17 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Many of his songs were copied in Bollywood and the copied version is more popular. Another IR fav:

Yeah, same for many ARR songs as well. Many of my North Indian friends have no idea that Roja, Bombay, Hum se hai muqqabla, Dil Hi Dil Mein and many others are dubbed versions of ARR's Tamil albums 

Taal and Hum Dil De chuke sanam were the best albums from 1999.

Chand Chupa and Aankhon Ki Gustakiyan were magical, and Dol bhaje was a vibe.

In Taal, every song was magical and still so fresh even today.

Edited by bowl_out
46 minutes ago, bowl_out said:

This song came in freaking 1993. 

Can't believe Thiruda Thiruda missed National award. AR Rahman's first decade was absolute genius

One of my fav ARR songs , he used to get unknown singers like Anupama in the above song and make magical music.. his output in last few years truly disappointing . Even his BG music sucks , Although he couldn’t come near Maestro in BG music. That choreography in that song is so average, that kind of music needed somebody like prabhudeva

32 minutes ago, Lord said:

Today I learnt 

This is well known to me for a decade.

There used to be a channel "Desi Megamind" which used to expose plagiarism. It talked about this.

Jab koi baat bigad jaye too is a copy of 500 miles.

9 hours ago, bowl_out said:

This song came in freaking 1993. 

Can't believe Thiruda Thiruda missed National award. AR Rahman's first decade was absolute genius

Thiruda thiruda was Donga Donga in Telugu. Not a day went by where we didn't hear these songs. Especially the beginning  of this song where music travels to and fro between the music stereos.

Every song from this movie was magical. "Thee thee" was also one of my favourite songs from this album. Loved the Berkeley school of music performance for this song.

Mohini Dey the bass guitarist who used to play for AR Rahman was instantly noticed by eminent western musicians after her performance here. After this she played with some of the biggest western players in the music industry.

The other guitarist Prasanna who played sitar like tunes on his guitar trained the NRI Maaya Neelankantan who performed on America got talent. We can see his influence in the video.

7 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Mayuri Kango was the heartthrob in thay era.

Sadly she left industry too early.

Other day I saw the lead actor from this movie Jugal Hansraj in Ibrahim Ali Khan's(Saif Ali khans son) movie and instantly thought about Mayuri Kango.

8 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Mayuri Kango was the heartthrob in thay era.

Sadly she left industry too early.

That message had me googling about her. Thought she’d passed  away young . She’s heading the media  dept of Google India. Smart girl

15 minutes ago, Tillu said:

Other day I saw the lead actor from this movie Jugal Hansraj in Ibrahim Ali Khan's(Saif Ali khans son) movie and instantly thought about Mayuri Kango.

Mayuri Kango is in some multinational company now...at a prestigious position.

18 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

That message had me googling about her. Thought she’d passed  away young . She’s heading the media  dept of Google India. Smart girl

Yeah, beauty with brains.

Good to see that some of the actors arent dumb entirely and have a functioning brain.