Ranji Trophy 2025-26

On 10/15/2025 at 11:24 PM, diga said:

"Surprisingly" both of us were the selectors and you were the chairman. pic.twitter.com/QvtzZEbWkG

https://t.co/q8kHY6rkkv

— Aditya Soni (@imAdsoni) October 15, 2025

Very sad commentary about selection in Indian cricket and story of journeyman cricketer Jalaj Saxena 

Paras Dogra is another name.

Problem is these players were just avg in their 20s...it's only when they reached early to mid 30s...they actually improved and became domestic stalwarts.

I am impressed with Trivandrum pitch.  I think this is where INdia reduced SOuth African team to 9/5 with Arshdeep running riot. Ball just zips off the surface when it is new. No ugly marks, no cracks. Just good pitch helping seamers upfront. No stopping of ball. Need to examine the history of this pitch.

18 hours ago, pramodk said:

Did a Google search and came up with ..

What does military medium pace mean ? Slower than Anil Kumble??

Any future prospects for India??

"Jatin Pandey and Sahil Raj picked up five wickets among themselves with their military medium-pace to rattle the hosts top order. "Our bowlers are used to these conditions. On this kind of wickets, we have exploited better (in the past) and that experience came in handy," insisted Sunny. The former Delhi Daredevils player had an interesting tale to say that these bowlers took a cue from Gurjapneet Singh's (4/71) bowling and exploited the surface to the hilt."

https://www.newindianexpress.com/sport/cricket/2025/Oct/16/wake-up-call-for-everyone-coach-senthilnathan-after-tn-reduced-to-185

I guess we can never be sure of speed until we see it with the speed gun readings and with line and with swing and with wickets...i guess we just have to wait for these new pacers to come of age ...

https://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/for-jatin-it-is-all-about-bowling-fast-and-scaring-the-batter/article70176098.ece

21 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said:

Nidheesh from Kerala looks quite decent. Great length, and his pace looks more than decent. Maybe bowling at 137ish. 

Last when I saw Nidheesh under speedometer..he was bowling 125-131...few odd deliveries at 134.

He has stronger runup and action, but dont have enough pace.

31 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Last when I saw Nidheesh under speedometer..he was bowling 125-131...few odd deliveries at 134.

He has stronger runup and action, but dont have enough pace.

Ya could be 131. But his length and bounce gives a perception of quicker pace. He certainly can improve his pace, because he is not putting too much into his run-up. Also, he can still catapult his last step in bowling action, a bit quicker. he has potential to bowl quicker. Definitely a decent bowler.

1 hour ago, Rightarmfast said:

Nidheesh from Kerala looks quite decent. Great length, and his pace looks more than decent. Maybe bowling at 137ish. 

Bowls 125-130k

1 hour ago, rkt.india said:

Bowls 125-130k

Yes, so i heard. But I guess when I watched him this morning, he bowled a few deliveries a little sharper. He is better than a 125-130k's bowler, for sure.

1 hour ago, Rightarmfast said:

Yes, so i heard. But I guess when I watched him this morning, he bowled a few deliveries a little sharper. He is better than a 125-130k's bowler, for sure.

Age saath nahi hai bhai...he is 34 already.

I always felt he had strong action and physique to bowl quicker...but Kerala state association hardly cares.

1 hour ago, cowboysfan said:

what is happening to indian cricket? have we forgotten how to play spin?

MP outbowled Punjab against spin battle only. Pacers were just to get rid of the shine.

Patidar scored unbeaten double hundred.

Edited by singhvivek141
1 minute ago, singhvivek141 said:

MP outbowled Punjab against spin battle only. Pacers were just to get rid of the shine.

Patidar scored unbeaten double hundred.

Shreya Gopal has taken 11 wickets and counting, he is just a journeyman spinber and nobody can play him on a track which is not even a raging turner.

5 minutes ago, cowboysfan said:

Shreya Gopal has taken 11 wickets and counting, he is just a journeyman spinber and nobody can play him on a track which is not even a raging turner.

Even Dharmendrasinh took 10 wkts.

These journeyman spinners and batters know how to grind and get wkts...thats why their performances needs to be taken by a pinch of salt.

Saurasthara doesnt have enough batting talent as well. Likes of Chirag Jani is opening the batting, who is bang average.

3 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Even Dharmendrasinh took 10 wkts.

These journeyman spinners and batters know how to grind and get wkts...thats why their performances needs to be taken by a pinch of salt.

Saurasthara doesnt have enough batting talent as well. Likes of Chirag Jani is opening the batting, who is bang average.

You need to give these so called journey men spinners and batters a shot. You can't just say these  youngsters .... have talent and speed and because of that with exposure will do well in the international arena.. Australia thrives on giving their domestic stars opportunities and then gives them a long rope ...