Ashok Sharma

tweaker

Just because there were alot of faster bowlers and wrist spinner bowling in this Smat there was alot of excitement and the series looked good.

They should put the speedometer in every game.

Trundlers and LA spin drops the quality.

The reason why DPL t20 players are able to make directly to IPL playing 11 is because of that alot of bowlers are clocking ~140 kmph or early 140 kmph.

So as a scout they know certain batter can at-least play and hit 4/6 vs 140 kmph and certain bowlers can bowl 140 kmph

5 hours ago, tapandrun said:

Just because there were alot of faster bowlers and wrist spinner bowling in this Smat there was alot of excitement and the series looked good.

They should put the speedometer in every game.

Trundlers and LA spin drops the quality.

The reason why DPL t20 players are able to make directly to IPL playing 11 is because of that alot of bowlers are clocking ~140 kmph or early 140 kmph.

So as a scout they know certain batter can at-least play and hit 4/6 vs 140 kmph and certain bowlers can bowl 140 kmph

SMAT 2018 was also quite exciting ,with Avesh,Desi Starc,Saini all clocking high 140s lifted the quality 

We had similar discussions here then as well

52 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

SMAT 2018 was also quite exciting ,with Avesh,Desi Starc,Saini all clocking high 140s lifted the quality 

We had similar discussions here then as well

Avesh was hyped up lol now abused as trundler.

Who is desi Starc?

1 hour ago, Lord said:

Avesh was hyped up lol now abused as trundler.

Who is desi Starc?

Arey bhai our Abhains clocked 148 in IPL that year also,backing his SMAT rhythm 

Edited by Suhaan
On 12/7/2025 at 2:52 PM, deepdynamo said:

He looks like your next favourite fast bowler to back afrer Rana and Prasidh. We are sure to get timely update on his progress from @express bowling bro.

i met Harshit Rana at the airport. He has broad shoulders and looks very good-looking. he is the only fast bowler in indian team among prasidh/arshdeep who bowls at a pace which is not visibly seen..i saw few balls which i could not notice at all where as Prasidh who was bowling close to 140k..i could see th ball going.i had a good seat towards square boundary.

arshdeep is average in fielding and even harshit is average...when catching practice was going on , dhruv jurel was running in and taking catches but arsh was only catching balls that were thrown at him straight, he never tried to run and take a diving catch. as far as his bowling is concerned , he bowls exactly on the line ..9th or 10 th stump , even half an inch more and it will be declared a wide ball.

he is just smart and has great control over his line and length and he is very tall..i feel he has practically no TALENT. i mean he is just very steady and very clever in reading the batsmen.

1 hour ago, vishalvirsingh said:

i met Harshit Rana at the airport. He has broad shoulders and looks very good-looking. he is the only fast bowler in indian team among prasidh/arshdeep who bowls at a pace which is not visibly seen..i saw few balls which i could not notice at all where as Prasidh who was bowling close to 140k..i could see th ball going.i had a good seat towards square boundary.

How tall did Harshit look from near ?

And are you saying that he was looking much quicker than Prasidh clocking a bit higher speeds  ?

I remember that, on the ground, I could not see deliveries by Srinath and Donald in the 1990s. And, later on, I could not even remotely see deliveries by Jasprit Bumrah, who looked much much quicker than any other pacer from either side. Much more than Speed Guns suggest.

5 hours ago, putrevus said:

How is Dhoni the t20 player.Is he worse than Bhuvi?

Was talking across formats.

Even in T20 atleast he has 2007. Bhuvi never won any important game in ICC tourneys

I am not going to get excited abuot clock speed anymore. Fast bowling requires so many elements coming together. Wrist snap,  run up, release  lot of things. How the batsmen perceive what matters. Mayank looked impressive because he actually hurried guys like Cam Green and other batsmen.  Umran in one of the IPl edition . But they all vanished. Needs a bowler who can sustain it. These guys  can't even achieve consistency in 4 over format. Bumrah here slogging for us in Test matches in addition to two other formats. We easily insult him when he goes through a rough stretch.  Imagine these guys playing tests. I want these bowlers bowl a lot more overs under the belt. Train their muslces. Not just make money for clocking 150k in one season.  These guys just don't take the game to next level because they settle for life

20 hours ago, vishalvirsingh said:

arshdeep is average in fielding and even harshit is average...when catching practice was going on , dhruv jurel was running in and taking catches but arsh was only catching balls that were thrown at him straight, he never tried to run and take a diving catch. as far as his bowling is concerned , he bowls exactly on the line ..9th or 10 th stump , even half an inch more and it will be declared a wide ball.

he is just smart and has great control over his line and length and he is very tall..i feel he has practically no TALENT. i mean he is just very steady and very clever in reading the batsmen.

Sardar Arsh is NO WHERE close to RP singh or ZAK or even irfan pathan in PACE or talent.

actually i am shocked and surprised some one with so average PACE is now selected to play for india in t20 world cup too.

what goes in his favour- his height , he can get bounce even with a 120K mid pitch to fuller ball.

his accuracy ..i have seen him bowling either on the stumps to get LBW Or exactly on the line , if umpire wishes he can even call that ball a wide ball. his accuracy is as much as Jasprit bumrah. he can take wickets with the new ball and later may be with a bouncer.

though he is good as a t20 bowler but as an ODI bowler , he is a medium pacer and should not be picked to play for INDIA in odi matches.

arshdeep ground fielding is OK but his catching is AVERAGE , he does not try to approach a catch like any good fielder does. if you see kohli or hardik or nitish they move ahead and when they get a catching opportunity , they try to take catches...arsh does not do that.

