1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

Bro growing at 10 pc isnt easy if you're not in one of the camps.

Let's be realistic, China grew at 10 pc coz it got unconditional support from US, who used it as a counter measure to keep an eye on USSR plus keep the costs lower.

That era is long gone, US has learned that any country growing at a rapid pace can pose challenge to their dominance. Hence they would do absolutely anything to halt that growth.

Still, India was at 2.1 trillion in 2014, now in 10 years we doubled to around 4.3...even if we face a slowdown we would still be somewhere around 7.5-8 by 2035 and potentially 10 by 2040.

Yes, key thing is that the govt need to stay honest. We saw abnormally high amount of scams between 1990-2014...now thats on the lower side if not completely gone. Bribery, though exists is on a lower side, it was pretty much rampant in 1990s.

Key thing is focus on one at a time. We cant focus on everything at once, defence is the priority, followed by Infra, tech and manufacturing.

Regarding drastic change, well, I dont want to open that pandora box...but overpopulation and vote bank are the biggest blockers in our growth, followed by the reservation drama.

I sense you agree that there will be fall outs if we don't grow by 10+ pc. Job creation being amongst the top ones

1 hour ago, pkmmamks said:

I sense you agree that there will be fall outs if we don't grow by 10+ pc. Job creation being amongst the top ones

Job creation will happen once we industrialize ourselves. Govt is so far initiating the schemes, but sooner or later private orgs too have to join the party. There is a significant increase in demand of Mechanical & Electronics engineers as compared to a decade earlier. But our societal shift is slow and everyone is running behind IT is frankly on a decline and by 2030 will see a 30-40% loss of workforce.

Sarkari babu jobs are anyway on a decline and it will continue to be...those who seriously want a job will have to come on ground and learn skills.

Again, the problem is people upskilling themselves. Mindset of the generation is that once u get a govt job u stick to it till retirement without doing anything. That mindset needs to change.

7 hours ago, pkmmamks said:

:hysterical: bhai. itna delusion kyun. I hope you dont work for an IT cell. Even if you travel to office everyday, you will realise what khaiyali pulao you are making w.r.t India

IT celliyas are all about how things are rosy and India is booming.   But without industrialization everything is a pipedream

I am looking at projections clearly.

Looking at Short term 

Nominal GDP Growth = 7% + 5% Inflation = 12% 

We Will be at $5 Trillion in 2027 

4 hours ago, Chaos said:

Sorry about ur parents situation, i HATE indian government for healthcare needs n especially ambulance rules. If u need emergency u r almost as good as dead with traffic in india (as lot of morons i saw would CUT INFRONT OF AN Ambulance). These people need to get shot. When ambulance sirens r on they try to cut them off and slow down the traffic. Uhggg

The horrible roads are for everyone.  

The first things government needs to remove corruption is from road contracts and water supply.

I am open to a bet with anyone. Op Sindoor 2 ..which involves air force strikes or deep strikes Indian army or naval strikes will NOT happen unless any ONE of the following happens

1. A major terror attack.

2. Or attack on our infra like dams.

3. A highly symbolic attack like assassination or attempt thereof.

Without any provocation from enemy, this is simple hawabaazi and nautanki. 

The terms of the bet are simple. It will be 1:1 and the time expires by 31st Jan 2026 to allow for misguided theories about Chinese border etc.

11 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Bro growing at 10 pc isnt easy if you're not in one of the camps.

Let's be realistic, China grew at 10 pc coz it got unconditional support from US, who used it as a counter measure to keep an eye on USSR plus keep the costs lower.

That era is long gone, US has learned that any country growing at a rapid pace can pose challenge to their dominance. Hence they would do absolutely anything to halt that growth.

Still, India was at 2.1 trillion in 2014, now in 10 years we doubled to around 4.3...even if we face a slowdown we would still be somewhere around 7.5-8 by 2035 and potentially 10 by 2040.

Yes, key thing is that the govt need to stay honest. We saw abnormally high amount of scams between 1990-2014...now thats on the lower side if not completely gone. Bribery, though exists is on a lower side, it was pretty much rampant in 1990s.

