jf1gp_1 Posted May 11 Posted May 11 9 hours ago, coffee_rules said: It is not about inferior products. Indians are sold out on imported goods. They have a little bit of disposable income they want imported maal and the other cam is export quality. It means making order for local consumption within inferior quality. What the fcuk is that? I am telling you what I see on a daily basis.
coffee_rules Posted May 11 Posted May 11 6 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said: I am telling you what I see on a daily basis. It’s new to me If the imported millets are of standard quality. They’re all part of the trade deal between countries, they need to sell their Agro products to a large market like india. They should be of export quality just like when india sends its product theiy are label labeled as export quality.
coffee_rules Posted May 11 Posted May 11 7 hours ago, straighttalk said: Have you visited vietnam. Foreign tourists are not scammed or raped. You have good highways where people follow rules and have civic sense. It is much cleaner and less polluted than India. That tiny country has 21 million foreign tourists in 2025 and India has 9 million will j most being from Bangaldesh and Indian overseas citizens of other countries. Since India arguably has huge breadth and variety of natural scenery from majestic Himalayas. Forests, rivers deserts, that's and islands...why do you think vietnam is kicking our sorry ass. I hate to argue in binaries. When you visit any countries, we go to maybe top five to six places in two days and get impressed and make a reel, “how beautiful, how lovely, looks like a wow”. and make your judgment. You don’t go to the entire country. Yes there are neater places in Vietnam than in India in general, it comes from Civic sense of people not because Govt is not doing it job. Indians go to foreign countries and follow all the rules, but in India, you litter your neighborhood with garbage. That sense of maintaining neatness public places is not there among Indians . Slum in Ho Chi Minh : singhvivek141 and Lord 2
coffee_rules Posted May 11 Posted May 11 7 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: If Indian citizens collectively front-run a significant dollar devaluation by continuing to import gold, it may turn out accidental sovereign hedge for India. US Debt is close to $40 trilllion dollars ----https://www.usdebtclock.org/ What happens if USD is devalued by design systematically to inflate debt away ? It would actually turn out to be a master stroke to hoard gold. I did not get it, Indians buy gold, it’s in the market because of import of gold from other countries. When india buys gold, it has to pay in dollars. How will buying more gold devalue dollar because we need more dollars to buy gold and the demand increases the value.
jf1gp_1 Posted May 11 Posted May 11 52 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: It’s new to me If the imported millets are of standard quality. They’re all part of the trade deal between countries, they need to sell their Agro products to a large market like india. They should be of export quality just like when india sends its product theiy are label labeled as export quality. https://www.deccanchronicle.com/nation/current-affairs/190718/imported-lentils-laced-with-weed-killer.html News from years ago but it still happens
singhvivek141 Posted May 11 Posted May 11 (edited) 6 hours ago, MechEng said: Doesn't this paint India in poor light? What happened to that joke called "Make in India"? Did we setup any foundation from 2014 onwards to kickstart our manufacturing prowess? How did a country like Taiwan become a global giant in semiconductors? I am not saying that we should have such lofty aspirations, but what is stopping us to at least start? Except for giving the army a free hand, this government is all jumla and makes Congress look slightly better in comparison if we ignore external/internal security. Electricity and basic facilities like toilets were missing in this country. Banking system was not within reach of crores of Indians. Those two are the biggest win for this govt. Then the expansion of highways and last mile commectivity of Railways to Far East of India. Cities like Itanagar, Aizawl, Imphal, Kohima etc are either connected or close to be connected to the national network. People have forgotten how bad Congress govt was, any mishap and it used to take them days to even flag off the rescue vehicles. The response today is much quicker. Probably people dont remember the bloodbath which happened in the Taj Hotel or CSMT station when an open terrorist was shooting mindlessly and killing innocent people people who were running to defend their lives. Private sector is now playing a key hand in the defence. Its just that R&D costs a lot of money, and usually private sector companies arent ready to wait for that long. Countries like Taiwan & China were helped massively by US in setting up the industries and giving them funds, we sided with USSR whose expertise was mining and heavy industries like Steel. I am against freebies as well, but there is no doubt in my mind that the day any political party stops doing that. It will cease to exist, as the democracy of bribes and goodies which I used to see in local panchayat elections have now reached to a national scale...some offering free money, some giving free electricity, buss pass, and some promising x amount of Gold. There is Zero doubt in my mind that if tomorrow even Asim Munir decides to contest an election in India and promises everyone to give then 1 Crore each, the public will vote for him. Edited May 11 by singhvivek141 coffee_rules 1
singhvivek141 Posted May 11 Posted May 11 It seems the trigger to stop us growing to 10 trillion economy has begun. We lack elements like Copper, Phosphorous, Oil, Gold etc for our domestic needs and had to be exported. While Oil, Copper and Phosphorous are must for our food, transport, electrical and fertiliser industry..Gold doesnt have that utility.
