IndianRenegade Posted May 19 Posted May 19 (edited) 4 hours ago, straighttalk said: 2. Have you seen American media interview Putin...then you will understand what a hostile interview is. yeah - an historical adversary of US & the country which its fighting a proxy war. sure, I have. Anyways, the issue wasn't asking an adversarial question. the issue was she was never interested in getting an answer. The whole point was being adversarial & creating a viral moment, selectively, when she ignored Norway's much closer relationship with China. The US journalists hard on putin are also hard on Xi & MBS. 4 hours ago, straighttalk said: 3. Norway people or press has a right to ask a new partner nation their views plans or thoughts since Norway partnering with India has good or bad consequences for them. Same as India has the right to question other leaders...like our esteemed foreign expert shweta used that time to ask Putin to shower praises on modi which he declined..but you are right India doesn't need to answer them..but at the same time it's fair to be mocked for running away. Putin and Trump does not run away. Again, she doesn't have a right to ask of anything wrt India govt. She has rights with her Govt. It is a privilege wrt India govt, one that was granted to her by MEA & she ran away mid answer. It was also conveyed before the PM's press breifing (not conference) that there will be no questions, even Norway PM ignored questions from Indian journalists. 4 hours ago, straighttalk said: 4. There are enough instances of people like megyn kelly not getting bullied by Trump...of people like Jimmy Kimmel jon stewart etc lampooning Trump. Enough instances of people like jim acosta, Nancy, collins etc point blank calling out Trump. So not sure what you are pointing out people standing and taking insults from wannabe fascists as a great example to follow. I am not sure what part of the world you are from. Megyn Kelly (even though she started as one), Kimmel, Stewart are not considered Journalists per se. They are political commentators/late night comedians, their criticism & jokes are accepted in American discourse as part of free speech tradition, & are accepted as being partisan. Jon Stewart himself famously said of his show as "..The show that leads into me is puppets making crank phone calls...". Again, the issue is never about she was wrong about press freedom in India, that is a question of journalistic value, in fact she could have directly lead into that question. But starting a question as why we should trust India, is a tone of superamacy, is the assertion India needs to come with begging bowl to masters in Norway & convince it. And then she doesn't even have the integrity to listen to the answer. The whole point of comparison with the white house pool is to illustrate the fact, unlike her the white house pool has the journalistic integrtity to listen to the answer & report it. Not just create a partisan viral moment, pretend to care about press freedom of countries Norway in involved in & run away. Edited May 19 by IndianRenegade
straighttalk Posted May 19 Posted May 19 2 hours ago, Mariyam said: @straighttalk The character and intentions of the said ‘journalist’ here are suspect. But even if you were to leave all of that aside, her ‘questions’ are not an attack on Modiji the individual. Her questions are an attack on the integrity of the post of the Indian PM. And one can’t not take umbrage to that. You tell me does modi have the guts to face any journalist..and look at the tone of this jokers question..where was the respect for pms position...not that I am against it...I absolutely support this discourse..I just want the frauds in charge of our country to face the same scrutiny in free press which does not exist now IndianRenegade 1
Lord Posted May 19 Posted May 19 2 hours ago, Mariyam said: In general, if one asks “ Why should we trust you?”, the right way thing to do, which our MEA spox sadly didn’t, is not answer. Why you should trust us is a question you should ask your self. Not the person/entity you don’t supposedly trust. That you don’t trust us is *your* problem. Not ours. yes MEA babu totally dropped the ball there Mariyam 1
IndianRenegade Posted May 19 Posted May 19 42 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: The planted journalist has got uprooted. I am pretty sure she didn't get banned in Norway/EU market because she questioned Modi. This probably had no connection to it.
rangeelaraja Posted May 19 Posted May 19 36 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said: I am pretty sure she didn't get banned in Norway/EU market because she questioned Modi. This probably had no connection to it. She got suspended from all Meta apps sitting in her home country - Norway. I think it might be restored. She probably got heavily reported and the algorithm suspended her based on the volume of reports.
