Asia cup Squad announced for India - Gill returns as VC

6 minutes ago, putrevus said:

I know it is beyond your comprehension.

You are beyond everyone's comprehension not just mine

You are GOAT of this forum

1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

Rinku Singh always sneaks his way into squads... Zero performance in domestic, IPL and failing in last 3-4 series in International level.

Riyan Parag getting robbed in broad daylight.

I am Rinku Singh's #1 fan (or #2, if you ask @Lord). But I agree with this. He hasn't done a whole lot in the last 1.5 yrs. That said, hope he justifies his selection.

Why so much randi rona over this squad ? It was predictable apart from gill inclusion. 

Ab sabko moka to ni de sakte na. 

Iyer ne kya tir mara hai international T20 main? Jara koi batana. 

Bakwas Kara lo sabse.

56 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

They Made Gill VC so he isn't a backup opener... Dude will slot right into the playing XI.

That's why it is Stupid move to make him VC

He isn't proven in the format.

That's the only worry.  Gill should be back-up opener at best. 

But I think they are going to play him at 3 instead Tilak Verma .

2 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Gill had better IPL last couple of seasons comparatively.  Jaiswal should stick to test and ODI cricket.

Jaiswal is more dynamic though, better at maximising from the word go where Gill can take some time to settle 

I don't like Gill in T20is , really wanted Jaiswal in

35 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

These two midgets Agarkar, and Gambhir have vendetta against Shreyas Iyer. ANyone who saw this IPL knew who showed more intent.

Absolutely agree that he should be in but the question is a valid one, who'd he replace in the squad 

He's a no 4, that is Tilak position or Sky.

I think picking Gill and not Jaiswal is a bigger problem 

Anyway I think this could work better for Iyer, he should captain the India A team Vs Aussies in four day matches. He could play home tests Vs WI and SA

1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said:

Fans can go f*** themselves. BCCI should have its vision clear regardless of what fans think. Bumrah is an essential resource  for Test

i am 100% sure he wont play the WI tests now.

1 minute ago, cowboysfan said:

i am 100% sure he wont play the WI tests now.

He shoudnt.. he's not needed. Just take 3 spinners and 2 pacers ( Harshit and Akash deep) Maybe he will be back for SA home tests

2 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Tilak will have to sacrifice his no 3 spot.. that's pathetic actually 

I'm not sure... As They will drop Sanju right, and Jitesh comes in at 7 

Edited by Sooda
13 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Since Gill is VC, he will play

Samson

Sharma

Gill

SKY

Dube

Hardik

Rinku

Axar

Varun C

Arshdeep 

Bumrah 

Likely first XI

Apart from gill this is also my playing 11 as posted on PP. 

All base covers. 

Iyer can bat at 5 but gill and tilak can't.

Also he wd hv been crucial in those low wickets

How can tilak and Gill both play in top 3

Moving sky down to 5 is also no brainer .

1 hour ago, putrevus said:

Why does he need to play odi world cup ? to lay another giant egg in knockout matches.

Let him retire from test cricket then.India will be fine in long run.

Wasn't bumrah instrumental in our wt20 final win? Or have your mental illness made you forget that? 

Also the hypocrisy where you wanted bumrah to skip LOIs while welcoming Gill to the same format.

Have seen many shameless losers but you take the cake.

27 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Since Gill is VC, he will play

Samson

Sharma

Gill

SKY

Dube

Hardik

Rinku

Axar

Varun C

Arshdeep 

Bumrah 

Likely first XI

Maybe but it would be criminal to drop Tilak, less criminal to drop Sanju and play Jitesh instead of Rinku

33 minutes ago, test fan said:

Why so much randi rona over this squad ? It was predictable apart from gill inclusion. 

Ab sabko moka to ni de sakte na. 

Iyer ne kya tir mara hai international T20 main? Jara koi batana. 

Bakwas Kara lo sabse.

It is not about winning. It is about the tone they set. Omitting deserving players due to vendetta  is a red flag. This can happen in other formats as well.

50 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Gill will struggle on slow wickets just like many of our batters did in 2021 World T20 and 2022 Asia Cup

Even CT in Dubai, his strike rate was 75

Really think we would need Samson in UAE.  Timers actually don't work there.

Samson gives a real smack at the ball. Ideal batter for UAE type slowish decks.

Even Abhishek won't find it easy but he plays pace well so it may not be as challenging for him.

3 minutes ago, Sooda said:

Maybe but it would be criminal to drop Tilak, less criminal to drop Sanju and play Jitesh instead of Rinku

ICC world no.2 ranked Tilak varma lol He may find himself out to accommodate blue eyed boy.

1 hour ago, putrevus said:

Yeah Abhishek Sharma and Sanju Samson will light up the scoreboard while Gill will crumble under pressure.

The guy walked in 0/2 and saved a test match but he will crumble under pressure in some useless t20 match.

Gill will be just fine in all formats.

Let's wait and watch Asia cup t20  need different skill set Indian team don't need statpadding players 

Just now, Lone Wolf said:

Really think we would need Samson in UAE.  Timers actually don't work there.

Samson gives a real smack at the ball. Ideal batter for UAE type slowish decks.

Even Abhishek won't find it easy but he plays pace well so it may not be as challenging for him.

Iyer should have been there.