crictime Posted May 11 Posted May 11 Kuch to log kahenge, logon ka kaam hai kehna..... Some keep saying there is no need to buy multiple houses / properties with the money you have. Others will say do not buy gold. Many will say do not buy products from Reebok, Nike, Skechers and buy only Bata. Heck, try doing a 5K and 10 K in half hour and one one hour in Bata, Relaxo and Campus shoes. Keep using substandard products manufactured locally but do not buy top of the line specialized branded products . Do not go abroad seems to be the latest. It is fine if their own sons study abroad and make family trips abroad. But someone who makes money with hard work , these babus seem to have a problem. Fold the money, do not invest, do not plan finances . Only do what you are told to do, such is the level of democracy now. Force things onto others on how one invests money in a democratic nation. But let corruption continue, ignore black money that gets stacked in houses of babus, benami properties taken by the looters, bad governance can stay at is, do not talk about pollution, the employment, infrastructure. Do not talk how merit based systems are missing. These are the least of our problems you see.
randomGuy Posted May 11 Author Posted May 11 1 minute ago, crictime said: Kuch to log kahenge, logon ka kaam hai kehna..... Some keep saying there is no need to buy multiple houses / properties with the money you have. Others will say do not buy gold. Many will say do not buy products from Reebok, Nike, Skechers and buy only Bata. Heck, try doing a 5K and 10 K in half hour and one one hour in Bata, Relaxo and Campus shoes. Keep using substandard products manufactured locally but do not buy top of the line specialized branded products . Do not go abroad seems to be the latest. It is fine if their own sons study abroad and make family trips abroad. But someone who makes money with hard work , these babus seem to have a problem. Fold the money, do not invest, do not plan finances . Only do what you are told to do, such is the level of democracy now. Force things onto others on how one invests money in a democratic nation. But let corruption continue, ignore black money that gets stacked in houses of babus, benami properties taken by the looters, bad governance can stay at is, do not talk about pollution, the employment, infrastructure. Do not talk how merit based systems are missing. These are the least of our problems you see. Japan me kehna bhi nahi padta, par phir bhi log samajhte hain. Yahan india me tere jaise kai hain jo PM , president ki request par bhi restraint nahi karte. singhvivek141 1
crictime Posted May 11 Posted May 11 (edited) 27 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Japan me kehna bhi nahi padta, par phir bhi log samajhte hain. Yahan india me tere jaise kai hain jo PM , president ki request par bhi restraint nahi karte. I am not alone, there are crores of similar mindset who plan their investments where they feel the return is good. Government is the last thing people will listen to when planing their finances. Have you even looked at the marks that politicians have got in academics. 50-60 percent are not even graduate, 20% are not even 10th pass. They hardly have any certifications which are related to finance. Why should people listen to these financially lesser or least qualified people. Clearly the information cannot flow from lesser educated to more educated. There is no need to get emotional in money matters. paper me roz nayi news chapti hai, you cannot change your plans everyday. Edited May 11 by crictime IndianRenegade and Vancouver 2
singhvivek141 Posted May 11 Posted May 11 54 minutes ago, crictime said: Kuch to log kahenge, logon ka kaam hai kehna..... Some keep saying there is no need to buy multiple houses / properties with the money you have. Others will say do not buy gold. Many will say do not buy products from Reebok, Nike, Skechers and buy only Bata. Heck, try doing a 5K and 10 K in half hour and one one hour in Bata, Relaxo and Campus shoes. Keep using substandard products manufactured locally but do not buy top of the line specialized branded products . Do not go abroad seems to be the latest. It is fine if their own sons study abroad and make family trips abroad. But someone who makes money with hard work , these babus seem to have a problem. Fold the money, do not invest, do not plan finances . Only do what you are told to do, such is the level of democracy now. Force things onto others on how one invests money in a democratic nation. But let corruption continue, ignore black money that gets stacked in houses of babus, benami properties taken by the looters, bad governance can stay at is, do not talk about pollution, the employment, infrastructure. Do not talk how merit based systems are missing. These are the least of our problems you see. Actually its reverse. You need to stock up the finances and increase the investments...but not in Golds but rather Govt backed Gold Bonds or virtual Gold. Real Gold agar India me rehta to it would had made sense. But India me Gold reserves bahut kam hai.