Mariyam Posted May 20 Posted May 20 (edited) @straighttalk Lets go over this piecemeal: 1) Arnab is not a journalist. Whatever he does is rabble rousing. Bigoted. Gobbelesian. And very communal in his messaging. He is an anchor and not a very serious one at that. His 'questioning' of MMS is very rude in the clip you have posted. But it is multitudes of degrees better than what that Norwegian influencer asked in terms of rudeness. She started off with a "why should we trust you?" , which is a highly insulting and retarded question. 2) It was her government which invited PM Modi. Shouldn't she ask the question to her government? Given that they are #1 in their Press Freedom rankings. Why did her government invite PM Modi? Why did they confer their nations highest civilian award to him? Is this how their government generally treats 'dictators'? If your boss were to invite a criminal to an office offsite, would you try and shame the criminal or ask your boss some pointed questions? There is no record anywhere of her asking her own government about why it invited PM Modi or Why it conferred its highest civilian award? Do you have a reasonable explanation for this? See where I am going with this? An agenda is very clear here. 3) There is a ranking I released last week, where I am the #1 batsman (woman) in Mumbai. Ro Sha is a distant second. India does have problems with freedom of press. There are journalists who have been incarcerated. But this particular ranking puts India under Palestine in freedom of Press ranking which is just laugh able. The PM of India is not answerable to the foreign press. He owes no response to the Norwegian wannabe influencer. He is answerable to the Indian people. If you have a specific query do raise an RTI. You will get a response. Giving interviews and sound bytes is not a duty. A head of state of 1.4 billion+ people has far more important things to do. his spokespeople can answer questions on his behalf. Freedom of press does not mean the PM giving interviews to a no name Norwegian willy nilly. As far as the rating goes, you can read about the index here. Basically the methodology is to give questionnaires to a select set of reporters and have them mark their nation on certain parameters. Nothing is normalized. For example, India it is alleged has 120 reporters incarcerated. But those would be on a base of 6 lakh reporters. Palestine has 105 reporters from 600 incarcerated, so on account of absolute numbers, India scored worse than Palestine. This is an unscientific and highly subjective list. India and Indians should and can solve the problem of a biased press ourselves. Don't need a made up index for that. Edited May 20 by Mariyam diga 1
Mariyam Posted May 20 Posted May 20 19 hours ago, Lord said: yes MEA babu totally dropped the ball there His statement sounded like Akshay Kumar from Namaste London. Like Manoj Kumar's Hai Preet jahan ki reet sada Lord 1
Lord Posted May 20 Posted May 20 3 minutes ago, Mariyam said: His statement sounded like Akshay Kumar from Namaste London. Like Manoj Kumar's Hai Preet jahan ki reet sada It was a 2 mark question he gave a 20 mark reply Mariyam 1
straighttalk Posted May 20 Posted May 20 2 hours ago, Mariyam said: @straighttalk Lets go over this piecemeal: 1) Arnab is not a journalist. Whatever he does is rabble rousing. Bigoted. Gobbelesian. And very communal in his messaging. He is an anchor and not a very serious one at that. His 'questioning' of MMS is very rude in the clip you have posted. But it is multitudes of degrees better than what that Norwegian influencer asked in terms of rudeness. She started off with a "why should we trust you?" , which is a highly insulting and retarded question. 2) It was her government which invited PM Modi. Shouldn't she ask the question to her government? Given that they are #1 in their Press Freedom rankings. Why did her government invite PM Modi? Why did they confer their nations highest civilian award to him? Is this how their government generally treats 'dictators'? If your boss were to invite a criminal to an office offsite, would you try and shame the criminal or ask your boss some pointed questions? There is no record anywhere of her asking her own government about why it invited PM Modi or Why it conferred its highest civilian award? Do you have a reasonable explanation for this? See where I am going with this? An agenda is very clear here. 3) There is a ranking I released last week, where I am the #1 batsman (woman) in Mumbai. Ro Sha is a distant second. India does have problems with freedom of press. There are journalists who have been incarcerated. But this particular ranking puts India under Palestine in freedom of Press ranking which is just laugh able. The PM of India is not answerable to the foreign press. He owes no response to the Norwegian wannabe influencer. He is answerable to the Indian people. If you have a specific query do raise an RTI. You will get a response. Giving interviews and sound bytes is not a duty. A head of state of 1.4 billion+ people has far more important things to do. his spokespeople can answer questions on his behalf. Freedom of press does not mean the PM giving interviews to a no name Norwegian willy nilly. As far as the rating goes, you can read about the index here. Basically the methodology is to give questionnaires to a select set of reporters and have them mark their nation on certain parameters. Nothing is normalized. For example, India it is alleged has 120 reporters incarcerated. But those would be on a base of 6 lakh reporters. Palestine has 105 reporters from 600 incarcerated, so on account of absolute numbers, India scored worse than Palestine. This is an unscientific