Key thing is focus on one at a time. We cant focus on everything at once, defence is the priority, followed by Infra, tech and manufacturing.

Regarding drastic change, well, I dont want to open that pandora box...but overpopulation and vote bank are the biggest blockers in our growth, followed by the reservation drama.

You had an independent media to talk about scams..you don't hear about scams because there is no independent mainstream media...they are either behind bars or hassled by fake or real charges, brought out by oligarchs, surrendered every ethics in the book to be score brownie points. Coverage in Indian media is nauseating ...almost like Fox News or MSNBC on steroids..difference is US is partisan but there are opposing views...here you have Republic TV sharing the same propaganda to those who like powerful bombast and pompous buffoonery. NDTV and cnn18 delivers the same propaganda with softness and panache.

There is no accountability , no coverage of news. Everything is about foreign powers or enemies sabotaging India, how Modi is responding with background music, no coverage of opposition claims, lampooning of any claims from opposition,..different from reporting . No hard questions asked...be of Adani corruption. Nepotism, failure during Covid, abysmal job creation, pahalgam security failures. Zero lack of evidence provided, foreign policy failures, losing land to China etc.

No wonder people think we are in Ram Rajya.

10 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Job creation will happen once we industrialize ourselves. Govt is so far initiating the schemes, but sooner or later private orgs too have to join the party. There is a significant increase in demand of Mechanical & Electronics engineers as compared to a decade earlier. But our societal shift is slow and everyone is running behind IT is frankly on a decline and by 2030 will see a 30-40% loss of workforce.

Sarkari babu jobs are anyway on a decline and it will continue to be...those who seriously want a job will have to come on ground and learn skills.

Again, the problem is people upskilling themselves. Mindset of the generation is that once u get a govt job u stick to it till retirement without doing anything. That mindset needs to change.

Its a collective failure.  Private sector is not doing its job optimally. 

And govt ( both central and state  ) are spending 10s of billions of dollars on freebies for votebank politics thanks to keep out an assholic opposition who has been using this as an election stategy. Welcome to the curse that is Indian democracy. 

7 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Looking at Short term 

Nominal GDP Growth = 7% + 5% Inflation = 12% 

We Will be at $5 Trillion in 2027 

Have to factor USD/INR exchange rate in 2027 for nominal USD GDP.  

The BIG assumption you are making is that the rupee won't devalue from current levels in 2 years -- which has never been the case. 

Invested a lot in lands but kept half in buffer in gold. Lands grew but so did usd by 8 rup. / usd. So yea not the greatest investment but right next to big amazon warehouse

29 minutes ago, Chaos said:

Invested a lot in lands but kept half in buffer in gold. Lands grew but so did usd by 8 rup. / usd. So yea not the greatest investment but right next to big amazon warehouse

You did the best possible thing as far as investing in India is concerned. 

INR depreciates minimum 3-4 % every year vs the USD ( and it is expected because India is growing much faster )....so I never put money in Fixed Deposit in India, even when it used to be a locked in rate of 7.5-8 %.... ..because my returns would be half of that in USD terms due to INR depreciation.

Buying rentable properties near office areas has been my thing. I always get long term tenants ( with steady jobs ) - get about 4 % annual yield through rent and property price has been going up 7-8 % every year. So thats a neat 11-12 % return in INR or USD return around 8 % when baking in the INR depreciation.

Edited by rangeelaraja
33 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

INR depreciates minimum 3-4 % every year vs the USD ( and it is expected because India is growing much faster )....so I never put money in Fixed Deposit in India, even when it used to be a locked in rate of 7.5-8 %.... ..because my returns would be half of that in USD terms due to INR depreciation.

