All top teams are decoding Varun. Is it time for kuldeep?

Stick with Varun C. He is doing ok and always gets breakthroughs. He seems to be struggling more due to the ineptness of our fielders and pathetic catching.

Playing Kuldeep over Varun C would be a wrong decision as Kuldeep is a mental midget and at Wankhede he would be taken apart by Eng batters. And playing both Varun C and Kuldeep would be like going back to KulCha days with a long tail, and couple of early wkts and you're done.

Batting depth has delivered us ICC tourneys and this suits us. All our tourney wins have come when we had batting depth. Loading team with specialist bowlers who can't bat or field is a recipe for disaster. If you want to bring in Kuldeep, then drop Arshdeep. But you can only play 3 specialist bowlers.

1 hour ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Stick with Varun C. He is doing ok and always gets breakthroughs. He seems to be struggling more due to the ineptness of our fielders and pathetic catching.

Playing Kuldeep over Varun C would be a wrong decision as Kuldeep is a mental midget and at Wankhede he would be taken apart by Eng batters. And playing both Varun C and Kuldeep would be like going back to KulCha days with a long tail, and couple of early wkts and you're done.

Batting depth has delivered us ICC tourneys and this suits us. All our tourney wins have come when we had batting depth. Loading team with specialist bowlers who can't bat or field is a recipe for disaster. If you want to bring in Kuldeep, then drop Arshdeep. But you can only play 3 specialist bowlers.

Akeal hosein is one of the best defensive bowler going around in world T20 cricket. Playing leagues across the world. Played in SA20 as well. Even he couldn't get much out of it. ON wickets that don't have a lot of grip Margine of error for batsman is very high even against Varun

3 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

This si the performance of spinners in this world cup.  He plays all his games in Indai except one game.

Screenshot-2026-03-01-132009.jpg

He is very potent v minnows who have not played him.

2 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

He is probably the best spinner against SA. Most SA batsmen could not pick him at all both here and in SA. You think India has a spinner that will go for 25 runs in 4 overs every match?  This guy is ranked no.1 in the world not by performing against minnows. You have to realize most catches were dropped off his bowling.  Also today he took out powell for 0 but umpire idiot did not give. Some player with long leverl can get hold of spinners from time to time.  He is still our X factor bowler. He can take out 2 or 3 wickets in one over even if there is a slight grip. Batsmen can't pick him immediately in pressure matches

30 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Akeal hosein is one of the best defensive bowler going around in world T20 cricket. Playing leagues across the world. Played in SA20 as well. Even he couldn't get much out of it. ON wickets that don't have a lot of grip Margine of error for batsman is very high even against Varun

3 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

He has given us breakthroughs just like he did today. But our bowlers need support from our fielders. That's the biggest concern. We're dropping catches every match and our catching efficiency is less than 60% and below even the associates.

If our bowlers had better support from the fielders, the bowling stats get much better.

8 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

That is why stats don't tell all the story. He has failed to do anything in three matches.

I would play Kuldeep in semis.

9 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

He is probably the best spinner against SA. Most SA batsmen could not pick him at all both here and in SA. You think India has a spinner that will go for 25 runs in 4 overs every match?  This guy is ranked no.1 in the world not by performing against minnows. You have to realize most catches were dropped off his bowling.  Also today he took out powell for 0 but umpire idiot did not give. Some player with long leverl can get hold of spinners from time to time.  He is still our X factor bowler. He can take out 2 or 3 wickets in one over even if there is a slight grip. Batsmen can't pick him immediately in pressure matches

Was he?

They were 3 down (SA) and smashed him. Thats what i remember. Brevis in particular.

I always get a feeling that Varun and KD bowl better in tandem. Varun with his defensive bowling attacking the stumps, gazillion variations, and KD being a bit aggressive, giving the ball nice air. 

Coach GG will decide based on how he is observing the players in the dressing run and in the field during practise sessions. 

But we can discuss the playing 11 till the cows come home for timepass!

43 minutes ago, velu said:

kuldeep cant field , cant run and cant go back to collect the ball when bowling :facepalm:

atleast chahal gives us some entertainment 

Did well with varun in champions trophy

See if likes of Dube were good for 2 overs this debate would be moot. I also feel likes of Abhi Sharma should have bowled more. Like 2 overs per match. India are missing that. A suresh raina.

In match vs windies. Varun got wicket on hope. Hettie then faced *ing Pandya rather than Bumrah as we wanted our weakest to go through their overs.

If kuldeep is not on. Then sunder axar and varun offers better return. 

Varun needs support. That much is clear. I think axar offered a bit of that bowling in power play. Needs more.

16 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

This si the performance of spinners in this world cup.  He plays all his games in Indai except one game.

Screenshot-2026-03-01-132009.jpg

Yeh kya bakwaas hai? I don't like data. Simple as that. 

Yours,

Gauti

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

I always get a feeling that Varun and KD bowl better in tandem. Varun with his defensive bowling attacking the stumps, gazillion variations, and KD being a bit aggressive, giving the ball nice air. 

You cannot play both.

20 hours ago, G_B_ said:

Was he?

They were 3 down (SA) and smashed him. Thats what i remember. Brevis in particular.

Before that match. Brevis has blitzed many teams recently. He is an amazing talent.

Stick with him. 

It was always obvious that he will be decoded some day, hopefully he has one more performance in the bag.

He is a mystery spinner and humans love to solve mysteries.

So couple of bad games and we get rid of him? What kind of logic is that? He has been the best Indian spinner for about 2 years now and he deserves to play the knock outs. You cannot drop a bowler who has been bowling brilliantly for a while now. He has played on some flat tracks and I expect him to do well in the SF and in the finals if we get there. If Kuldeep plays, it has to be in the place of someone else. 

No.Varun plays.

Cant keep dropping players after few bad games.

Abhishek plays too.

My be we could open with Kishan and Samson and let Abhi come at 3. That's it.

Let Axar play too. We do not need Sundar.

Stop telling Dube where to bowl. Let him bowl freely.