Ashok Sharma

tweaker

3 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

That is where all the other things come into picture. Nortje despite very high clock speed like 150k often looks innocuous. Even batsmen perceive him that way. Ashwin pulled two high pace deliveries from him for sixes  infront of the wicket. So it cannot just be release speed that hurries batsmen. 

Just because Ashwin pulled him doesn't mean everyone can pull him easily. Ashwin stays on backfoot so may have been able to connect. Pace is pace if directed well. 

1 minute ago, rkt.india said:

Just because Ashwin pulled him doesn't mean everyone can pull him easily. Ashwin stays on backfoot so may have been able to connect. Pace is pace if directed well. 

It means everything going by our theory pace is all you need. Your 146k should trouble batsmen everywhere. We have to go ahead with much more nuanced approach when it comes to Indian fast bowlers atleast who are not athletically gifted like say a new zealander or south african or West indian or Australian. Unless and until a bowler bowling at 145k acquire all the key attributes there is nothing to be excited about.  We have far too many 145k bowlers fell by waysaid. Nagarkoti, Mavi, Umran, Mayank to name a few.  Guys from other countries still play competitive cricket despite injuries.

These are the fastest speeds iN IPL history.  Almost all bowlers are in the mix for their countries except Indians. WHy is that?

• Shaun Tait (Australia): 157.71 kmph (2011)
  • Gerald Coetzee (South Africa): 157.4 kmph (2024)
  • Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand): 157.3 kmph (2022)
  • Umran Malik (India): 157.0 kmph (2022)
  • Mayank Yadav (India): 156.7 kmph (2024)
  • Anrich Nortje (South Africa): 156.22 kmph (2020)
  • Umran Malik (India): 156.0 kmph (2022)
  • Mayank Yadav (India): 155.8 kmph (2024)
  • Anrich Nortje (South Africa): 155.1 kmph (2020) 
50 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Carse is much slower than Archer so he will look slower. Mohd Sami was wayward. Used to bowl half volleys and half trackers.

Sami was not that easy as ppl think of him he has couple of hat-tricks , think in one of tours Ind batters thought/find sami faster than shoaib.

Sami played on flatest of wkt and not much skills other than bowling fast, compare to other pak bowlers of same time who were more skillful plus they had good pace too.

Akthar is unmatched he had a dodgy action plus he was intentionally ready to hit batters, Compared to Lee and Akthar batters would like face or find it easy to face Lee with cleaner action and he may try to pin batter with bumper but not intentionally bowl beamers at them 

41 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

It means everything going by our theory pace is all you need. Your 146k should trouble batsmen everywhere. We have to go ahead with much more nuanced approach when it comes to Indian fast bowlers atleast who are not athletically gifted like say a new zealander or south african or West indian or Australian. Unless and until a bowler bowling at 145k acquire all the key attributes there is nothing to be excited about.  We have far too many 145k bowlers fell by waysaid. Nagarkoti, Mavi, Umran, Mayank to name a few.  Guys from other countries still play competitive cricket despite injuries.

These are the fastest speeds iN IPL history.  Almost all bowlers are in the mix for their countries except Indians. WHy is that?

These are T20 speeds, Apart from Ind bowlers all are proper test bowlers. And were known to bowl fast/v.fast in test and Odis as well.

Only Lockie is kind of  white-ball expert , but they found a v.good role for him too. Ind can not play 3 pacers in Ind so the 2 bowlers have to do the job hence bowlers like Bhuvi and Chahar are preferred, they will get wkts in PP that will keep the scoring down till the spinner come and then spinner to take over till 40-42 overs.

After that Ind bowlers bowl bouncers and slow-one in last few overs which works vs weaker opp. where batters do not have power game so they are playing a high risk pull/hook shot everytime and even if they connect its just a 4.

They didnt try Umran in tests , and Mayank was un fit after those 2 games so no point in talking why he is not in the mix.

I think there is some data that supports that 140 kmph bowling is most effective in White-ball with some ability of bowling yorkers (just look at the bowlers Ind picked in last 4 yrs will tell you same thing --- Avesh, Mukesh, Arsh all ~140 kmph with ability to bowl some yorkers) , think tait or some1 also mentioned why bowlers are not bowling express these days, he said injuries , workload management and fitness and bowling coaches do not want the bowlers get injured if they push too hard as it looks bad on coaches and other thing he said that there is a thinking that kookaburra swings most at 140-145 kmph 

And even Ind best bowling line up was when there were 3/4 bowler were capable of bowling 145+kmph.

Bhumrah was 145+kmph, So was Shami , Umesh was proper 145+ kmph, Ishant was tall and when in rhythm and knew he is coming for a smaller spell would also crack-up 137-144/145 kmph  

Edited by tapandrun
2 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Carse is much slower than Archer so he will look slower. Mohd Sami was wayward. Used to bowl half volleys and half trackers.

