coffee_rules Posted May 11 Posted May 11 2 hours ago, jf1gp_1 said: Large part of these pulse imports are substandard, in some cases toxic, which couldnt be sold in home countries. They are cheaper than our Indian products and sell quick. However, it's just sad when you place Indian and imported fruits next to each other. If one has money there is no way one will buy Indian fruits. PM needs to focus on quality produce. Few people died due to toxins in watermelon few days back. It is not about inferior products. Indians are sold out on imported goods. They have a little bit of disposable income they want imported maal and the other cam is export quality. It means making order for local consumption within inferior quality. What the fcuk is that?
randomGuy Posted May 11 Author Posted May 11 1 minute ago, straighttalk said: Because our country seriously lacks in infrastructure cleanliness and safety not to add corruption. Earlier it was affordable and now it has become so expensive.one needs to go to Vietnam to simply understand the difference between the two countries... Yes their population is smaller but their revenues are less too...their civic sense infrastructure and their govt has done so much to improve their quality of life and standard of living compared to what we get in India.... Yes Mr. Obvious. I have said the same things. Question today is saving the forex reserves by one of the several measures - not vacationing in foreign.
coffee_rules Posted May 11 Posted May 11 1 hour ago, straighttalk said: Because our country seriously lacks in infrastructure cleanliness and safety not to add corruption. Earlier it was affordable and now it has become so expensive.one needs to go to Vietnam to simply understand the difference between the two countries... Yes their population is smaller but their revenues are less too...their civic sense infrastructure and their govt has done so much to improve their quality of life and standard of living compared to what we get in India.... OK, self-loather, where all have you gone and visited in India to have this opinion. Vietnam is a tiny country compared to India. What are you doing RR about? We can travel across major cities in India using air travel. There are trains and 4 lane highway roads for Travel. What infrastructure are you doing RR about?? City roads have potholes. You come here and drive in. NJ , the roads in India are much better. US has a crumbling infrastructure. I’ve never seen you say anything positive about india. Try once.
Mariyam Posted May 11 Posted May 11 2 hours ago, randomGuy said: Yes Mr. Obvious. I have said the same things. Question today is saving the forex reserves by one of the several measures - not vacationing in foreign. Can you run numbers on this please. Just curious. What share of the pie of forex spends of the nations are by those on foreign vacations?
coffee_rules Posted May 11 Posted May 11 (edited) This I agree. Gold imports have to be reduced. Ladies stop buying gold Edited May 11 by coffee_rules
Lone Wolf Posted May 11 Posted May 11 Same companies made lots of money when global oil prices dropped substantially. Rupee depreciation would reach at larger than life number as well so brace yourself
Lone Wolf Posted May 11 Posted May 11 5 hours ago, gattaca said: lol what ? India is doing that ? People in India have been lazy recently. They don’t want to work hard. India is a welfare state now. 33000 crore/ year freebies in Bihar, Vijay is promising more than double of that in TN so yeah we are
straighttalk Posted May 11 Posted May 11 1 hour ago, coffee_rules said: OK, self-loather, where all have you gone and visited in India to have this opinion. Vietnam is a tiny country compared to India. What are you doing RR about? We can travel across major cities in India using air travel. There are trains and 4 lane highway roads for Travel. What infrastructure are you doing RR about?? City roads have potholes. You come here and drive in. NJ , the roads in India are much better. US has a crumbling infrastructure. I’ve never seen you say anything positive about india. Try once. Have you visited vietnam. Foreign tourists are not scammed or raped. You have good highways where people follow rules and have civic sense. It is much cleaner and less polluted than India. That tiny country has 21 million foreign tourists in 2025 and India has 9 million will j most being from Bangaldesh and Indian overseas citizens of other countries. Since India arguably has huge breadth and variety of natural scenery from majestic Himalayas. Forests, rivers deserts, that's and islands...why do you think vietnam is kicking our sorry ass.
straighttalk Posted May 11 Posted May 11 2 hours ago, randomGuy said: Yes Mr. Obvious. I have said the same things. Question today is saving the forex reserves by one of the several measures - not vacationing in foreign. No you didn't..you asked people to sacrifice and go on domestic vacations...which is good and most people do that but we are not building on our huge potential for a variety of reasons.
