Do we have a chasing problem?

8 minutes ago, rish said:

In T20s you have to pick players who are in form.There is no adjustment period to get yourself in form.The entire top order is out of form.

India will lose one more match atleast.

They were not out of form leading up to world cup. We chased 200 in 15 overs, 150 in 10 overs infact they said India then there is daylight. Even SKY got into form. Indians failed to handle pressure . Even USA came up with strategies which we couldn't handle. Indian batsmen does not have counter strategy. This is why your gamecannot be one-dimensional. One-dimensional games can be easily shut down.

1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said:

They were not out of form leading up to world cup. We chased 200 in 15 overs, 150 in 10 overs infact they said India then there is daylight. Even SKY got into form. Indians failed to handle pressure . Even USA came up with strategies which we couldn't handle. Indian batsmen does not have counter strategy. This is why your gamecannot be one-dimensional. One-dimensional games can be easily shut down.

I don't think India has ever successfully chased 160+ in a T20 WC without Kohli scoring decently.

5 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

I don't think India has ever successfully chased 160+ in a T20 WC without Kohli scoring decently.

Kohli has top scored in 4 of the highest chases ever for T20 WC. 

173 vs SA 2014

161 vs Aus 2016

160 vs Pak 2022

Next highest is 139 vs Bangladesh in 2014 where kohli top scored as well LOL

4 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

In bilateral they have been doing that. In world cup matches pressure is intense. Our current lot has cracked under pressure.  SA bowling was not exactly extraordinary. We just choked chasing a total that was only 10 or 15 above par.

2 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

In bilateral they have been doing that. In world cup matches pressure is intense. Our current lot has cracked under pressure.  SA bowling was not exactly extraordinary. We just choked chasing a total that was only 10 or 15 above par.

Maybe this being their first WC ever,that is Tilak, Abhishek,Rinku,Kishan(barely played) barring Tilak have only one gear are easy to get leashed by opposition and they have been tied

Tilak has huge issue with strike rotation also like his teammates is very  poor against spin which makes it worse

These guys were troubled by Pak in that Aisa cup final ,had it been some SENA side we would have certainly lost chasing 146  there too

As you said that  total was only 10-15 ruuns above par,the tried and tested formula of taking things deep should have been applied as you cannot hurt your Nrr beyond repair 

Even the cringe broadcasters also bring in the 7-15 overs slot as 'consolidation period'but these guys(captain,coach,team think tank)had no plans in place 

They need to learn fast,but i don't think SKY is inspiring them either

Edited by Suhaan

Kohli retired and we have no replacement. He was good till 2022 then fell off as well. It’s been 4 years we have no one who take pressure and finish matches

We have a quality problem.

Abhishek is a hack, he can't play any other way. Many of us including myself thought that he can be another daredevil like Sehwag or Yuvraj but he is not that, not yet and likely never would be.

Kishaan is yet to convince on long term consistency.

Surya is no longer at his peak. His age means that he will gradually taper down further. He also does not really have a stellar record in crunch matches.

Rinku has lost his rhythm with constant chopping and changing. He used to have very good head body balance while taking shots , no longer seems to be the case.

Pandya is Pandya. His focus is more on  imported cheerleaders from Eastern Europe rather than on 22 yards. Had the focus been there he could have been something but show off bazi takes the cake.

Tilak Verma is not a lost cause yet but not consistent enough.

Sanju Samson same as Verma.

Shivam Dubey is not international class. He does get good SR every now and then but looks unconvincing against good bowlers.

That's the forensic analysis of our batsmen.

Iyer could have been a good option on these sluggish pitches. But he is no saint either in T20s. Maybe Jaiswal.

Overall, this is the the best we have at the moment. But yes, no chasing maestro in the team for 160-180 piches.

2 hours ago, RajBan said:

We have a quality problem.

Abhishek is a hack, he can't play any other way. Many of us including myself thought that he can be another daredevil like Sehwag or Yuvraj but he is not that, not yet and likely never would be.

Kishaan is yet to convince on long term consistency.

Surya is no longer at his peak. His age means that he will gradually taper down further. He also does not really have a stellar record in crunch matches.

Rinku has lost his rhythm with constant chopping and changing. He used to have very good head body balance while taking shots , no longer seems to be the case.

Pandya is Pandya. His focus is more on  imported cheerleaders from Eastern Europe rather than on 22 yards. Had the focus been there he could have been something but show off bazi takes the cake.

Tilak Verma is not a lost cause yet but not consistent enough.

Sanju Samson same as Verma.