Harshit is an attacking bowler and when he is bowling pace , he beats the batsmen , hits the batsmen and even gets wickets. his pacy deliveries are good though they can be snicked for a 4 too.

he tries his slow ball some times which is just average and normally he is HIT on the slower ball. harshit tries his best in ground fielding but is not too good in taking high catches , i saw in fileding practice , both these guys only took catches when catches were thrown to them. they never tried when the catch was 5 metre away where as i saw dhruv trying to take catches which were 10 metres away too- kind of impressed me.

i would consider harshit in all 3 formats when ever he is ready and some times even prefer him over arshdeep as he is an attacking option where as sardar arsh is a defensive option.

more over harshit >arsh in batting.

fielding both are equal.

if any one wants some fielding drill pictures of players( vishakapatnam match), message me and i shall be glad to send on whatsapp or email.

13 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

I am not going to get excited abuot clock speed anymore. Fast bowling requires so many elements coming together. Wrist snap,  run up, release  lot of things. How the batsmen perceive what matters. Mayank looked impressive because he actually hurried guys like Cam Green and other batsmen.  Umran in one of the IPl edition . But they all vanished. Needs a bowler who can sustain it. These guys  can't even achieve consistency in 4 over format. Bumrah here slogging for us in Test matches in addition to two other formats. We easily insult him when he goes through a rough stretch.  Imagine these guys playing tests. I want these bowlers bowl a lot more overs under the belt. Train their muslces. Not just make money for clocking 150k in one season.  These guys just don't take the game to next level because they settle for life

GT bought him for 90 L

13 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Clock speed is important. Wrist snap, runup, release are all useless without good clock speed.

2 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Clock speed is important. Wrist snap, runup, release are all useless without good clock speed.

Yea.. comes down how batsmen perceive. Mohammad sami was consistently having high clock speed. But he looked the easiest to play against compared to bowlers who bowled at lesser speed. Infact during the Ashes Brett Lee was  explaining how Brydon carse who bowled at 140k looked slower as he had a very low wrist snap speed compared to Archer. They were praising Archer and Starc  because they could almost match Bumrah's wrist snap speed. "Anyone matching Bumrah has to be very good" Those were the words of kerry o keefe.

Edited by vvvslaxman
42 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Yea.. comes down how batsmen perceive. Mohammad sami was consistently having high clock speed. But he looked the easiest to play against compared to bowlers who bowled at lesser speed. Infact during the Ashes Brett Lee was  explaining how Brydon carse who bowled at 140k looked slower as he had a very low wrist snap speed compared to Archer. They were praising Archer and Starc  because they could almost match Bumrah's wrist snap speed. "Anyone matching Bumrah has to be very good" Those were the words of kerry o keefe.

Carse is much slower than Archer so he will look slower. Mohd Sami was wayward. Used to bowl half volleys and half trackers.

Just now, rkt.india said:

Carse is much slower than Archer so he will look slower. Mohd Sami was wayward. Used to bowl half volleys and half trackers.

Cummins is perceived as a much quicker bowler while facing than Starc despite 5 clicks slower. This was from an international batsman. WHy do you think he said that?

Just now, vvvslaxman said:

Cummins is perceived as a much quicker bowler while facing than Starc despite 5 clicks slower. This was from an international batsman. WHy do you think he said that?

Cummins bowls hard lengths so he hits higher on the bat. Starc bowls fuller, much easier to drive. Cummins is like faster version of McGrath and can hit 145k.

10 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Cummins bowls hard lengths so he hits higher on the bat. Starc bowls fuller, much easier to drive. Cummins is like faster version of McGrath and can hit 145k.

That is where all the other things come into picture. Nortje despite very high clock speed like 150k often looks innocuous. Even batsmen perceive him that way. Ashwin pulled two high pace deliveries from him for sixes  infront of the wicket. So it cannot just be release speed that hurries batsmen. 

AI explains it better than me

A high wrist snap speed makes a bowler hurry the batsman by generating heavy backspin, which keeps the ball's seam upright and stable, allowing for more pronounced and late swing, making the ball harder to read and hit. This quick flick adds a crucial late flick for extra pace and, combined with a straight, stable seam, creates a ball that pitches flatter and then rises or moves unpredictably off the pitch, reducing reaction time for the batsman. 
How Wrist Snap Affects the Ball:
  1. Creates Backspin (Revs): A quick wrist flick imparts strong backspin, or revolutions, on the ball.
  2. Stabilizes the Seam: This backspin keeps the ball's seam stable and upright as it travels through the air, rather than wobbling.
  3. Enhances Swing: A stable seam controls airflow, creating classic swing (swing in the air) and also contributes to swing off the pitch (seam movement).
  4. Adds Pace & Flatter Trajectory: The wrist flick acts as a final lever, adding speed and causing the ball to pitch flatter and potentially jump more, shortening the batsman's reaction time. 
Why This "Hurries" the Batsman:
  • Unpredictability: The ball's trajectory is harder to judge because of the late swing and seam movement.
  • Reduced Time: A flatter, faster delivery that moves unexpectedly gives the batsman less time to adjust their shot.
  • Seam Movement: When the seam is upright and stable, it can grip the pitch and deviate, making it seem like the ball is "hurrying" off the surface. 
Bowlers like Jasprit Bumrah excel at this, using a late wrist flick and stable seam to deliver a potent combination of pace, swing, and seam movement, making them incredibly difficult to face.