17 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

xeroxed as a synonym for photocopied is common india - not seen it in the west.

another one is using sugar as synonym for diabetes - this is unique only to india. Blood report mein sugar aaya. lol

Even now when I lose power in the house, I scream  aiyyo current hoitu.. maane OMF current is gone. Only Indians use current for power.

16 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Not in my family, we always said,  beeru or almaari. You guys are hi-fi., posh

Oh yeah ... beeru in Kannada! Maybe Godrej was just my family ... but it was not just our house. My uncles / aunts on both sides used it. 

But Jeraax was common for everyone ;-)

13 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Also Godrej for any metal cabinet. "Hey ... xerox the passport and put it in the godrej carefully."

Brand name being synonymous with product is different thing.

Even noodles is called maggi

8 hours ago, Lord said:

Brand name being synonymous with product is different thing.

Even noodles is called maggi

Also, all noodles are called Chowmin 

:giggle:

12 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Not in my family, we always said,  beeru or almaari. You guys are hi-fi., posh

Beeru... Is it derived from bureau?

Kapatu...origins may be cupboard 

"This side [Name]" or "[Name] this side" for self-introduction in a call/chat

"specially" instead of especially

"labour" to refer to a labourer

"one of the best [singular noun]"

Edited by BCCISelector
8 hours ago, BCCISelector said:

"Don't try to be oversmart"

"Kindly" instead of please in emails

"Out of station"

"My grandfather expired"

I do kindly one :nervous:

On 6/26/2026 at 5:11 AM, diga said:

Beeru... Is it derived from bureau?

Kapatu...origins may be cupboard 

I was not sure, but you are right, Gemini says so

As a noun (Cabinet): It refers to a wardrobe or almirah (ಬೀರು). This is a loanword adapted from the Portuguese word birô (bureau).