the current set up.

Or live in nostalgia forever and become increasingly irrelevant.

You are an NRI. You have the luxury of an option. You deal with Mumbai on your vacations, mostly.  I don't have that option.

Sorry to say this, but i refuse to deal with mumbai even on vacations. I had an uncle and aunt live in mumbai for decades and i made mistake of routing to CCU via Mumbai and break-journeying and visiting cousins a few time. Yeah eff that. Learnt my lesson quick and just instead saw them if and when they came to kolkata.

Mumbai to me = overcrowded, crazy expensive city, waaaaaaaaaaaay more expensive than i care to if i am not getting western/japanese standards and on top of it all, its arial flood city. Your rainy season is fearsome water-logging hell-hole of complete paralysis.

Eff that. I am mucho better off routing to CCU via dubai or Singapore or even Delhi depending on season.

Mumbai is the kind of city that has zero appeal to me and i wouldnt spend a DIME on the city. Not because i have something against mumbai per se, but i simply have no time for cities that are boring rat-race cities of modernism as a tourist. Same reason when i visited Colombia, the least amount of time i spent was in Bogota, because Bogota is basically your latin american version of a north american cities - you have your financial sector, bars, uni, a couple of museums, etc. etc and there is no active CULTURE in the city except for evening-time night life or a standard working class western city.

Its like i visited Indian detroit or Latin American LA. No thanks. My free time is far more precious to appreciate uniqueness on this planet than see more modernity boringness.

Ofcourse, not all old world cities have this boring-ness of mumbai. Delhi has actual history and culture i can get lost in, even in sweltering heat. Same with Bangkok or Tokyo. But Taipei ? Eff that. Another boring mumbai-esque bland rat-race city.

@Muloghonto

Eating (and drinking) is an essential part of our culture. And Mumbai offers a lot of variety and across price points. Perhaps Kolkata and Delhi are better for street food, but in terms of general availability of any kind of cuisine ( or fusion of cuisines) at any time, Mumbai is the go to city and not Kolkata or Delhi.

Delhi has a culture? :confused:

What kind of 'culture' have you experienced in Delhi and Kolkata, that you can't in Mumbai?

Edited by Mariyam
9 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

@Muloghonto

Eating (and drinking) is an essential part of our culture. 

Delhi has a culture? :confused:

What kind of culture have you experienced in Delhi and Kolkata, that you can't in Mumbai?

I can go touch things in delhi that are older than islam.

i cannot in mumbai or kolkata.

As you know, i am big in history and my main focus of history is actually coins. which means dilli is about 1000 times more interesting to me than mumbai.
I cant even eat in peace in mumbai seeing your manhattan prices. Oof.

You should've seen my wife's epic meltdown when she realized one time i deliberately declined to bring back some spices from india because i sneaked in an actual brick from indus valley civilization in my luggage. She nearly broke that brick in anger too :)

PS: i dont come to India to eat fusion food. if i wanted indian fusion food, i will go to singapore and eat in 5 star hotels there and i have done that whenever i used singapore as transit hub to CCU.

I come to India to eat real Indian food. Reality is, mubai sucks for quality meets price. Its like USA, where mumbai is manhattan. its good but super expensive.

Edited by Muloghonto