Lone Wolf Posted July 5 Posted July 5 1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said: Vishnu is getting hatred on X for his comments regarding the failure of Tejas mk1a, mainly coz our indigenous programs are slow and we need advanced platforms. I think truth lies somewhere in between, while Tejas mk1a isn't the cutting edge fighter jet we all dreamt off. It is still a capable 2nd or 3rd strike platform which we can use in contested battle space. It's RCS is low and under guidance of AWACS data link, it can fire the Astra mk1, Derby and other glide bombs like GAURAV, GAUTAM, SAAW, HAMMER into the enemy airspace. Key is how we use it in coordination with Rafales (both comes in with inbuilt EW suites) and coverfire Su30MKI so that it can launch long range strike weapons deep into the enemy territory. Also, the knowledge and industry setup done for Tejas mk1a and mk2, will be used for AMCA as well. Engine is a concern though and that's where I'm expecting a deal between Safran and GTRE. Once that's through, all the Tejas mk2, AMCA mk1 and TEDBF will get that engine as a mid life upgrade for F414. Som getting trolled mostly for this... Yesterday some retired genrols (Gen Shankar) were taken to cleaners over ALH. Defence twitter is taking no hostages these days
singhvivek141 Posted July 6 Posted July 6 INS Mahendragiri will be inducted on July 11, I guess that leaves with last ship Vindhyagiri which will be delivered by end of 2026. https://defence.in/threads/indian-navy-set-to-commission-ins-mahendragiri-advanced-stealth-frigate-on-july-11-in-visakhapatnam.18207/ G_B_ 1
singhvivek141 Posted July 6 Posted July 6 Youtube channel of Indian Navy celebrating the launch of Mahendragiri. Indian Navy channel has some of the amazing videos of it's ships. Lone Wolf 1
IndianRenegade Posted July 7 Posted July 7 Indian military industrial complex cooking. op sindhoor might have been a blessing in disguise, considering our armed forces need to put themselves in harms way. mishra, Lone Wolf and singhvivek141 3
singhvivek141 Posted July 7 Posted July 7 3 hours ago, IndianRenegade said: Indian military industrial complex cooking. op sindhoor might have been a blessing in disguise, considering our armed forces need to put themselves in harms way. Astra mk1 variant will be the first export of our indigenous A2A BVR. Indonesia is asking for specifically to empower its Su27 & Su35 jets which is lagging any long range A2A BVR missiles. Though, Indonesia uses Chinese fighter jets loke J10C as well. So while sharing Brahmos E and Astra mk1 E variant, we need to be careful.
G_B_ Posted July 7 Posted July 7 On 7/5/2026 at 5:50 PM, singhvivek141 said: Vishnu is getting hatred on X for his comments regarding the failure of Tejas mk1a, mainly coz our indigenous programs are slow and we need advanced platforms. I think truth lies somewhere in between, while Tejas mk1a isn't the cutting edge fighter jet we all dreamt off. It is still a capable 2nd or 3rd strike platform which we can use in contested battle space. It's RCS is low and under guidance of AWACS data link, it can fire the Astra mk1, Derby and other glide bombs like GAURAV, GAUTAM, SAAW, HAMMER into the enemy airspace. Key is how we use it in coordination with Rafales (both comes in with inbuilt EW suites) and coverfire Su30MKI so that it can launch long range strike weapons deep into the enemy territory. Also, the knowledge and industry setup done for Tejas mk1a and mk2, will be used for AMCA as well. Engine is a concern though and that's where I'm expecting a deal between Safran and GTRE. Once that's through, all the Tejas mk2, AMCA mk1 and TEDBF will get that engine as a mid life upgrade for F414. I disagee. Question is what would have happened with the money spent on tejas. For one I think we could have focused a lot more on all sorts of artillary (towed and non towed, rocket) and might even be sitting on a 500km pinaka , brahmos 2 (fitted onto mig29s mki and other existing craft) , 4 air craft carriers. I understand you just cant build a 5th gen aircraft. You need expertise. But in the era missiles and drones....