He was one great talent,to bring even statues to life 

Ekdum bat ke sweet spot pe nishana lagata tha, suddenly feel good factor runs through batsmen 

Ye tailunt rare hai janab

Gungooli ,usee ke bharose Akhter ko bina dare khel gaya tha pura 2004 tour 

1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said:

Mayank clocked fastest delivery of ipl2024 (156.7),Coetzee's was glitch wasn't recognised 

1 hour ago, tapandrun said:

Sami was not that easy as ppl think of him he has couple of hat-tricks , think in one of tours Ind batters thought/find sami faster than shoaib.

Sami played on flatest of wkt and not much skills other than bowling fast, compare to other pak bowlers of same time who were more skillful plus they had good pace too.

Akthar is unmatched he had a dodgy action plus he was intentionally ready to hit batters, Compared to Lee and Akthar batters would like face or find it easy to face Lee with cleaner action and he may try to pin batter with bumper but not intentionally bowl beamers at them 

Sami's lengths were pretty poor with poor lines in between 

Lengths were poor most of the times

4 hours ago, tapandrun said:

Lee's beamer to Sachin in CB series final looked pretty intentional tbh

On 12/19/2025 at 7:26 PM, express bowling said:

How tall did Harshit look from near ?

And are you saying that he was looking much quicker than Prasidh clocking a bit higher speeds  ?

I remember that, on the ground, I could not see deliveries by Srinath and Donald in the 1990s. And, later on, I could not even remotely see deliveries by Jasprit Bumrah, who looked much much quicker than any other pacer from either side. Much more than Speed Guns suggest.

I am 5 ft 11 inches and he was just 1 inch taller than me , i think he is 6ft with out shoes and 6.1 ft with his cricket spikes. i was just 2 metres away from cricketers. i could not take harshit's picture but i could take arshdeep's pix as he walked just 1 metres from me. he is at least 3 inches taller than me..must be 6.2 or 6.3 with out shoes and with shoes and his small pagdi looks tall thats why he has better control and gets bounce as much as Prasidh.

Prasidh is the Tallest ..kind of close to Sardar.

And are you saying that he was looking much quicker than Prasidh clocking a bit higher speeds  ?

exactly bro..that's the point. Prasidh's bowling was coming from more height and except for a few deliveries , i could visibly see the ball going fast towards the batsmen. some of his bouncers were like invisible to me seeing from the square boundary. Prasidh bowled his first over very slow and was hit for many runs. after that advertisement came for you all but i saw KL coming to him and literally screaming at him- i could make out that he was asking if he is not warmed up. then he got prasidh to field in leg slip, continuously talking to Prasidh. But KL and Prasidh are very close as KL talks to him a lot and bcos of KL, prasidh managed to get 4 wickets in that match. after that over KL guided Prasidh to bowl right length's, he asked him to bowl straight on the wickets and he got lbw and clean bowled. prasidh clean bowled decock and that was game changer. from zero to hero-prasidh became.

prasidh faltu bowler lagta hai jab slow bowling karta hai...uski full balls slow hoti hai aur dikhti hai poori.

I was totally impressed with KL's captaincy, he was talking with every player giving directions to go deep or come close and pulling a fielder if he did not run towards the ball while fielding. KL is going to become a good captain if he gets another chance.

But Harshit's - i could see only very few balls or trace very few balls. he is faster than what speed is shown on speed guns. GG is not a fool. his ball goes fast towards the batsmen and he tries to hit the wickets mostly in an ODI. He is the attacking option exactly like Jasprit Bumrah and I will not be surprised if Harshit is played ahead of Sardar in many matches.

sardar is a defensive bowler but very clever, in odi he is never going to get many wickets and he will go for runs once the ball is old. he has some tricks with the new ball so batsmen find him tough when the ball is new. lamba itna hai ki 4 kadam daud ke bhi 127k ball kar sakta hai aur ball bounce hogi.

i think i am very keen to watch- Mayank Yadav, Umraan, Ashok sharma, Gurnoor brar, Prasidh, Harshit rana, sardar Prabjit( did i get his name wrong), khaleel, Karthik tyagi, yudhvir ,kuldeep sen and a few fast bowlers more in IPL. 

rest Slow bowlers are not interesting at all. are umesh and shammi going to play IPL.

Edited by vishalvirsingh

seeing sardar arshdeep's size and physique- i am shocked , how slow he bowls. in his second spell he goes defensive( bowls on the wide line) unless any specific ball where he tries hard and generates little pace.  he is a threat in T20 bcos he is a clever bowler but for ODI and specifically tests , he is useless.  odi in his first 3 overs spell he can get wickets  else i dont think so.

On 12/21/2025 at 12:23 AM, Lord said:

Lee's beamer to Sachin in CB series final looked pretty intentional tbh

Yeah Sachin didn't show it but he must have been really angry inside.

On 12/18/2025 at 10:16 PM, Need4Speed said:

also affected by regular injuries..he could have been a good red ball bowler for us in Eng and NZ if completely fit with the skills he had..but his body deceived him..

Bhuvi bhaiyya se yaad aya where's Beetle ji these days?