Best Indian cuisine  

14 members have voted

1. 1. What is the best Indian cuisine?

1 hour ago, straighttalk said:

I love South India n dishes like idli dosa vada as breakfast with filter coffee 

Something about fermented food for breakfast options which South has perfected. Light on the stomach, keeps you energized in the mornings, no bloating.

Parathas, puri/bhaji are great comfort options, no denying. 

10 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

WTF is this?? Edible oil is a delicacy now:hysterical:

Whatever they say UP's Indo Mughalai cuisine is top tier and world famous.  Something that Pooks love to claim as well but even they know it doesn't belongs to them.  It's Indian heritage.

No one is visiting UP to enjoy Edible oil (what even tf it is?) Kachori and Samosas 

UNESCO literally has included Lucknow's tunday Kabab as among World famous timeless flavours lol

I wouldn't recommend those 'signature' dishes to my worst enemy, @coffee_rules

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

UP has an awesome legacy of meat based dishes. Sad it has come down to this @Lone Wolf @Mariyam @New guy @Lord @straighttalk, such petty people in power.

Where is the Nihari, Korma, Kakori/Shami Kabab, Biryani etc? Edible oil, pickled chillis are signature UP dishes but not Awadhi Biryani and Galouti Kabab. 

r/uttarpradesh - NO galauti kebab! UP's 'One District-One Cuisine' list sidelines biryani, picks only veg items

Edible oil :hysterical:

Is this to feed the foreign dignitaries?

3 minutes ago, kepler37b said:

@zen bhaai..beizzati of gujju cuisine going on. Come defend man.

What beizzati? Sabka personal likes/dislikes hota hai. Some people don't like excess sweet, some don't like meat heavy cuisne, some may have problem with certain kinds of oils (coconut oil in my case). If you hate the smell of mustard oil you won't enjoy Bengali food.

2 minutes ago, Gollum said:

What beizzati? Sabka personal likes/dislikes hota hai. Some people don't like excess sweet, some don't like meat heavy cuisne, some may have problem with certain kinds of oils (coconut oil in my case). If you hate the smell of mustard oil you won't enjoy Bengali food.

Naah was just pulling his leg. We banter a lot.

21 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Gujju cuisine is too sweet, and extreme carb slop. Dhoklas for snacks is fine but overall not a fan. 

Very rarely I have seen anyone praising Gujju cuisine.  Recommendation has been so bad that I never even tried.. barring Dhoklas which were okay with chutney tbh I even liked it but I would get bored with too much familiarity as well

14 minutes ago, Lord said:

Edible oil :hysterical:

Is this to feed the foreign dignitaries?

Must be a Baboo who was told to only list veg items and he was short of options... Nothing explains this otherwise

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Don't you dare take jibes at Bengali cuisine. 

Sugar Sambhar

Ragi Mudde

Mysore Pak

Sasta Puran Poli aka Holige

Main kuch bolna shuru kar du toh kahi ke nahi rahoge coffee. 

Hate milk based , sardson ke tel tapakta hua, aloo based vanga cuisine, don’t start with fish smell. You are not well initiated into karnataka food, it changes every 50 kms. You can mention only 4 of the stereotypes. North Karnataka cuisine is also pretty unique. Also agree Delhi food is better than Mumbai, in sreet food. Had made Dal falaknuma once and have stopped making Dal Makhni . I don’t get the right kind of Indian spices here. I have to get some india

My favourites 

Andhra/Telangana -> Guttu Vankaya Pulao, Bamboo chicken
Konkani -> Kokum chicken curry
Rajasthani -> Lal Maans
Marwari -> Dal Baati Churma
UP -> Chole Kachori
MP -> Poha with sev masala and Jalebi

For a brief period (3 monts) I was in Gujrat, really enjoyed that Saurashtra Thali and Dabeli variant of Vadapav. People dislike Gujrati foods due to their sweetness, but Saurashtra thali along with their badam milk was something for me to cherish.

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

UP has an awesome legacy of meat based dishes. Sad it has come down to this @Lone Wolf @Mariyam @New guy @Lord @straighttalk, such petty people in power.

Where is the Nihari, Korma, Kakori/Shami Kabab, Biryani etc? Edible oil, pickled chillis are signature UP dishes but not Awadhi Biryani and Galouti Kabab. 

r/uttarpradesh - NO galauti kebab! UP's 'One District-One Cuisine' list sidelines biryani, picks only veg items

Chu bana rakkha hai bc

Chole Kachori of Banaras with Lassi and malai on top is something worth cherishing for.
There is Lucknowi biryani as well, less spicy for my liking, and the rice is bit dry in comparison to Hyderabadi Biryani. But it's amazing for those who get taste of.

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

I don't know much about Maharashtrian cuisine, any recommendations @Mariyam @G_B_?

Don’t know much about Maharashtrian cuisine.

Based on my limited exposure 

You should try:

Snack: Sabudana + solkadi

Meal: Kolhapur style mutton and jowar bhakri

Just now, Mariyam said:

Best Indian Cuisine:

Goan

Awadhi

Kashmiri

I always hear polarizing opinions about Kashmiri food. Either people love it or find it extremely overrated. 

Just now, Mariyam said:

Worst

Andhra (minus Hyderabad)

Good luck, you have declared war on half of ICF. 

1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

Must be a Baboo who was told to only list veg items and he was short of options... Nothing explains this otherwise

Veg me bhi bc options hi options hai.
Chk with Rajeev Shukla, you'll find cocktails of veg food worth feeling an entire district for 20 odd years.