G_B_ Posted July 7 Posted July 7 4 hours ago, IndianRenegade said: Indian military industrial complex cooking. op sindhoor might have been a blessing in disguise, considering our armed forces need to put themselves in harms way. small steps in the right direction.... there remains a huge market for defence out there.
Lone Wolf Posted July 7 Posted July 7 3 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: Astra mk1 variant will be the first export of our indigenous A2A BVR. Indonesia is asking for specifically to empower its Su27 & Su35 jets which is lagging any long range A2A BVR missiles. Though, Indonesia uses Chinese fighter jets loke J10C as well. So while sharing Brahmos E and Astra mk1 E variant, we need to be careful. China has all of that tech so it doesn't matter, we should export to every single South East Asian country possible. That's a market which has been hijacked by China off late. Astra mk1 exports will mean increased funding for future iterations. Our shipyards should also look to secure orders from Indonesians especially L&T. Brahmos Aerospace anyways needs more and more funding for NG and who knows if it gets massive orders Brahmos 2 might become a reality one day as well. G_B_ 1
singhvivek141 Posted July 7 Posted July 7 5 hours ago, G_B_ said: I disagee. Question is what would have happened with the money spent on tejas. For one I think we could have focused a lot more on all sorts of artillary (towed and non towed, rocket) and might even be sitting on a 500km pinaka , brahmos 2 (fitted onto mig29s mki and other existing craft) , 4 air craft carriers. I understand you just cant build a 5th gen aircraft. You need expertise. But in the era missiles and drones.... The discussion right now is gathering attention due to the rise of missile tech and drone warfare...but I still feel that era of Airforce isnt over. Drones have given them a change in roles but as the anti drone countering mechanisms are inducted across, the era to pivot back to fighter jets will return. LCA as a concept was started in 1980s after the success of IAF in the 1971 conflict where it pounced PAF badly. Even now IAF is being used as a first form of attack from standoff range to destroy the key targets. Swarm of drones obviously have a role but a fighter jet alongside drones is like having a assassin in the crowd of a mob. It can conflict much larger damage. Tejas helped us setup those key industries within India which can manufacture the components for our future stealth fighter jet programs. Even at the Navy front, many experts are now saying the Aircraft Carrier is a waste and we should focus more on Submarine and XLUUVs and unmanned missile boats. But I believe there is a place for each & every weapon in the current form of warfare.
G_B_ Posted July 7 Posted July 7 4 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: The discussion right now is gathering attention due to the rise of missile tech and drone warfare...but I still feel that era of Airforce isnt over. Drones have given them a change in roles but as the anti drone countering mechanisms are inducted across, the era to pivot back to fighter jets will return. LCA as a concept was started in 1980s after the success of IAF in the 1971 conflict where it pounced PAF badly. Even now IAF is being used as a first form of attack from standoff range to destroy the key targets. Swarm of drones obviously have a role but a fighter jet alongside drones is like having a assassin in the crowd of a mob. It can conflict much larger damage. Tejas helped us setup those key industries within India which can manufacture the components for our future stealth fighter jet programs. Even at the Navy front, many experts are now saying the Aircraft Carrier is a waste and we should focus more on Submarine and XLUUVs and unmanned missile boats. But I believe there is a place for each & every weapon in the current form of warfare. The problem with india is that we started development with the most techically hard concept. You always build up. Now we have a patchwork of desi successes than entire sectors with eco systems. There are other desicions that impacted iaf due to tejas. Mki production line was halted for a decade. We might be sitting on 600 super sukhois with astra mk3. This is a bird we would have 100% control over. Tejas has wrecked the iaf. Will take decades to write this wrong.
