Most dogs in my area in India are raised and protected by the communities as if they belong with people. 

Usually, the fight is among dogs of different areas. 

7 hours ago, zen said:

Most dogs in my area in India are raised and protected by the communities as if they belong with people. 

Usually, the fight is among dogs of different areas. 

and do they bite or run after humans?

4 hours ago, pkmmamks said:

and do they bite or run after humans?

Bite, no. Run, yes, depending on circumstances including where a biker (or a vehicle) has harassed (knowingly or unknowingly) one of the dogs, making them angry at bikers in general so they could run to bark at them.

On 8/13/2025 at 11:08 AM, randomGuy said:

ye nakli data hai 

According to the MCD data and recent surveys, Delhi alone has an estimated stray dog population of around 10 lakh -- only a meagre 4.7 lakh were sterilised in 2023.

10 lac for 1.5 crore is abt 67 per 1000 people...my society has 5000 residents and 50-75+ dogs....plus on main roads, in markets there are many more dogs.....5-10 lacs is accurate number.

https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/india/how-many-stray-dogs-are-there-in-delhi-ncr-massive-task-before-authorities-after-big-sc-order-13435669.html

This makes sense though 

20250814_114047.jpg

1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

This makes sense though 

20250814_114047.jpg

I don't eat non-veg and mostly avoid dairy also for animal welfare....but wouldn't even oppose shooting down of stray dogs if there's no better option.

Btw USA has only 80 cases of rabies from 1990 (35 years) , and less than 5 cases every year....those opposing SC here should be ashamed of themselves.

Edited by randomGuy

Tough one. And I think the underlying issue is corruption and implementation.

Municipals get big money, yet full of corruption, and have poor infrastructure. So this stray dogs detention to shelters is just theoretical, and would possibly just get killed by them.

Yet, I still think it has been done? And all countries have taken many tough decisions in the past, and India especially needs to make its cities walking-friendly, be it safety, cleanliness, infrastructure. 

On 8/12/2025 at 10:45 PM, Lone Wolf said:

Pahadi folks are dog loving is the only explanation I guess for JK.

Or Maybe Municipality issues there.

For what it's worth... Delhi seems like a dog free zone lol.. who would've thought :phehe:

J&K actually has lots of wild (& dangerous) pahadi dogs who even hunt n eat humans in packs.

I stayed in Indian army camps during my trips to Kargil and Leh. Soldiers there worry a lot more about wild dog attacks than terrorists. 

48 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

J&K actually has lots of wild (& dangerous) pahadi dogs who even hunt n eat humans in packs.

I stayed in Indian army camps during my trips to Kargil and Leh. Soldiers there worry a lot more about wild dog attacks than terrorists. 

I have only seen big dogs with Gujjar Bakarwals on my way to Amarnath Yatra a while back... They have a thick muscular build for sure, can be intimidating but seemed domesticated mostly.

Maybe things are different in the wild.

1 hour ago, AuxiliA said:

Is it built like dobermann? One idiot has dobermann kind of dog in neighbourhood, the dog is mad for no reason, i asked him the breed he said it is pahadi kutta.

Many people still have rottweiler, bulldogs/pittbull whatever despite been banned by govt here.

21 hours ago, AuxiliA said:

^^Also the greatest line by a movie villian ever!

"Humse ladne ki himaat to juta longe, paar kaminapan kahan se laoge." :adore:

Kutta khaya, kaminapan. Are you talking about Hindi movie villain or a Chinese ? 

With the garbage trucks collecting waste directly from the individual households, the community garbage bins are left with less food and out of hunger these stray dogs are getting aggressive with kids and old people on the streets.

48 minutes ago, Tillu said:

With the garbage trucks collecting waste directly from the individual households, the community garbage bins are left with less food and out of hunger these stray dogs are getting aggressive with kids and old people on the streets.

lol. There is more than enough garbage on Indian roads. We can direct the dogs there. May be the dogs will clean it too because the authorities aint doing it