17 hours ago, Gollum said:

Looking forward to hearing reviews of other ICFers, maybe we can discuss the plot later once everyone has seen it, can't find the spoilers button here. @Lone Wolf bhai is watching today.

Is the resident cinephile @zen planning to watch it? 

Watched it last night... Thoroughly enjoyed.  I was expecting to be bit bored at the start coz of longer run time but it delivered.  It's most definitely a big screen watch.

Funnily Only found the action bit its only weaker point but damn the world building, characters story and that unique semi documentary style won me over.

Akshaye stole the show as we all know by now... But  Rakesh Bedi whatta  underrated performer as well. 

Red screen scene stays with you post the movie for a while I'd say.

Excited for the sequel

Edited by Lone Wolf

I am sure no matter how many times I watch it, won't get bored. 2nd time toh pakka dekhna hai, but may even watch it 3-4 times during its theatrical run. 

Aditya Dhar is going to become a colossal figure in Indian cinema. 

24 minutes ago, Gollum said:

I am sure no matter how many times I watch it, won't get bored. 2nd time toh pakka dekhna hai, but may even watch it 3-4 times during its theatrical run. 

Aditya Dhar is going to become a colossal figure in Indian cinema. 

Even the BGM and songs were great. Played some of them on the way back home from the theatre. Some of the songs were outstanding. Very memorable movie for sure. 

Last movie that stuck with me in a good way was Chhava. 

But obviously this was more personal. All the events came back like a nightmare.

2 minutes ago, bharathh said:

Even the BGM and songs were great. Played some of them on the way back home from the theatre. Some of the songs were outstanding. Very memorable movie for sure. 

Last movie that stuck with me in a good way was Chhava. 

But obviously this was more personal. All the events came back like a nightmare.

The Arabic one is a killer. Didn't see this coming. 

3 minutes ago, ravishingravi said:

One thing I got to give credit for. The movie is fresh. I don't see it derived from a genre or another movie. Except that love angle to some extent. 

Even I thought it was a drag, but maybe will be an important subplot in part 2. 

Have never seen @Gollum so excited about a movie!

My review: 8/10

It is a good movie however this is not a genre I enjoy. Also, Ajay Devgan would have made a better Hamza. Ranveer is all buff no brooding.

Don't want to give away spoilers here. But for the first time I can't categorize this movie into a typeset genre.

Edited by Mariyam
39 minutes ago, ravishingravi said:

One thing I got to give credit for. The movie is fresh. I don't see it derived from a genre or another movie. Except that love angle to some extent. 

** SPOILER ** Don't read if you don't want spoilers

IMO, he used the girl to get to the father. Nothing wrong with that being in the movie. He wouldn't have leverage over the politician guy without her. Also, she passes him those videos which allows him to ingratiate himself inside the gang.

16 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Ajay Devgan

bolo zubaan kesri doesnt havr the acting range anymore like Ranveer does, all he can do is Dhrishyam and Raid types where he just needs to have a serious expression and talk in a low voice

15 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Also, Ajay Devgan would have made a better Hamza. Ranveer is all buff no brooding

Areee nahi... The scenes where Hamza will be centre of attention will be in part 2.  That's when he will justify why he's the main lead.

In this one he had to remain in shadows and observe everything from a silent corner

Apart from Ranveer's hairstyle everything was fine with his acting.

1 minute ago, LordPrabhzy said:

bolo zubaan kesri doesnt havr the acting range anymore like Ranveer does, all he can do is Dhrishyam and Raid types where he just needs to have a serious expression and talk in a low voice

Devgan looks always stoned these days even on screen.  I can't take that guy seriously anymore.

1 minute ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Once Upon a Time in Mumbai?

Zakhm?

The Legend of Bhagat Singh?

Omkara?

Raincoat?

Kachche Dhaage?

No range, really?

Ranveer has done a good job here. However, he is over the top and there is no subtlety or emoting through the eyes that Ajay Devgan is capable of.

21 minutes ago, bharathh said:

** SPOILER ** Don't read if you don't want spoilers

IMO, he used the girl to get to the father. Nothing wrong with that being in the movie. He wouldn't have leverage over the politician guy without her. Also, she passes him those videos which allows him to ingratiate himself inside the gang.

SPOILER

Thing is, it looks forced. What I can believe. The girl can be 18 and her hormones are raging and is disenchanted with her father. So she falling for him is not impossible. But class divide is HUGE. He wearing a Salwar and entering discotheque or going to high end mall with her or keeping her at his dingy place. For me this whole thing pulled me out of that world. I know there is Part 2, but for me this whole part was avoidable. It makes other props very difficult to believe. Him maintaining a diary as a baloch tribal. Dont expect him to read let alone write. For a guy going undercover, this seems very callous. Not to mention he is beaten up and bloody. Instead of getting himself fixed in hospital, he comes back home in that condition. Not saying impossible since he is also his most vulnerable at that time. But for a cold blooded spy, this is just not how they think.

16 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Once Upon a Time in Mumbai?

Zakhm?

The Legend of Bhagat Singh?

Omkara?

Raincoat?

Kachche Dhaage?

No range, really?

Ranveer has done a good job here. However, he is over the top and there is no subtlety or emoting through the eyes that Ajay Devgan is capable of.

All those films are over 10-15 years old. I was talking about recent stuff

3 hours ago, Mariyam said:

Have never seen @Gollum so excited about a movie!

My review: 8/10

It is a good movie however this is not a genre I enjoy. Also, Ajay Devgan would have made a better Hamza. Ranveer is all buff no brooding.

Don't want to give away spoilers here. But for the first time I can't categorize this movie into a typeset genre.

Post-pandemic Bollywood movies have in general been very underwhelming. Also this movie doesn't shy away from showing the evil entity that ISI is, no forced friendship or them teaming together, the kind of nonsense we get in YRF spyverse. 

Sorry to interrupt this serious discussion, but any time I hear the name "Dhurandhar," I see Utpal Dutt flash in front of my eyes. 

ACP Dhurandhar Bhatawdekar in Rang Birangi 1983.  

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSDqJQquuJOIoo_5Jr5W0K

PS: I think there was also a quick reference to him in Arjun 1985, but it might just be my mind playing tricks.

PPS: Somehow, from movies I watched as a teenager, I still remember some things. But things I watched later in life ... blank!!