singhvivek141 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 5 hours ago, G_B_ said: The problem with india is that we started development with the most techically hard concept. You always build up. Now we have a patchwork of desi successes than entire sectors with eco systems. There are other desicions that impacted iaf due to tejas. Mki production line was halted for a decade. We might be sitting on 600 super sukhois with astra mk3. This is a bird we would have 100% control over. Tejas has wrecked the iaf. Will take decades to write this wrong. True...while Tejas helped us to setup industries, it has so far lagged in its key concept. There are several reasons for that, starting with the design. A single engine jet variant has severe limitations in terms of payload....to top it off it was designed with an unproven engine. Countries like China & Russia developed jets with twin engines and once they achieved some amount of mastery only then they pivoted to single engine jets. Then the legendary HAL, who are expert in delaying the work for so long that by the time they complete one work, the aircraft becomes obsolete and atleast 2 decades behind the world. Hence IAF keeps on demanding changes and that leads to a vicious loop which never seems to end. Thirdly, IAF itself has to take some blame. They behave like a consumer, not like a partner. Navy has its own Design Bureau and works closely with shipyards....IAF dont want to take any headache and they just throw things at ADA, NAL, HAL etc. Ideally, it all should be mixed within IAF, it should make a design and send to HAL or any other player for execution, with IAF overseeing the progress. Too many parties in between the Design & Execution slows the process.
IndianRenegade Posted July 8 Posted July 8 This is how you use your civilizational soft power. Bring all of the countries in Indian subcontinent under our sphere of influence! G_B_ and singhvivek141 1 1
Lone Wolf Posted July 8 Posted July 8 Can we blacklist this Israeli elbit already?? They killed Tapas for this trash can Screwdriver Suryastra or PULS is even bigger trash they are pushing singhvivek141 1
singhvivek141 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 8 hours ago, IndianRenegade said: This is how you use your civilizational soft power. Bring all of the countries in Indian subcontinent under our sphere of influence! Bro, both soft power and hard power goes hand in hand. One without the other is useless, no one listen to the weak...on the other side strong with no sense of culture is also resisted. Strength with cultural dignity is what needed. As India is growing in power, its influence in the South East Asia is making its shape. We have to ensure our GDP per capita reaches around $5k-5.5k mark while ensuring that our military capability grow to an extent where these countries can trust us in case of any pressure from China. IndianRenegade 1
Lone Wolf Posted July 9 Posted July 9 (edited) Decent analysis on Pakistani Hangor class subs and its potential in broader IOR.. Pooki jernails have wet dreams of offensive ops on our Eastern front but it isn't possible. Though these subs have indeed made any naval blockade costly and any offensive ops along their coastline. The analysis is pretty spot on. Second strike capability through SLCM is there but that's mostly on our Western front. Our ASW assets have their task cut out regardless https://defence.in/threads/evaluating-pakistani-claims-on-hangor-submarines-and-their-true-impact-on-indian-maritime-dominance.18209/ Edited July 9 by Lone Wolf G_B_ 1
mishra Posted July 9 Posted July 9 (edited) On 7/7/2026 at 6:41 AM, IndianRenegade said: Indian military industrial complex cooking. op sindhoor might have been a blessing in disguise, considering our armed forces need to put themselves in harms way. I was talking to a Pakistani several months back. I opined that time is running out for Pakistan to make a deal with us, because in future, Indian defense sector manufacturers will ensure things like operation Sindoor happen purely for commercial reasons. My languange was. "Bhai! Bina kisi baat ke pelane bhejenge, taaki weapons get sold in international market. Tumhari leadership ko ye future probabilty nahi dikh rahaa" Edited July 9 by mishra
G_B_ Posted July 9 Posted July 9 3 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: Decent analysis on Pakistani Hangor class subs and its potential in broader IOR.. Pooki jernails have wet dreams of offensive ops on our Eastern front but it isn't possible. Though these subs have indeed made any naval blockade costly and any offensive ops along their coastline. The analysis is pretty spot on. Second strike capability through SLCM is there but that's mostly on our Western front. Our ASW assets have their task cut out regardless https://defence.in/threads/evaluating-pakistani-claims-on-hangor-submarines-and-their-true-impact-on-indian-maritime-dominance.18209/ Wont we simply target karachi ports directly? Why a blockade? The p8 will easily find and neutralise this glorified kilo class sub with aip. singhvivek141 1