rangeelaraja Posted May 11 Posted May 11 (edited) 18 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: This I agree. Gold imports have to be reduced. Ladies stop buying gold If Indian citizens collectively front-run a significant dollar devaluation by continuing to import gold, it may turn out accidental sovereign hedge for India. US Debt is close to $40 trilllion dollars ----https://www.usdebtclock.org/ What happens if USD is devalued by design systematically to inflate debt away ? It would actually turn out to be a master stroke to hoard gold. Edited May 11 by rangeelaraja coffee_rules 1
Nonbeliever Posted May 11 Posted May 11 Yes eat less oil so this year up government can light 50 lakh diyas breaking their own world record of 26 lakh diyas last year. Save money so that your government can buy mp MLAs. Use desi products so all your lords Modi ambani and Adani can spend their fortunes on videshi products. And the NRIs who ditched their country just because of money and lack of facilities are preaching the others to be obedient deshbhakt. Vancouver and MechEng 2
Nonbeliever Posted May 11 Posted May 11 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Lord said: Do as I say not as I do 11th incarnation of Vishnu Ji( Shri shri narendra modiji) have blessed the bhakts that their fuel tanks will never be empty till their bikes and cars are running in BJP rallies. Edited May 11 by Nonbeliever Vancouver and Lord 1 1
Lone Wolf Posted May 11 Posted May 11 18 minutes ago, Lord said: Do as I say not as I do Lord, Nonbeliever and MechEng 1 2
randomGuy Posted May 11 Author Posted May 11 52 minutes ago, Mariyam said: Can you run numbers on this please. Just curious. What share of the pie of forex spends of the nations are by those on foreign vacations? "LNG Import Bill (FY25): Approximately $15.2 billion, up ~13% from FY24, due to rising demand despite some volume fluctuations." LPG Import Bill Volume: India imported approximately 22 million metric tons (MMT) of LPG in 2025 (calendar year). It meets ~60% of its LPG needs through imports, making it the world's second-largest LPG importe Value: Nearly $12 billion spent on these imports, mostly from the Middle East (e.g., Qatar, UAE, Saudi Arabia). 2024 (UNWTO data): Approximately $41.34 billion in international outbound tourism expenditure (up ~6.8% from 2023's $38.72 billion). This covers spending by Indian residents on trips abroad, including transportation, accommodation, food, shopping, and other tourism-related expenses." Mariyam 1
singhvivek141 Posted May 11 Posted May 11 (edited) 2 hours ago, straighttalk said: Have you visited vietnam. Foreign tourists are not scammed or raped. You have good highways where people follow rules and have civic sense. It is much cleaner and less polluted than India. That tiny country has 21 million foreign tourists in 2025 and India has 9 million will j most being from Bangaldesh and Indian overseas citizens of other countries. Since India arguably has huge breadth and variety of natural scenery from majestic Himalayas. Forests, rivers deserts, that's and islands...why do you think vietnam is kicking our sorry ass. I have visited Vietnam, mostly Ho chi Minh, Dalat, HoiAn & DaNang Their roads are as broad and has as many lanes as Indian roads...at times even lower. But they have less traffic on roads, as the population is less, so does the vehicular movement. Public transport facility in such towns are less, and Grab is prominent. But unlike India, they maintain theif taxis well and dont ask for surcharge or extra amount. One big difference that they have is that they are a one party socialist republic (basically another form of monarchy). So unlike India they dont need to appease to the people to get their votes. I dont need to remind how greedy and ignorant our population is. There are cities in India which match the infra...Vizag is an example, Trivandrum, Bhopal etc are some examples. But the people need to change their attitude as well. Goa is a massive example of that...such filthy taxi union that they dont allow Uber/Ola...even the Goa Miles cab drivers are beaten day in and day out if they pickup a passenger from "their area". These cab drivers are so scared that they will drop you 50-70 meters before your hotel if there is a taxi union stand nearby. Even at the airport there Goa Miles taxi cab is at the farthest and local drivers will heckle you before you even reach there. Edited May 11 by singhvivek141 Mariyam 1
MechEng Posted May 11 Posted May 11 15 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: Super proud to be a member of the much maligned NRI community that does its bit to wire 135 billion dollars annually via remittances to ensure that India will never ever fall short of forex. For all those agyaanis who ask for a bold stance and “ self respect “ against Uncle Sam , be aware that over 40 billion dollars of annual remittances come from there and almost entirely sent by the hardworking H1B professionals who toil and remit money either to invest in India or to provide for their families. Act oversmart or stronger than you are, and that tap can be turned off - it is a sad reality - especially in the current environment. Doesn't this paint India in poor light? What happened to that joke called "Make in India"? Did we setup any foundation from 2014 onwards to kickstart our manufacturing prowess? How did a country like Taiwan become a global giant in semiconductors? I am not saying that we should have such lofty aspirations, but what is stopping us to at least start? Except for giving the army a free hand, this government is all jumla and makes Congress look slightly better in comparison if we ignore external/internal security.
diga Posted May 11 Posted May 11 1 hour ago, MechEng said: Doesn't this paint India in poor light? What happened to that joke called "Make in India"? Did we setup any foundation from 2014 onwards to kickstart our manufacturing prowess? How did a country like Taiwan become a global giant in semiconductors? I am not saying that we should have such lofty aspirations, but what is stopping us to at least start? Except for giving the army a free hand, this government is all jumla and makes Congress look slightly better in comparison if we ignore external/internal security. Not defending Modi, but there is micron semiconductor plant coming up in Gujarat and a test and assembly plant from Tata in Assam/Bengal. Google it As for atmanirbhar and forex front. Modi has the intentions but not the aptitude for executing it