and highly subjective list. India and Indians should and can solve the problem of a biased press ourselves. Don't need a made up index for that. The norweigean reporter asked that to the mea official and not pm. Her questions to on was would he answer questions from the press. She never called him a dictator ...she asked questions about human rights and press freedom. I think you are mixing two incidents. Question to modi was about press freedom..question to mea was about human rights,freedom, and trust. She was invited to the press conference so she can ask whatever questions she wants to ask .that happens for choice. She didn't call him criminal or dictator. Now on to her vested interest...I am not denying she might be biased and have an agenda...everyone has..the right wingers and left wingers. I think the debate should be why is India's record so poor in minority rights press freedom and modi running. Away from press conferences. For the last it's his prerogative..clearly he prefers stage managed image building. Exercise and don't want to be unmasked. Which of these palestkne reporters are arrested by their own group or country ie Palestine arresting palestines versus Israel is arresting Palestines.why is it that every foreign ranking that shows India negatively is biased and at the same time we go go gaga when something positive is shown. We are a third world country with zero innovation technology edge and massive economic challenges...we are not a threat or modi is not a threat to Western world like Putin xi ayotollah or Kim that western ngos and orgs will go out of the way with a vendetta to make us look bad. Everything is normalized when you create a environment of fear. When you remove liberal journalist from mainstream media and they are forced to start YouTube channels..when you see your colleagues out in jail and people like kejriwal and others whitewashed or our in jail on fake charges...who in right mlnd would want to pick up a losing fight .. Hell even ec cbi ed is used for running. Fake cases. This environment do fear damages freedom and democracy. Since the only recourse is foriegn journalist picking up the fight..I am for calling this bs out and making it a spectacle...if bjp it cell can bring their supporters in every foreign visit and do bhangra and dandiya ..then so can the foreign journalist unmask 56 inch frauds . She has every right to question and our pm has every right to run away but then BJP can do what it is doing now accusing her to be a stooge without answering the main question. It was pathetic to see the mea official go on a constitution history and invoke Gandhi and Nehru and India's secular credentials...that itself so revealing on the moral bankruptcy of the current govt. Why can't it say proudly that India is a Hinduvta nation and we will do everything. To make it so..the way it says inside India. Why the dichotomy
straighttalk Posted May 20 Posted May 20 3 hours ago, Mariyam said: @straighttalk Lets go over this piecemeal: 1) Arnab is not a journalist. Whatever he does is rabble rousing. Bigoted. Gobbelesian. And very communal in his messaging. He is an anchor and not a very serious one at that. His 'questioning' of MMS is very rude in the clip you have posted. But it is multitudes of degrees better than what that Norwegian influencer asked in terms of rudeness. She started off with a "why should we trust you?" , which is a highly insulting and retarded question. 2) It was her government which invited PM Modi. Shouldn't she ask the question to her government? Given that they are #1 in their Press Freedom rankings. Why did her government invite PM Modi? Why did they confer their nations highest civilian award to him? Is this how their government generally treats 'dictators'? If your boss were to invite a criminal to an office offsite, would you try and shame the criminal or ask your boss some pointed questions? There is no record anywhere of her asking her own government about why it invited PM Modi or Why it conferred its highest civilian award? Do you have a reasonable explanation for this? See where I am going with this? An agenda is very clear here. 3) There is a ranking I released last week, where I am the #1 batsman (woman) in Mumbai. Ro Sha is a distant second. India does have problems with freedom of press. There are journalists who have been incarcerated. But this particular ranking puts India under Palestine in freedom of Press ranking which is just laugh able. The PM of India is not answerable to the foreign press. He owes no response to the Norwegian wannabe influencer. He is answerable to the Indian people. If you have a specific query do raise an RTI. You will get a response. Giving interviews and sound bytes is not a duty. A head of state of 1.4 billion+ people has far more important things to do. his spokespeople can answer questions on his behalf. Freedom of press does not mean the PM giving interviews to a no name Norwegian willy nilly. As far as the rating goes, you can read about the index here. Basically the methodology is to give questionnaires to a select set of reporters and have them mark their nation on certain parameters. Nothing is normalized. For example, India it is alleged has 120 reporters incarcerated. But those would be on a base of 6 lakh reporters. Palestine has 105 reporters from 600 incarcerated, so on account of absolute numbers, India scored worse than Palestine. This is an unscientific and highly subjective list. India and Indians should and can solve the problem of a biased press ourselves. Don't need a made up index for that. I respect your opinion as a more neutral voice here...so I will just share this interview to make your own conclusions