Also, when I was growing up, it was common to use "man-eyy" and "ra" at the end of a sentence while referring to male friends:

Eyy, go man-eyy. One more word and I will kick you now, man-eyy.

OR

What raa, where are you going?

The young women used "yaa" in the same way, it just sounded more cringey:

Eyy, what yaa ... don't talk like that yaa...

Edited by BacktoCricaddict
11 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Also, when I was growing up, it was common to use "man-eyy" and "ra" at the end of a sentence while referring to male friends:

Eyy, go man-eyy. One more word and I will kick you now, man-eyy.

OR

What raa, where are you going?

The young women used "yaa" in the same way, it just sounded more cringey:

Eyy, what yaa ... don't talk like that yaa...

Yes, "yaaa" is used like a punctuation at the end of each sentence especially amongst females in the 15-30 age group.

Its almost like how "men" is used like a punctuation by sections of the Catholic community in Goa and Mumbai.

" Its raining men ",  " I am getting late men ",  I have a headache men " .   Prominent lifelong Mumbaikar @Mariyam , will be able to share more refined insights on this.

What is also noted is certain teenagers (girls in particular )  from old money families in South Delhi and South Mumbai speak with a distinct affectation in their speech, not too different from Loudermilk (below)

Edited by rangeelaraja

Some phrases that I have heard a lot during my school/college days:

1. "Suppose if this happens, then what will you do?" (don't need both suppose and if. Use either of them.. seen this a lot in Chennai)

2. double past tense - "I didn't knew that he was coming" (seen this more commonly used in the North)

3. "Myself <name>" (used everywhere)

4. Redundant phrases - "future plans", "free gift", "past experience" (used everywhere)

5. Using "is it" as the tag question for even all verbs

6. Starting sentences with "Basically" (Basically, I am from Andhra)

7. Using "only", "or what" etc at the end of sentences ("I am here only";  "Are you mad or what")

8. A little nuanced - using said and told interchangeably.  Usually, "told" is followed by an object and "said" isn't. But I've seen many people say "I told he is not coming". It should either be "I told you..." or "I said ..."

Another Indian English classic phrase coming from the highest levels of Govt of India. 

..." on the same "

#2 Below : ...... " No other country has the locus standi to comment on the same "

Never heard this in a native English speaking country.  It is very common in corporate India.

" Please review the attached document and provide your feedback on the same."

India  : Please review the document and provide your feedback on the same.

World :Please review the document and provide your feedback

Edited by rangeelaraja

misuse of the phrase 'take nothing away from him' to praise a performance.

correctly done it credits someone eventhough external factors have arguably have made things easier. 'india batting second had the advantage of dew in the evening but take nothing away from that batting display'. 

indians just use it randomly to praise anything, murali kartik does it a lot 'take nothing away, that was a top performance'. nobody is taking anything away you c%ck!

'if you see' or 'you see' .

randomly insertng 'if you see' when rambling or explaining. it's an indian variation on 'you know'. often indians start a sentence with 'you see' especially if they are about to speak lots of bullshit

On 5/22/2026 at 8:32 PM, randomGuy said:

what's the common language in Maharashtra-Karnataka border cities like Belagavi? It is Hindi, not English.

Sabhi hindi bolte Hain yaar. Be confident in yourself speaking Hindi with Indians. Bindaas bolo, some fringe 1% youngsters can't speak as on today, else,  everybody speaks Hindi. 

Wrong, Brkagavi  people talking in Marathi in general, those who know Kannada speak among other native kannadigas , while they can speak Marathi fluently.

On 5/22/2026 at 10:56 PM, jf1gp_1 said:

true but in english we don't refer to a bus as 'she' and truck as 'he'

Most praises that Indians use in English are direct translation of Hindi or regional language.

What and all do you speak, man? Kaanadigas  use the phrase. which is a direct translation of. Yenella maathadtiya! 

A lot of north Indians use the phrase - Then what? And they want to say. “Aur nahi to kya?

On 5/22/2026 at 11:03 PM, Mariyam said:

You called at the wrong time. I was going to go shopping.

What is wrong with that?
A lot of times we Americans say - You called at the wrong time. I was gonna go shopping.

On 5/23/2026 at 4:45 AM, rangeelaraja said:

Why is this priced higher ? 

It is “ export quality “.   

As if domestically sold products are supposed to be inferior. You won’t hear this elsewhere. 

Another one related to quality… unique to India. 

“ This is the best in the market, A1 quality “ 

WTF is A1 ? It’s like how the bond rating agencies - Moody / Fitch/ Standard and Poor rate bonds - - - ( AAA, AA1 … ) 

Agree one hundred percent. I’ve never heard anybody use one next to. Hundred. For example. Mallus say hundred percent literacy Saar!!

On 5/23/2026 at 6:29 PM, rangeelaraja said:

This is a classic case of translating colloquial Hindi to English.

In Hindi, you will never hear this for any student...." woh exam le raha hai " ....it is always ....   " woh exam de raha hai "  

De  = give.  ;   so it becomes,  " the student is giving the exam  " 

Maybe for Hindi speakers, but most in Kannada say yaava exam togondiya? Which directly translates to. Which exam did you take?

On 5/24/2026 at 6:38 AM, rangeelaraja said:

Some more Indian English gems unique to India :

" Eve Teasing " --sounds like euphemism for sexual harassment.   And this is not like some vernacular speaking people using this after translation, I've seen this phrase used in newspapers in India.

" Convent educated " -- I think refers to Jesuit schools. But phrase is unique to India.

Foreign returned  for people who have gone for a week on Travel to UK or USA, no other country.

On 5/24/2026 at 6:41 AM, Mariyam said:

The word brinjal is used in only Indian English.

Its called Eggplant or Aubergine elsewhere.

Ladies finger too for Bhi ndi. Okra is more common outside.