Best Indian cuisine  

14 members have voted

1. 1. What is the best Indian cuisine?

12 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Don’t know much about Maharashtrian cuisine.

Based on my limited exposure 

You should try:

Snack: Sabudana + solkadi

Meal: Kolhapur style mutton and jowar bhakri

This looks like vrat food 

6 minutes ago, Gollum said:

I always hear polarizing opinions about Kashmiri food. Either people love it or find it extremely overrated. 

Good luck, you have declared war on half of ICF. 

There was a wedding I attended in Kashmir. The girl was Kashmiri, the boy from Mumbai.

It was just on the outskirts of Srinagar. Perhaps the best food I had in my life.

Kashmiri thali for all 3 meals 2 days on the trot. Different dishes Everytime.

Tabak Maaz (cooked in a Kashmiri pandit style using hing and fennel seeds)!!!!!!

Yummy.

1 minute ago, Mariyam said:

There was a wedding I attended in Kashmir. The girl was Kashmiri, the boy from Mumbai.

It was just on the outskirts of Srinagar. Perhaps the best food I had in my life.

Tabak Maaz (cooked in a Kashmiri pandit style using hing and fennel seeds)!!!!!!

Yummy.

Yes, have heard a lot about Tabak Maaz. 

17 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Typo? Did you mean to say Virat?

You eat Mutton on your vrat? :confused:

You can be excused for being a Gujarati and not speaking fluent Gujarati.

But there is no excuse for being a Gujarati and not having the daily dose of one or more of ---Thepla, Dhokla, Handvo.

Time for you to come clean and identify yourself. :cantstop:

9 hours ago, kepler37b said:

I also love tamil brahmin cuisine. Sheer mastery of vegetarianism.

No doubt. It is the best vegetarian food on the planet. And unlike North Indian vegetarian food, it doesn't give a carb coma ( unless you stuff yourself with rice ).

it is easy on the stomach, not too spicy. Just perfect. 

18 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Yummy.

Kashmiri cuisine is top tier.. but it has to be in Kashmir.  I tried it in Delhi restaurants in new friends colony but were average 

Kashmiri Gushtaba, Methi maaz are in the league of their own.

Tabak maaz I always found too chewy, my dad loved it

Aab ghost is also underrated 

31 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Typo? Did you mean to say Virat?

You eat Mutton on your vrat? :confused:

Ok I stopped at sabudana loo

46 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Best Indian Cuisine:

Goan

Awadhi

Kashmiri

Worst

Andhra (minus Hyderabad)

Don’t like quoting myself, but genius needs to be acknowledged.

My above post is for meals.

For snacks:

Best

Gujarati

Udipi

Worst

Indore

57 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Don’t know much about Maharashtrian cuisine.

Based on my limited exposure 

You should try:

Snack: Sabudana + solkadi

Meal: Kolhapur style mutton and jowar bhakri

Pav bhaji

47 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Darun!

Tumi Shotti bola.

Taratari Koro. Eita ban thakbe hobe.

tumi ekla na cholo. Ami chillam tumar dak sheune

eeesh.

Tumio, Brutus.

Ami juddho ghoshona korchi

18 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

Watch this @Gollum  - This will change your opinion of Delhi food viz. Mumbai :laugh:

PROPER !!

Vada Pav khane pe  naam pe dhabba hain. Chalo bol diya!  Lahsin chutney hara mirch ke bina kya hain? Bole to  Ghanta ,, kya..

3 hours ago, Mariyam said:

Best Indian Cuisine:

Goan

Awadhi

Kashmiri

Worst

Andhra (minus Hyderabad)

I stayed in Hyderabad for sometime and Andhra meals are delicious. In South Indian food, I find Andhra food the best.

An alt question - which is your favourite Biryani? Hyderabadi? Kolkata style? Chennai Biryani? Or something else.

Also, do you guys prefer Chicken or Mutton Biryani?

1 hour ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

An alt question - which is your favourite Biryani? Hyderabadi? Kolkata style? Chennai Biryani? Or something else.

Also, do you guys prefer Chicken or Mutton Biryani?

Hyderabadi mutton biryani