Drop Abhishek from Semi Finals

Something tells me Abhi and Chakri are going to fire big time against Poms. We are yet to have a perfect game this WC, some big names are underperforming, and that is actually good !!!!!!

Abhi is far from perfect, very limited actually compared to someone like Jaiswal. But he is still a matchwinner, and can be devastating on pattas like Wankhede. We have numerous examples of players having a quiet WC in group stages and then exploding in KOs. 

All the best to Abhishek, bas catch mat chorna yaar. 

11 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Something tells me Abhi and Chakri are going to fire big time against Poms. We are yet to have a perfect game this WC, some big names are underperforming, and that is actually good !!!!!!

Abhi is far from perfect, very limited actually compared to someone like Jaiswal. But he is still a matchwinner, and can be devastating on pattas like Wankhede. We have numerous examples of players having a quiet WC in group stages and then exploding in KOs. 

I'm missing Jaiswal so much! Can't understand why he was kicked out and never backed. He would've taken on these average spinners in PP and made a mince-meat of them.

Sachin Tendulkar made his debut in 1989.

He hit his first ODI century in 1994.

Show faith in the younger players. They will improve.

If someone had to be dropped it should be SKY. Play Rinku (if he wants to play now) or Jaiswal in his place.

10 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Sachin Tendulkar made his debut in 1989.

He hit his first ODI century in 1994.

Show faith in the younger players. They will improve.

If someone had to be dropped it should be SKY. Play Rinku (if he wants to play now) or Jaiswal in his place.

wise words

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

Tere muh mein Ghee shakkar Gollum, but agar nahi chala, toh ya toh win hai ya toh Lunn hai !! 

36 minutes ago, Sean Bradley said:

Tere muh mein Ghee shakkar Gollum, but agar nahi chala, toh ya toh win hai ya toh Lunn hai !! 

Chalega bhai. Abhishek, SKY, Chakri generally do well against Poms. Psychologically they will be in a better state. 

Anyway let us back our fearless youngsters. Not like we have a Jaiswal or Vaibhav in the squad. 

13 hours ago, Sandz said:

Thank god none of you are selectors otherwise we will have a different team each match.

It is a game of musical chairs at ICF, along with “display extreme emotions” - a loss brings out the world has ended behaviour, while a win equals to being the king of the world. 

No changes for the rest of the tournament. Will break flow.

This is what we have, for better or worse.

2024 also Dube and Kohli were persisted with entire tournament.

1 minute ago, zen said:

It is a game of musical chairs at ICF, along display extreme emotions - a loss brings out the world has ended behaviour, while a win equals to being the king of the world. 

Poor reurns in 7 out of 8 games, poor foot movements, head dropping at the time of playing shots, poor catching and fielding, these are symptoms of poor form and low on confidence. 

Knives are not out for Abshisheks career, this thread specifically talks about dropping him from all important SF and possible finals, the risk vs rewards, World Cup is at stake here. Plus we jeopardised in form Kishan to accomodate Abhisheks struggles by dropping Kishan to no 3. 

Abhishek might still play and perform in the semi finals, and beleive me, I will the happiest person on earth, and i am ready to accept the backlash here if he performs for the team and country. 

Nothing is more important than the Team & The Country :isalute:

Just now, Sean Bradley said:

Poor reurns in 7 out of 8 games, poor foot movements, head dropping at the time of playing shots, poor catching and fielding, these are symptoms of poor form and low on confidence. 

Knives are not out for Abshisheks career, this thread specifically talks about dropping him from all important SF and possible finals, the risk vs rewards, World Cup is at stake here. Plus we jeopardised in form Kishan to accomodate Abhisheks struggles by dropping Kishan to no 3. 

Abhishek might still play and perform in the semi finals, and beleive me, I will the happiest person on earth, and i am ready to accept the backlash here if he performs for the team and country. 

Nothing is more important than the Team & The Country :isalute:

The coach is the best position to decide what is needed as he is observing the players and talking to them. 

Similar arguments could be made for Gilchrist, who many times struggled in group games to shine in the final. 

We don’t know Abhishek’s mental frame. The coach and the team management know, along with evaluating the options. 

If he is benched, it would be because Rinku is showing more promise and confidence or India wants to squeeze in an additional bowling option (like Kuldeep) believing that the rest of the batting is clicking nicely. 

Both the Pro-Abhishek and the Anti-Abhishek gangs make valid points but truth is... this is way too late to make any changes and tinker with the team combination. 

Need to back this XI somehow to play to their potential. :eyedance:

1 hour ago, Norman said:

Both the Pro-Abhishek and the Anti-Abhishek gangs make valid points but truth is... this is way too late to make any changes and tinker with the team combination. 

Need to back this XI somehow to play to their potential. :eyedance:

It is not what we want anymore. It is what we will do. I am 100% sure Abhishek will play much like Buttler will play for England who  has 5 times worse tournament than Abhishek with bat.

People need to stop throwing greatest players comparisions to guys like Abhishek.

Sachin is one of the greatest players ever to have played the game. He had proved his caliber in test cricket before he scored a hundred in odis.He was very good in middle order in odis.

Abhishek is 26 and plays only one format.His technique has been found out. His mind is all scrambled now. It just proves you need some sort of technique to fall back in troubled times.

Sachin had impeccible technique.

12 minutes ago, putrevus said:

People need to stop throwing greatest players comparisions to guys like Abhishek.

Sachin is one of the greatest players ever to have played the game. He had proved his caliber in test cricket before he scored a hundred in odis.He was very good in middle order in odis.

Abhishek is 26 and plays only one format.His technique has been found out. His mind is all scrambled now. It just proves you need some sort of technique to fall back in troubled times.

Sachin had impeccible technique.

Who compared Abhishek to Sachin? :hmmm:

With Axar at 9, we bat super deep.

We knew before the tourney that Sharma was a high standard deviation batter. From batting POV, as long as he doesn't waste balls, he can be carried.

My issue is more with his fielding. This guy is usually an electric fielder but dropped two easy catches yesterday. This can be truly damaging in knockouts.