Shivam Dubey is not international class. He does get good SR every now and then but looks unconvincing against good bowlers.

That's the forensic analysis of our batsmen.

ONe of the first and foremost quality of talent is picking up the length and let the bat swing control from there. Among the current guys Vaibhav stands cut above rest. I can't believe how he plays some of the shots.  I have only seen Sehwag play like that.  Vaibhav can smack you for 90 meter six from standing position something our current lot can't do.

1 hour ago, deepdynamo said:

Iyer could have been a good option on these sluggish pitches. But he is no saint either in T20s. Maybe Jaiswal.

Overall, this is the the best we have at the moment. But yes, no chasing maestro in the team for 160-180 piches.

On these sluggish pitches, Jaiswal and Shreyas would have increased our chances, 100%. 

Kuch bhi bolo, Jaisu isn't a tullaybaaz. And Shreyas can handle spin better than these bozos. 

T20 WCs have always had a different dynamic compared to bilaterals. We got carried away by our humongous scores on pattas against C/D attacks. But that isn't how T20 WCs work, even 170-180 is good there and someone like Kohli who could maneuver the field, take his time, find 4s, was always the biggest weapon, his typical risk free 80*(55) is invaluable on such pitches and best thing about him was he used to stay there till the end and ensure job was complete. 

We may still win the damn thing because of the weak field (no monster side like 2012/16 WI or 2022 Eng....RSA and NZ have choking problem), but our approach was too one-dimensional. And tactics made no sense. 

We have wt20 problem. We suck in them. That's it.. Schedule a bilateral series now and you will see these guys again feasting on flat tracks. These are highway merchants who got exposed, nothing else. Even while setting target, they did zilch this time.

We have a common sense problem. 

I still can't get over the margin of defeat in Ahmedabad. It didn't strike a single person in that dugout when we were 50/5 after 10, that forget win, salvage NRR somehow !!!!!! School teams will show better awareness than that. 

1 hour ago, Bigg Brother said:

We have wt20 problem. We suck in them. That's it.. Schedule a bilateral series now and you will see these guys again feasting on flat tracks. These are highway merchants who got exposed, nothing else. Even while setting target, they did zilch this time.

Jab bal bhar maarne ka time tha,mahaul tha,jazbaat th,paata pitch th tab Kela maiden over khel raha tha(2022wc),Rohit bh slow tha

Yaha launde tricky pitches pe GTA level batting karne ka pryas kar rahe jab nahi karna hai:wp23:

Ka bola jaaye!

5 hours ago, Suhaan said:

Jab bal bhar maarne ka time tha,mahaul tha,jazbaat th,paata pitch th tab Kela maiden over khel raha tha(2022wc),Rohit bh slow tha

Yaha launde tricky pitches pe GTA level batting karne ka pryas kar rahe jab nahi karna hai:wp23:

Ka bola jaaye!

Rohit,KLR,Abhishek,Tilak sab ek hi thaali ke hai. Rohit also sucked donkeys for 15 years in wt20 till 2024 edition. KLR was idiot who should have been dropped after 2021 edition but we played him in 2022 edition after his bilateral heroics. Same with Abhishek and Tilak,Surya and Phony Pandya. No need to over analyse, There is literally no chasing problem, they suck in wt20s be it while chasing or setting target.

13 minutes ago, Bigg Brother said:

Rohit,KLR,Abhishek,Tilak sab ek hi thaali ke hai. Rohit also sucked donkeys for 15 years in wt20 till 2024 edition. KLR was idiot who should have been dropped after 2021 edition but we played him in 2022 edition after his bilateral heroics. Same with Abhishek and Tilak,Surya and Phony Pandya. No need to over analyse, There is literally no chasing problem, they suck in wt20s be it while chasing or setting target.

I will still cut some slack for Abhishek and Tilak for this being their first ICC event and mind you an ICC event in India is more gruelling for someone who is playing it for the first time vs somewhere else,no bilateral can match it,every game has its own load and fringe factors that influence a sides's/individuals progress in the tourney

10 hours ago, Gollum said:

We have a common sense problem. 

I still can't get over the margin of defeat in Ahmedabad. It didn't strike a single person in that dugout when we were 50/5 after 10, that forget win, salvage NRR somehow !!!!!! School teams will show better awareness than that. 

Experience is lacking. SKY is the most experienced. But did not really help one bit..same with pandya.

we were literally getting ready to post depressing memes if not for SS's magic.....after 2 wkts, prediction model showed WI win chance @ 87% Ind - 13%