singhvivek141 Posted May 11 Posted May 11 (edited) Now just thinking, how does it affects our defence procurements. Is thats the reason Rafale and P75I not yet signed, specially Rafale which is a damn expensive deal. Will this be the pivot which might force us to go for Su57 in limited numbers instead of Rafales. Anyway Su57 with its weapons package is still less costly than Rafale Navy can still manage the submarine threat courtesy of P8Is and other ASWs. DRDO AIP trials may also be pushed to ensure other Scorpenes are powered as well. But IAF is really in a non negotiable position.They are buying scrapes to get the spares to keep Jaguars alive for few more years. Maybe, just maybe....if nothing works then new orders for upgraded Su30MKI can go through in 100 or 120 numbers to keep the squadron strength. Production line is reactivated and the newer 12 airframes are being constructed keeping in mind the "super sukhoi" requirements. I won't be surprised if more orders come through, considering the versatility of this platform @Lone Wolf, @G_B_ Edited May 11 by singhvivek141
coffee_rules Posted May 11 Posted May 11 (edited) I think p.m. should have addressed to all Indian, especially Punjabi bewdein to stop drinking imported Angrezi daaru and drink only desi daaru. Eh? Edited May 12 by coffee_rules Lord 1
rangeelaraja Posted May 11 Posted May 11 (edited) 9 hours ago, coffee_rules said: I did not get it, Indians buy gold, it’s in the market because of import of gold from other countries. When india buys gold, it has to pay in dollars. How will buying more gold devalue dollar because we need more dollars to buy gold and the demand increases the value. When the dollar starts getting weaker, people in India who bought gold benefit alot. Gold is always priced in dollars. So when the dollar loses value, the price of gold usually goes up. This means the gold they already own becomes worth more rupees. Their savings stay safe and actually grow in value, instead of losing purchasing power like money sitting in the bank or in dollars. Buying gold early helps them preserve real wealth when prices rise. This is exactly why many central banks are also buying gold right now. They expect the US to weaken the dollar to make its $38 trillion debt easier to repay. When that happens, gold helps protects national savings in real terms. https://money.com/central-banks-gold-buying-spree/ Edited May 11 by rangeelaraja coffee_rules 1
coffee_rules Posted May 12 Posted May 12 (edited) 4 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: When the dollar starts getting weaker, people in India who bought gold benefit alot. Gold is always priced in dollars. So when the dollar loses value, the price of gold usually goes up. This means the gold they already own becomes worth more rupees. Their savings stay safe and actually grow in value, instead of losing purchasing power like money sitting in the bank or in dollars. Buying gold early helps them preserve real wealth when prices rise. This is exactly why many central banks are also buying gold right now. They expect the US to weaken the dollar to make its $38 trillion debt easier to repay. When that happens, gold helps protects national savings in real terms. https://money.com/central-banks-gold-buying-spree/ Ye dollar kab girega? As long as there are petro dollars and countries trading in dollars , there is no hope. India imports about 800 tons of gold every year. It is the second largest import commodity after oil gas. If amounts to about $72 billion dollars, that is a huge saving in forex if Indians s don’t buy for a year. Edited May 12 by coffee_rules
kepler37b Posted May 12 Posted May 12 (edited) 18 hours ago, MechEng said: Doesn't this paint India in poor light? What happened to that joke called "Make in India"? Did we setup any foundation from 2014 onwards to kickstart our manufacturing prowess? How did a country like Taiwan become a global giant in semiconductors? I am not saying that we should have such lofty aspirations, but what is stopping us to at least start? Except for giving the army a free hand, this government is all jumla and makes Congress look slightly better in comparison if we ignore external/internal security. Indian population is below average in working as a group. Until that changes, patriots like me must harden and accept one reality. We will be that lower middle income country and can swing to china block or us block. The most shocking thing is the emergence of pseudo-nationalists under the Modi rule. They flame you and call you anti-national when you point out the deep rooted deficiencies in our society. Edited May 12 by kepler37b singhvivek141 1
kepler37b Posted May 12 Posted May 12 The new viceroy of India /... sergio gor saar.... Wish i can see such dynamism from our lukka UPSC Grindjeet carb slopped Indian Foreign Baabu's
rangeelaraja Posted May 12 Posted May 12 20 hours ago, MechEng said: Doesn't this paint India in poor light? What happened to that joke called "Make in India"? Did we setup any foundation from 2014 onwards to kickstart our manufacturing prowess? How did a country like Taiwan become a global giant in semiconductors? I am not saying that we should have such lofty aspirations, but what is stopping us to at least start? Except for giving the army a free hand, this government is all jumla and makes Congress look slightly better in comparison if we ignore external/internal security. Dude, you are clueless. Chinese govt did not make Baidu, Alibaba, Tencent, and Xiaomi, or BYD. It was their private enterprise. So don't blame the Govt. Our private enterprise ( aka Corporate India ) have just stuck to legacy businesses ( like Europe ) and not innovated. This is the reason why India has no tech sovereignty - unlike China. I blame the entire corporate India. IT sweat shops like Infosys, TCS, Wipro etc.....and other large enterprises like Adani and RIL. How many innovations and patents have come out of these organizations ? How many world class tech platforms or apps ? NONE. ZILCH. Don't compare with Taiwan - their semiconductor journey has been a 45-50 year old journey. Ours is barely a few years. But we will make a huge leap and catch up in 15 years.