Buying rentable properties near office areas has been my thing. I always get long term tenants ( with steady jobs ) - get about 4 % annual yield through rent and property price has been going up 7-8 % every year. So thats a neat 11-12 % return in INR or USD return around 8 % when baking in the INR depreciation.

now thinking about it i should have gotten all gold. Got a amazing deal at 100g 24k bars at 5.7 lakhs per bar in 2023 then. While land is at 30% growth. But our population is growing and need more land especially in hyderabad. Gold is almost 75-85% percent profit already. 

36 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

btw i did put in 3 crores with sbi plan. 10 lakhs for every 30 lakh deposit for 3 yrs plans (back in early 2023). But back then rupee was around 70-75ish (dont wanna pull google up). But u r right some buffoons who promised to buy our properties knew this and keeps on buying time as they know dollar will go up. 

15 minutes ago, Chaos said:

now thinking about it i should have gotten all gold. Got a amazing deal at 100g 24k bars at 5.7 lakhs per bar in 2023 then. While land is at 30% growth. But our population is growing and need more land especially in hyderabad. Gold is almost 75-85% percent profit already. 

Gold  = Wealth preservation 

Property = Wealth creation.

Property units  - will get you cashflows from renting PLUS  annual appreciation.   Gold offers no cash flows. 

24 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

Property units  - will get you cashflows from renting PLUS  annual appreciation.   Gold offers no cash flows. 

If i was thinking was cash flows i would have leased all of em for cash flows. Now i just wanna hold it for one more year and sale. Ideally i want both to go up. But property will depend on economy n outliers. A 2007-2008 kinda market meltdown will happen soon (i own a hedge fund), but timing is cruicial. Either ways, i was only epecting about 20% growth on gold but now its almost double (100%), so its a bonus. Greedy pigs get slaughtered (lost millions and made millions in early 20s in stocks, so im happy with 200% now) :phehe:

24 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

also dont wanna rent out to people. I am just tired of travel and all the non sense that comes with it. I have family there but they r getting old. I want a easy to deal system, when im not there it can become a **** show (even tho

it didnt still). 

1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said:

There could be one time annual depreciation ( depression types ) with property. There are 1.5 crore properties on loans and people are losing jobs. Plus property is heavy investment. Gold is not. Rental yields are not good in India. 

USD treasuries / CDs worked good for the last 5-6 years when factoring the rates in US, plus USD / INR depreciation by around 3% per annum

43 minutes ago, pkmmamks said:

There could be one time annual depreciation ( depression types ) with property. There are 1.5 crore properties on loans and people are losing jobs. Plus property is heavy investment. Gold is not. Rental yields are not good in India. 

USD treasuries / CDs worked good for the last 5-6 years when factoring the rates in US, plus USD / INR depreciation by around 3% per annum

Most major metros - the demand for property far exceeds the supply. On top of that NRIs and wealthy businessmen, stock traders/brokers hoard property of the money they have made in the stock market - making it unaffordable for a regular salaried employee (without a significant loan )

Poor infrastructure is the reason why property rates in major metros in India are high. Sounds counterintuitive isn't it ? 

But its because of poor infrastructure that homes in 5-10 km radius to office areas go for huge prices because commuting long distances for work is tough everyday.

The day India's infrastructure in major cities becomes Western level - you will see property prices normalize from current levels, I feel. 

I have consistently got minimum 3.5 % annual rental yield for what I own in India. Not great, but I take it like 3.5 % annualized stock dividend. 

I have never invested in physical gold - if i wanted exposure to gold, I would buy a gold ETF.

Physical gold does absolutely nothing. It just sits there in the bank locker. And is passed on from generation to generation ( classic wealth preservation )

You can't "enjoy" the appreciation in physical gold. And because of the sentimental and emotional value, we Indians don't sell gold, because we feel it must be done only in times of grave financial distress. So we just pass it on from one generation to another, one locker to another.  Does nothing. 

Edited by rangeelaraja

Soo we have upgraded bullet train. Is first class clean n good? I hated trains back in 90s, cuz of hygeine. But we always got ac one, even then people would do some nasty stuff in bathrooms. My mom would carry pillows n sheets even at 5 star. When i had to go to bathroom she would make sure its not nasty :phehe: