Sean Bradley Posted February 22 Posted February 22 Chewtiya stadium, Chewtiya Crowd, it has been panauti ever since they changed the name to Modi from Motera. Norman and Ultimate_Game 1 1
Ultimate_Game Posted February 22 Author Posted February 22 10 minutes ago, Gollum said: India-WI in Eden. Shukr hai
raki05 Posted February 22 Posted February 22 (edited) 34 minutes ago, Gollum said: Usually stadiums are named after dead people. But this stadium bears a megalomaniac's name, and was primed for 24 GE, entire 23 WC was orchestrated as coronatioon ceremony for him. How narcissistic must a creature be to insert itself everywhere? Not like Guj hasn't had any great figure from the past or famous cricketer after who it could be named. In this day and age, such levels of vanity aren't exhibited even by XI, Putin types...even they are aware of how such moves will be perceived by their people. This is straight out of Kim-Jong-Un and Gaddafi playbooks, a great shame for Indian democracy. Isnt it you in some other thread rooting for modi being pm. I am wondering why you would like a gadaffi and kim jong un kind of narcissist to be in power. Hope you stick to your stance, if this is your take on all the 23 wc defeat. Edited February 22 by raki05 Suhaan and rollingstoned 1 1
Laaloo Posted February 22 Posted February 22 7 minutes ago, Gollum said: Usually stadiums are named after dead people. But this stadium bears a megalomaniac's name, and was primed for 24 GE, entire 23 WC was orchestrated as coronatioon ceremony for him. How narcissistic must a creature be to insert itself everywhere? Not like Guj hasn't had any great figure from the past or famous cricketer after who it could be named....titans like Sardar Patel, Vinoo Mankad. In this day and age, such levels of vanity aren't exhibited even by XI, Putin types...even they are aware of how such moves will be perceived by their people. This is straight out of Kim-Jong-Un and Gaddafi playbooks, a great shame for Indian democracy. Putin is busy killing innocents in Ukraine but that's fine I guess. He doesn't have a stadium under his name so he's good. rollingstoned, raki05 and Suhaan 3
Ultimate_Game Posted February 22 Author Posted February 22 7 minutes ago, Gollum said: Usually stadiums are named after dead people. But this stadium bears a megalomaniac's name, and was primed for 24 GE, entire 23 WC was orchestrated as coronatioon ceremony for him. How narcissistic must a creature be to insert itself everywhere? Not like Guj hasn't had any great figure from the past or famous cricketer after who it could be named....titans like Sardar Patel, Vinoo Mankad. In this day and age, such levels of vanity aren't exhibited even by XI, Putin types...even they are aware of how such moves will be perceived by their people. This is straight out of Kim-Jong-Un and Gaddafi playbooks, a great shame for Indian democracy. Gives you the "Trump renaming Kennedy Center after himself and then being shut down for 2 years" vibes. Gollum 1
zen Posted February 22 Posted February 22 If people rely on even stadiums to be lucky, it shows a lack of sporting spirit or understanding of sports. In its entire history, India has only one World Cup at home so far irrespective of the stadium. ODIs 1987 SF loss to Eng at Mumbai 1996 SF loss to SL at Kolkata (the match had to be stopped due to crowd behaviour) T20s 2016 SF loss to WI at Mumbai (?) 2012 - UAE did not make it to KOs Though I agree that the name of Ahmedabad cricket stadium should be changed as I am against naming monuments, roads, etc. on politicians name unless they were pre-independence. No NaMo stadium, No Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, No Indira Gandhi International Airport, and so on . raki05 1
raki05 Posted February 22 Posted February 22 2 minutes ago, Laaloo said: Putin is busy killing innocents in Ukraine but that's fine I guess. He doesn't have a stadium under his name so he's good. Than he is ultra chad …. Same with XI who literally made entire uighur instict . Lol hypocricybko bhi seema hoti hai. rangeelaraja and Laaloo 2
Gollum Posted February 22 Posted February 22 (edited) 8 minutes ago, raki05 said: Isnt it you in some other thread rooting for modi being pm. I am wondering why you would like a gadaffi anf kim jong in kind of narcissist to be in power. Hope you stick to your instance if this is your take on all the 23 wc defeat. Unlike you, I don't idolize any of these politicians. If they do something bad, I will call them out. If they are a better option out of a bad bunch, I will prefer them to be in power. Modi is not my bhagwan, just a human being. Stop being so sensitive to any criticism directed at him. In the other thread, you and @Laaloo are drawing up imaginary theories, playing victim card, wrongly painting it as an attack on all Gujjus, namecalling other communities just because a venue or politcian/administrator is being criticized. Here I am wondering why the stadium couldn't be named after some deceased person, perhaps a Vinoo Mankad (our first great cricketer who was also Gujju). And you guys are getting so offended and attacking the poster instead of points. Edited February 22 by Gollum Lone Wolf, Stan AF, VT87 and 2 others 3 2
Texy Posted February 22 Posted February 22 Serious Q needs to b raised why did this stadium get so many matches? Ultimate_Game and vvvslaxman 1 1
raki05 Posted February 22 Posted February 22 Just now, Gollum said: Unlike you, I don't idolize any of these politicians. If they do something bad, I will call them out. If they are a better option out of a bad bunch, I will prefer them to be in power. Modi is not my bhagwan, just a human being. Stop being so sensitive to any criticism directed at him. In the other thread, you and @Laaloo are drawing up imaginary theories, playing victim card, wrongly painting it as an attack on all Gujjus, namecalling other communities just because a venue or politcian/administrator is being criticized. Lol at idolised prove where i mentioned i idiolosed someone… but i am quoting exact sentence whatbyou said , so tell me why would you want a narcissist kinm jung un like person or gaddafi like human being as PM even if opposition is so bad . Definetely a gaddafi or kim jung un would not be better than kangressi . That too when you said that you are an avid voter of bjp and i never claimed any such thing. Suhaan, rollingstoned and Laaloo 1 2
Lone Wolf Posted February 22 Posted February 22 Will also volunteer personally @Gollum Ultimate_Game and Norman 1 1
Ultimate_Game Posted February 22 Author Posted February 22 2 minutes ago, Texy said: Serious Q needs to b raised why did this stadium get so many matches? And why Gujrat gets one of the highest Olympics budget for 0 Olympians when it's likes of Punjab and Haryana who have max Olympians and medals.
Ultimate_Game Posted February 22 Author Posted February 22 3 minutes ago, raki05 said: Lol at idolised prove where i mentioned i idiolosed someone… but i am quoting exact sentence whatbyou said , so tell me why would you want a narcissist kinm jung un like person or gaddafi like human being as PM even if opposition is so bad . Definetely a gaddafi or kim jung un would not be better than kangressi . That too when you said that you are an avid voter of bjp and i never claimed any such thing. Bhai aapas mein kyon lad rahe ho. Itni energy is manhoos stadium ko jalane mein use karo. Is stadium ki manhoosiyat khatam hone ka naam hi nahin leti raki05 and rollingstoned 2
raki05 Posted February 22 Posted February 22 Just now, Ultimate_Game said: And why Gujrat gets one of the highest Olympics budget for 0 Olympians when it's likes of Punjab and Haryana who have max Olympians and medals. These are great points … Ahmedabad should have never been allocated so many matches it will destroy the nature of pitch. There should have been either one knockout or league match: Laaloo, rangeelaraja, Ultimate_Game and 1 other 1 3
Gollum Posted February 22 Posted February 22 9 minutes ago, zen said: If people rely on even stadiums to be lucky, it shows a lack of sporting spirit or understanding of sports. In its entire history, India has only one World Cup at home so far irrespective of the stadium. ODIs 1987 SF loss to Eng at Mumbai 1996 SF loss to SL at Kolkata (the match had to be stopped due to crowd behaviour) T20s 2016 SF loss to WI at Mumbai (?) 2012 - UAE did not make it to KOs Though I agree that the name of Ahmedabad cricket stadium should be changed as I am against naming monuments, roads, etc. on politicians name unless they were pre-independence. No NaMo stadium, No Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, No Indira Gandhi International Airport, and so on . I think naming after post-independence people is fine. Just that in most cases I know, it is done after that person has passed away. Uppal (Hyderabad) was named aftter Rajiv Gandhi during UPA-1. Ekana stadium in Lucknow was named after Atal Bihari Vajpayee after his demise. Even for sportspersons, Major Dhyan Chand stadium in Delhi was named after him a couple of decades after his demise, it was just called National Stadium before that. Here we have a sitting PM and the largest stadium in the country is named after him. This isn't medieval times, and doesn't happen in other democracies.
vvvslaxman Posted February 22 Posted February 22 6 minutes ago, Texy said: Serious Q needs to b raised why did this stadium get so many matches? be it is IPL or WPL all marquee matches. May be to boost revenue for Gujarat.
BacktoCricaddict Posted February 22 Posted February 22 8 minutes ago, Texy said: Serious Q needs to b raised why did this stadium get so many matches?
Laaloo Posted February 22 Posted February 22 6 minutes ago, raki05 said: Lol at idolised prove where i mentioned i idiolosed someone… but i am quoting exact sentence whatbyou said , so tell me why would you want a narcissist kinm jung un like person or gaddafi like human being as PM even if opposition is so bad . Definetely a gaddafi or kim jung un would not be better than kangressi . That too when you said that you are an avid voter of bjp and i never claimed any such thing. Leave it no reason to explain to these people. Just how some right wing thinks the left hate modi, it's not true. They don't hate modi. They hate you the idol worshipping kafirs. And here they don't hate just modi, they hate gujjus as well. raki05 and rollingstoned 1 1
Laaloo Posted February 22 Posted February 22 (edited) 45 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said: Given how Gujarati tourists allegedly behave abroad, it’s surprising how silent they were at home today…. Should they behave like those wonderful south indians who pour gallons and gallons of milk over south Indian posters or destroy theatres with plastic waste during a movie or dance in the middle of the street with a DJ on in Dallas? Edited February 22 by Laaloo
Ultimate_Game Posted February 22 Author Posted February 22 2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: be it is IPL or WPL all marquee matches. May be to boost revenue for Gujarat. We'll chip in and ready to pay the revenue generated at other stadiums. Play at Chennai and transfer the profits to Gujrat. We want to see a winning team and that's not gonna happen with key matches played at this "shaapit" stadium.