39 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Sunda Strait is out of question...Chinese Navy cant use it to traverse heavy ships or submarines (submerged). 

Its depth is extremely shallow, full of volcanic activities and if caught under that, the ships wont even have time to turn back as the strip is extremely narrow.

Lambok Strait is a viable option, although it will add 2000 to 3000 extra miles for each ship.

Sunda is kinda not ideal for Submarine and huge cargo vassals but as I said in Wartime they can easily Bypass Malacca when push comes to shove and Lombok supports all kinds of stuff.  

Not that we have ability to choke Malacca right now anyways.  It was always futuristic plan which involves highly militriarised and commercialized A&N Islands for starters and multiple CBG's and underwater surveillance.  And the SEA countries are not our close allies anyways to support us and take a hit along the way.  

Only US can realistically choke Malacca in this day and age and have enough Firepower to challenge PLAN in full force 

Edited by Lone Wolf
35 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

I think Jalkapi project is for this only.

Also, last year, a 250 Crore contract was given to Kalyani Group to build such unmanned sub systems, delivery is by Nov 2026

Yeah we need more of these and work on better iterations in future.  This is where ASW is actually going towards now.

Mini Submarines have their own usage though for those stealth ops.  Let's hope they get it done through IDDM rather than looking at imports again.  That would be ultimate blackpill moment 

I hope this WLVN guy is wrong like he mostly is

@Lord @rangeelaraja @G_B_

So after making four S5 Class SSBNs, Navy will comeup with an enhanced capability of SSBN upto as big as 17k ton.
Man, while I appreciate the focus on SSBNs....I hope this do not come with an expense of SSN. SSBNs are meant to be kept away from the conflict, sitting deep in the ocean only to come to life when there is Nuclear attack. It's the SSNs which will go in active conflict, patrol the enemy areas, obliterate their naval assets and then can speed away.
Ideally for each one SSBN, we need to have atleast 2 (or 3) SSNs sanitizing the area around it.

Edited by singhvivek141
1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

@Lord @rangeelaraja @G_B_

So after making four S5 Class SSBNs, Navy will comeup with an enhanced capability of SSBN upto as big as 17k ton.
Man, while I appreciate the focus on SSBNs....I hope this do not come with an expense of SSN. SSBNs are meant to be kept away from the conflict, sitting deep in the ocean only to come to life when there is Nuclear attack. It's the SSNs which will go in active conflict, patrol the enemy areas, obliterate their naval assets and then can speed away.
Ideally for each one SSBN, we need to have atleast 2 (or 3) SSNs sanitizing the area around it.

These systems will come and so will SSNs, when there are no import options for corrupt Babus things go smoothly.

SSBN program is crown jewel moment for Indian defence establishment 

I hope we do a Macron style photoshoot when we get our first ever SSN in next decade.  That image alone would give our enemies a never ending burnol moment 

Edited by Lone Wolf
4 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

He talks from American perspective... His Iran predictions failed spectacularly.

Indian defence Tooter calls him out from time to time.

5 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

@singhvivek141 another month goes btw & as per ANI yesterday Navy is set to order additional 31 Rafale M which means TEDBF is a goner as well.

I had this realization that TEDBF isnt a priority right now when AMCA & TEDBF were separated.

Currently the timelines for AMCA is 2035 and TEDBF by 2040, Navy isnt gonna wait that long with limited firepower. So Navy was gonna pitch for another fighter jet as Mig29k is giving them too many problems.

See, 5th gen fighter jet doesnt work for Navy...coz there is too much corrosion due to sea water and the RCS coating will be a headache to maintain. Their priority was always a powerful engine, heavy payload along with reinforced airframes to survive the arrested landings. 

My main problem with Rafale M is that it doesnt have folding wing design, so that means they have to be either parked at the deck, or the lifts carrying these jets needs to be expanded by Navy engineers. But if they can sort this out that Rafale M is a powerful workhorse for Navy. There are not many options available for Navy anyway...F/A18 Hornet will come in with the strings attached, while the trust on Russians are very low due to Mig 29k Zhuk ME radar issues and engine reliability.

14 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

I had this realization that TEDBF isnt a priority right now when AMCA & TEDBF were separated.

Currently the timelines for AMCA is 2035 and TEDBF by 2040, Navy isnt gonna wait that long with limited firepower. So Navy was gonna pitch for another fighter jet as Mig29k is giving them too many problems.

See, 5th gen fighter jet doesnt work for Navy...coz there is too much corrosion due to sea water and the RCS coating will be a headache to maintain. Their priority was always a powerful engine, heavy payload along with reinforced airframes to survive the arrested landings. 

My main problem with Rafale M is that it doesnt have folding wing design, so that means they have to be either parked at the deck, or the lifts carrying these jets needs to be expanded by Navy engineers. But if they can sort this out that Rafale M is a powerful workhorse for Navy. There are not many options available for Navy anyway...F/A18 Hornet will come in with the strings attached, while the trust on Russians are very low due to Mig 29k Zhuk ME radar issues and engine reliability.

Yeah Rafale M doesn't works for Vikramaditya and rest assured Vikramaditya isn't going anywhere till the early 2040's.

Since we cannot keep the carriers underarmed ab jugaad se hi kaam chalega.  TEDBF is dead and Buried most likely 

Let's have it, width for 
folded mig29k is 25.7ft
unfolded mig29k  39.4ft
RafaleM  35ft

Impossible on Vikramaditya but maybe with huge headache possible on Vikrant 

Edited by Lone Wolf
11 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

:facepalm:

Its still under trials I think....it started in June last year.

Its non vehicular cousin i.e. ATAGS is ordered I think in 300 something numbers.

17 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Its still under trials I think....it started in June last year.

Its non vehicular cousin i.e. ATAGS is ordered I think in 300 something numbers.

I know but here comes the kicker while this gets stuck in moon trails... Israeli screwdriver has already kicked in.

Cut commision kickbags in full flow.  Meltdown in comments and quotes btw:giggle:

Edited by Lone Wolf
11 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

Su57 deployed in significant nos in ukraine.

So it seems the production capacity of Russia is back up.
S400 production has increased, Su57 is flying in the skies

I don't know how true is this, but boy this account is just pushing too hard for Su57

In a hindsight, I kinda agree for Su57 as an interim measure. I mean we have bought S400 and it works...and we're also building Kusha, which probably will work with S400 but may need bit more time to mature.
Similarly Su57, gives us operational readiness, yeah Rafale is good and it's EW suite is quite helpful in protecting Su30MKIs from the A2A missiles of PAF. But Su57 will give us that piece of mind that even if we lose few years in building AMCA, we don't lose the capability by a long margin. Plus, it shares a bit of its logistics with Su30MKI so that gives another logistical convenience of spares when the need arises.

We're in an era of transition, and that's usually where in cricket teams are vulnerable, defence is no different. 

57 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

So it seems the production capacity of Russia is back up.
S400 production has increased, Su57 is flying in the skies

Ukraine started hitting deep within their territory  + money started flowing from iran war. Thats a 50 to 60 billuon infusion.

I think they are focusing on drones+ t90 + su57 with kinzhal to see then through next few years.