1 minute ago, Mariyam said:

I never watch all these Pakistani 'woe is me' shows

Seems like an attempt to capitalize on the Indian market by trash talking their side (which is quite trash tbh) and bigging up India. Doesn't seem like genuine reaction.

Have felt the same as well but there are some with genuine reactions.

2 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

I saw it on the 20th.

Was mildly bored. Found the 1st part to be more engaging. The first part was Raazi + Satya. 

This was Rocky Handsome in Pakistan.

This movie was like rambo 3 meets 80s bollywood action . Predictable and with a unending body count.

My idea of a *real* hit movie is where dialogues, songs and clothing/hair styles are remembered. And imitated.

Case in point: Andaaz Apna Apna. Not a hit commercially, but I could recollect most of the dialogues. 

Can't for D1 and D2, albeit its not a genre I enjoy.

2 minutes ago, rish said:

This movie was like rambo 3 meets 80s bollywood action . Predictable and with a unending body count.

Haven't seen Rambo 3. 

Or any Rambo movie for that matter.

:(( 

49 minutes ago, rish said:

Yes ofcourse I watched it. These films are necessary for countering the leftist narratives. The film offends my senses and is very jarring.

You would be better off countering my points rather than making comparisons to porn . Also no allegies thank you.

Fair enough, but I think you are a bit too harsh on the movie, as you had similar comments on the first part as well.

Agreed that the music in the second movie is a huge letdown because the benchmark was set  too high in the first movie. Even the dialogues, editing and the script was very taut in the first movie as compared to the second one.  My Explanation is that the first movie did all the buildup of characters and the plot, so the other jobs like editing , music etc was also made perfect for the buildup. The second movie had to culminate the plot lines and tie all the loose ends as evident in the name itself. The revenge. So it was all about fast paced action to put an end to all the bad characters. But he also added a few plot twist to make it interesting and not end up like a. Mithun.Da 90s revengemovie.

For me, only the climax action was extended by about 15 to 20 minutes, could havecut down the jarring part. It kind of spoiled the movie experience in the end. certainly the movie could have been edited out to make it look better like the first movie, but Ranveer Singh had put a lot of effort in the body language and acting,  and all the ensemble cast especially Rakesh Bedi had done a very good job, so it was not that jarring for me.

4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Fair enough, but I think you are a bit too harsh on the movie, as you had similar comments on the first part as well.

Agreed that the music in the second movie is a huge letdown because the benchmark was set  too high in the first movie. Even the dialogues, editing and the script was very taut in the first movie as compared to the second one.  My Explanation is that the first movie did all the buildup of characters and the plot, so the other jobs like editing , music etc was also made perfect for the buildup. The second movie had to culminate the plot lines and tie all the loose ends as evident in the name itself. The revenge. So it was all about fast paced action to put an end to all the bad characters. But he also added a few plot twist to make it interesting and not end up like a. Mithun.Da 90s revengemovie.

For me, only the climax action was extended by about 15 to 20 minutes, could havecut down the jarring part. It kind of spoiled the movie experience in the end. certainly the movie could have been edited out to make it look better like the first movie, but Ranveer Singh had put a lot of effort in the body language and acting,  and all the ensemble cast especially Rakesh Bedi had done a very good job, so it was not that jarring for me.

To me a good movie is one that compels repeat viewing. In this case its a resounding no.both the first and second parts were too loud and too long.

I can rarely think of any bollywood films in the recent that made me want to watch it multiple times.Maybe Bahubali.

I feel.most of the films are overrated RRR , KGF , Pushpa Kantara.i couldnt finish watching most of these films.

I would have also liked the director to post the real pics of the people who committed atrocities .Because most foreigners who watch are not able to figure out what is real and what isnt.

1 hour ago, Mariyam said:

Seems like an attempt to capitalize on the Indian market by trash talking their side (which is quite trash tbh) and bigging up India. Doesn't seem genuine reaction.

Exactly, they have victimised themselves for the dollars.

Its not even organic anymore.

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

Propaganda spread by even Sachin

Where ? That Gang War one ?

I think he started with an assumption that its a "Gang War"...being from Mumbai and grown up in late 80s and early 90s and all those Karim Lala, Varda bhai, Haji Mastan, Dawood...he safely assumed that it might be a Gang war within groups. Who would have thought that Mumbai would see such attacks.

Thankfully, our coast guard is much stronger now. 

1 hour ago, Mariyam said:

Seems like an attempt to capitalize on the Indian market by trash talking their side (which is quite trash tbh) and bigging up India. Doesn't seem genuine reaction.

Aren’t all Pakistani Youtubers and TV channels banned in India?

It's actually what you can call revenge fantasy based in a real world context with belligerent writer. 

What keeps it from greatness is that director couldn't overrule the writer.  It's masala revenge fantasy entertainer not pretending to be documentary while leveraging facts of the real world. 

Edited by ravishingravi
2 hours ago, Mariyam said:

My idea of a *real* hit movie is where dialogues, songs and clothing/hair styles are remembered. And imitated.

Case in point: Andaaz Apna Apna. Not a hit commercially, but I could recollect most of the dialogues. 

Tbh all of them are going viral.

Dhurandar 2 was definitely more enjoyable for me than Dhurandar 1.

The attention to detail and research is at levels seen very rarely in Bollywood movies. 

The cinematography ( replicating Karachi ) is also unbelievably real.

The dialogue " Ghayal hoon isleyi Ghaatak hoon " will live on decades. 

You know when a movie is a fictional propoganda your adversary's reaction will make it obvious --- most of this actually happeend and Karachiites know it.

What i like the most about this movie is - it has smashed the monopoly of Salman "bhai" who thinks that there is an unsaid understanding in bollywood that  Eid releases are locked exclusively for his movies.

This movie is a big F U to Bollywood mafia - YRF, Dharma Productions and Khans and other Pak sympathisers

Edited by rangeelaraja
27 minutes ago, deathmonger said:

Tbh all of them are going viral.

Jo yaad rakhna chahe usiko yaad rehta hain.. samjhe baat .. jo bhulna chahe usko kuch bhi yaad nahi rehta..

8 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Jo yaad rakhna chahe usiko yaad rehta hain.. samjhe baat .. jo bhulna chahe usko kuch bhi yaad nahi rehta..

15 years down the line would you remember dialogues from D1 and D2, like you do from, say, Deewar?

2 hours ago, Mariyam said:

You are cutting across genres. There are hit movies in different genre. This is not your AAA type of hit movie. This is a typical action/revenge/political drama with the realistic context. Different people have different tastes , and like the narrative set by the script/director

5 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

15 years down the line would you remember dialogues from D1 and D2, like you do from, say, Deewar?

Maybe or maybe not the dialogues, but I feel the action sequences, the BGM, action sequences with popular hit music from the old movies, will definitely be remembered even 15 years down the line. That is a trendsetter for action movies going forward, and I’m sure most action movies will follow this formula from here on.